We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5am alarm wakening when train goes by shakes whole building and sounds horn continues for two hours”

Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel
Ranked #68 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 5 February 2017

rooms terrible,WiFi barely works; claims to offer free breakfast cold eggs and cold rice, very poor lighting in rooms, very noisy location,if you like to be rudely awakened every morning and eat a terrible free breakfast I highly recommend is out dated noisy and smelly hotel. If you want a conformable quiet hotel try the crowne plazza

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 289johncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Got invited for lunch on a weekday -so no excuse that it was full- & it was a big disappointment! Service was slow but... had nice company so we were not in a hurry, eventually we had our mains, I order a Taco Suizo which being in CR had never been a mistake until this time... horrible, cheese was so cooked could not eat it, the meat was tough & honestly I did not retuned the order as We were invited & did not wanted to make a scene, but will recommend to seriously check the quality that comes out of the kitchen; my husband's order was supposed to be a grilled fish but was cooked in aluminum foil which is definitely not grilled!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tica1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Old rooms with very stained carpet and mildew smell. The light set up is terrible and even the lamp shade of the little lamp on the side table was stained. The bathroom is not fancy at all. The bed was ok and clean. No fridge/minibar available. Good TV. The club itself is alright, it has sauna, pools, ping pong tables and several tennis courts. The breakfast in the restaurant was very good but basic.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jafeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Have been in that hotel forever. During the last 10 years at least 2-4 times per year, normally 1-2 weeks per stay.

The ONLY reason I stayed at the hotel was to play tenis with my friends. Some weeks ago the hotel changed the policy - now a guest can only invite a guest once a month.

The rooms are poorest quality. About 2 years ago they remodeled one room as an example how the new rooms will look like, but have never done the others.

The personnel at the hotel is great, and the restaurant is very nice and inexpensive. Tennis courts, pools etc. Great. ...

But don't go there for the really bad hotel rooms.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Heri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The customer service is terrible, for a saturday night they closed the kitchen restaurant in our faces at 21:08. The employees has no manners. Good location, old hotel, never coming back, not worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SilviJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 km away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
3.7 km away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#33 of 78 in San Jose
244 reviews
4 km away
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
#29 of 78 in San Jose
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#41 of 78 in San Jose
248 reviews
3.3 km away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
285 reviews
0.5 km away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel

Address: PO Box 4964 | Across from Metropolitan Park La Sabana, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: €49 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Tennis Club Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Tennis Club And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing