We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$154
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$103
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santo Tomas(San Jose)
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$81
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripOn Open House(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Costa Rica Guesthouse(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
4
18
18
13
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
18
18
13
16
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Have been in that hotel forever. During the last 10 years at least 2-4 times per year, normally 1-2 weeks per stay.

The ONLY reason I stayed at the hotel was to play tenis with my friends. Some weeks ago the hotel changed the policy - now a guest can only invite a guest once a month.

The rooms are poorest quality. About 2 years ago they remodeled one room as an example how the new rooms will look like, but have never done the others.

The personnel at the hotel is great, and the restaurant is very nice and inexpensive. Tennis courts, pools etc. Great. ...

But don't go there for the really bad hotel rooms.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Heri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The customer service is terrible, for a saturday night they closed the kitchen restaurant in our faces at 21:08. The employees has no manners. Good location, old hotel, never coming back, not worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SilviJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

The Costa Rica Tennis Club was funded a hundred years ago and now features a nice hotel with rooms that may accommodate up to six guests. The hotel offers many sports activities on site, such as tennis of course, but also squash, basketball, and swimming. This is a perfect place if you travel with teenagers. The Sabana (San Jose's central and largest park) is just across the road and allow for walking, running, skating and other leisure activities.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ochassot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

This hotel looks like it hasn't been remodeled since the 70's. The carpet was stained and the walls need to be painted. The shower floor looked dirty maybe stained. To top it off, when we got to the room, the bed hadn't been made, the floor was full of carpet cleaner and I wasn't even early. I asked if they had another room, but they didn't, so I had to wait for it to be cleaned.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Raquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Our 2nd floor room was clean and tidy, but it was quite dated and really in need or remodeling. The room felt like it was straight out of the early 1980s. Was also disappointed to discover our room faced the busy street and was directly underneath a bar. We had the pleasure of hearing the lyrics to AC/DC's Hell's Bells and loud (likely drunk) patrons while trying to fall asleep. All the amenities to the tennis club were also closing shortly after we arrived, so we couldn't bowl or play ping pong. The front desk and restaurant staff were very friendly, and the food was good. When we return to San Jose for another night, we'll look to stay somewhere else.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Matilda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews