We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$107
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$107
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$118
US$84
View deal
SAVE US$34
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
Expedia.comUS$107
eDreamsUS$107
ZenHotels.comUS$118
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,051)
Filter reviews
2,051 results
Traveller rating
942
851
199
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
942
851
199
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar costa rica central location pedestrian mall heart of san jose gold museum national theatre street noise modern hotel lobby area yogurt standard room front desk staff one night stay rental car few blocks last night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 2,051 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2018

The hotel is really nice with central position and a lovely Interieur. We booked 2 so called „superior“ rooms 3 month in advance.
What we get where rooms having no window, no daylight, and no fresh air.

Room tip: Best choice are standard rooms!!!
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank be175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a night at the beginning of our trip and three nights at the end. The hotel had a post industrial vibe which worked well.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and contain all the amenities that you would expect. There was a double and a single bed in our room. The bathroom was lovely with a large shower. The room did not contain tea and coffee facilities but there was a help yourself and free tea and coffee station in reception.

The restaurant on the roof was fab and we had several meals there as well as many cocktails!

The hotel was on the main shopping street in SAN Jose and was within walking distance of most tourist sights in the city.

The staff at the hotel were fabulous and organised medical attention for me when I needed antibiotics for a fairly serious ear infection. I enquired about medical attention at 7am and they arrived 20 minutes later and examined me in my room. They left me a prescription at reception - and this cost me nothing!! I got the prescription filled out at a local chemist - which I did pay for - and all of this was within an hour and a half!! Extraordinary service !

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RexyStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we are sorry about your ear infection. Hope you arrived home safely and feeling better. we would love a review on our restaurant too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel was recommended by a travel agent and it’s really lovely. We chose it so we could walk to the historic downtown. Staff was so friendly and helpful. The rooms were surprisingly quiet considering the area. Great little restaurant in hotel. Would stay again.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

We love your comments and have shared with our staff. Please thank your travel agent for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

If you want to be in the Hub Bub of San Jose this is the place to stay. The staff is very friendly and bilingual. The Lobby has some fun decor. Guests are not allowed up to the rooms you must meet them in the lobby. Kind of reminded me of my college dorm. I am sure it was for security. The rooms themselves are plain and simple, clean and with air conditioning. There is nothing luxury about them but they are fairly comfortable. I visited Hotel De Oro for dinner and that would definitely be more luxury if that is what you are looking for, but it is not in the city center...which probably does not matter because it seems fairly easy to get around here. The breakfast is included. It has a nice variety but remember you are in Costa Rica...it is not going to be like home. The do make omelettes to order, fresh fruit and some local dishes.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkiMom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We would love to hear your recommendations on how to make breakfast more like home. Thank you for pointing out our visitor policy. You are correct, it is for safety and for the safety of all hotel guests. Same reason the entrance to the restaurant is separate from the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Cute hotel in the heart of San Jose. Cool decor, museums on your doorstep, and great breakfast. Rooms were comfortable but a bit small. It was a perfect place to crash on our first first night in Costa Rica.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Gabrielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Love the Hip reference. Thank you for sharing with the world, and telling everyone about the Hotel Presidente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews