We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 March 2012

A beautiful property. On arrival, I (and other guests) were treated to a glass of refreshing fruit juice. The hotel has a world-class restaurant (I gorged myself on the grilled salmon three times). Not a speck of dirt or dust anywhere; everything shining clean. Room has a delightful little enclosed patio with a fountain. The marvelous courtesy and hospitality of the entire hotel staff never faltered. Reception staff extremely helpful and knowledgeable about local attractions and arrangement of tours. Excellent small gift shop on premises. Room with lovely dark wood furniture (including the bedstead) is as far from Art Van schlock as one can get. Quiet ceiling fan in room and in patio. Bathroom tub-shower edge is wide and there's no grab bar -- be careful.

Room Tip: They are all quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJW8191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,076 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

Happy with the room, the food, the location.
A nice treat, I feel that I had what I paid for (and more).
Never felt unsafe in that location. Central for good restaurant and city center

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I wish we could have stayed here our first night in CR. Our travel agent had put us at Xandari for more money and quite honestly,,,, there was no comparison. The Grano de Oro is one of the finest hotels we have ever stayed in, and we are world wide travelers. Service was incredible and the people who worked there all spoke English and were lovely to talk to. Our room was on the second level and faced a tree with a birds nest. It was spacous enough, had a large flat screen TV, and a ceiling fan and AC that cooled us off at night. We ate breakfast in the courtyard on a beautiful sunny morning and it was great way to end our trip to CR. The only comment i have is that they do promse free WIFI in the rooms and neither rmy husband nor i could ever get the internet from our room; we had to go into the lobby area. But other than that, i would stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: we had room number 4 and it was perfect,,,,, but close the shades or the sun will wake up at 5 AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAMD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grano3322, General Manager at Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you very much for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very sorry the WiFi did not work in your room and we are working to correct that problem. Hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Lovely colonial building beautifully converted into a small hotel. The hotel about 20min walk to down town in an area that is not so great. There isn't that much around and we didn't feel that safe at night going out. That said I wouldn't go to San Jose for the location more for a stop over. We went downtown and didn't like it that much.

The hotel itself was lovely. We stayed there 2 nights at the start of the holiday and one night on returning to San Jose which we looked forward to throughout the holiday. The staff are really friendly and tried their best to help us with our Spanish! We stayed in two rooms, the first was much bigger than the second. The rooms are all different and the first one we had was beautiful with a lovely small private garden.
The food in the restaurant is very good and we ate there all 3 nights. The cocktails were also delicious and the bar area and outside courtyard are delightful.
The only reason I wouldn't give it give is because the service for one of our breakfasts was poor with a long wait and us having to ask again for things. This was out of character with the other days.

Overall a fantastic place which I would recommend and would come back to if I needed to stay in San Jose again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

When we arrived in San Jose Costa Rica, we were picked up at the airport and whisked away to this beautiful oasis in the middle of busy San Jose. When we arrived in the lobby we were greeted with a tray of flutes of the most amazingly yummy juice--a blend of fresh local fruit juices that we all agreed were the BEST!! Since we were also staying here at the end of our trip, we all looked forward to these amazing drinks they greet their guests with! Our rooms were beautiful--each opening out onto courtyards with fountains and amazing plants. We took advantage of the jacuzzi under the stars to wash off our traveller's tiredness from our long journey The beds are so comfortable.And the bathrooms are extremely well appointed. There are hardwood floors throughout. Breakfast was amazing, and the staff so accommodating. On our return stay at the end of our vacation, the staff at the desk were particularly efficient checking on our flight reservations for our return trip. I highly recommend this hotel..

Room Tip: There isn't a bad one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OkanaganArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,527 reviews
1.1 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
928 reviews
7.8 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.8 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,494 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: €146 - €306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing