We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$186
Expedia.comUS$186
eDreamsUS$186
PricelineUS$186
Trip.comUS$234
Agoda.comUS$186
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,107)
Filter reviews
2,107 results
Traveller rating
1,527
470
67
24
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,527
470
67
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel victorian mansion one night costa rica private garden roof terrace boutique hotel deluxe room lovely room next morning mini bar would highly recommend this hotel long flight fountain jacuzzi tubs country
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 2,107 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2019

This boutique hotel is located in a former family villa. Therefore, all the room are different and you will find yourself in a real maze with ancient photographs, objects, antiquities on the wall.
The place does not have a swimming pool but two nice jacuzzis on the top floor.
Our room was simply decorated but very confortable with a lovely private terrasse.
The hotel has got a parking in front of it and is ideally located in a residential area of San Jose.
We would definitely recommend to book a table at their restaurant which is know in the city as being a fine dining place with a very cozy atmosphere ! A perfect first or last stop in Costa Rica!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank victoriadeclety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2019 via mobile

The hotel is very well located and the staff is polite and welcoming. They have a fantastic restaurant (mostly meat, but also has vegetarian/vegan options) with a nice bar and great decoration.
Regarding the room, it was a little expensive for what it was, especially considering the size of it, though we did make a reservation for a standard room.
For a short stay it is very nice, however, if you're planning for a longer stay there are cheaper options that might be more comfortable.
If you want to treat yourself, go for it! Its a very nice stay :).

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kpicharaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2019 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights. Hotel staff is very friendly, reception and greeting very corteous. Very nice and spacious rooms with good amenities. It's built in an old house so has a charm all it's own. The resturant and bar is really beautiful with all wood trims to match the old house. Location is good if you want to be close to San Jose city. Still, seems expensive given the lack of some mordern amenities, like a good gymn, pool etc. But would stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 610dipankarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2019 via mobile

The patio has a certain charm and it’s nice to sit for breakfast and dinner. We had room 11 and 13 and I found it basic small rooms with a small 2 person bed. The food is ok, but I don’t understand that it’s on the best restaurant list. Service is top. We appreciate more the local cuisine than one with some European flavor. Breakfast was great (pancakes as well as granola and eggs). The bar above was empty and the one in restaurant is small. If we go again to San José I would choose another hotel to start our trip.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Karinvhoecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2019

What a fantastic hotel! The rooms were spectacular; spacious, clean, and I loved the patio area. The sound of the fountain was awesome. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the restaurant is the best. The menu has so many different options that you can eat here every night and have something completely different each time. And the food is exceptional! Excellent wine menu. Walking distance to the downtown museums. Close to the airport. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews