We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
131
124
43
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
124
43
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk hand soap costa rica boutique style hotel public bus separate nights bus stop free shuttle to the airport minutes from the airport coffee maker the ground floor hotel is located will stay there again room was clean and comfortable wonderful hotel sur downtown
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We stayed here twice within the space of a week, to and from spending midweek in Montverde & La Fotuna.

The location of the hotel is excellent, only 20 - 25 x mins from the airport and only a min from the main 'motorway' for the road to Montverde. You can arrange for the hotel to provide a meet & great taxi service at the airport for £26 which I would defo recommend rather than a public bus from the airport + then taxi from bus station to the hotel. The hotel does a free shuttle back to the airport, but only 3 x times a day. If the free shuttle doesn't fit your flight times, then the hotel can arrange a taxi for £19.

Whilst you can get a cheap local bus or a wee train (bit like the DLR) during commuter hours to downtown San Jose, the hotel can arrange a taxi for a pre-set £5 fare. I thought this may have been a bit steep, but on the way back from downtown, we jumped in a taxi who put his meter on and the meter price was about £4.50.

If you come out of the hotel and turn right onto the main road....head right and within a 7 x min walk you will find a Subway, McDonalds and a supermarket about the size of a Tesco Metro.

If you come out of the hotel and turn right onto the main road...head left, walk for about 3 x mins until you hit a main junction...cross over it towards the National Stadium. In this road you will find a few local restaurants and a Starbucks. At the end of this road is a Hilton...if you are a football fan, take the lift to level L, when you come out of the lift walk left and you will find a brillant viewpoint for taking a photo of the stadium :)

On our first stay we were given a room above the restaurant and later in the week on our return a room at the back of the hotel on the ground floor. Both rooms were a good size and spotless (as was the whole hotel). I would though ask for a room above the restauarant as it has decent views of the hills above San Jose.

Breakfast was 'fine', the first 2 x mornings the food was exactly the same, but on our return it was a buffet which was a lot better and had a decent wee selection.

I would definitly recommend this hotel, the staff are effecient & friendly and even though it was near a motorway, you cannot hear any traffic noise. The whole area is very nice, has all the ammenites you would need and we both felt super safe walking about at night.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TartanSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear client

Thank you for such a detailed review of our location and services. There is no better description of a hotel than those our clients give us, we are extremely happy that we fulfilled your expectations and also that our staff helped make the difference.

If your travel plans bring you to San Jose again, we'd love to be able to serve you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Service and room are great but sometimes could has activities could affect your stay, they rather support people from activities that people using their rooms, so whay it the point if you are not priority

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank giovanni r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Giovanni

We are sorry there was a problem while you staying with us. As soon as we were notified that this activity at our restaurant was too loud we contacted the client. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenient, our guests are our priority and we will always do our best to make your stays a relaxing one.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Very nice junior suite. Staff was very helpful. Very clean. Breakfast was very nice. Good food. I had an espresso everyday and was not charged. Very close to lots of restaurants. I will definitely stay here when I return.

Room Tip: Very nice junior site. Very clean. Staff was super helpful.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank juliepray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Julie

Thank you for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor, we are glad you had a great time while staying with us. We'd love to serve you again when you visit San Jose again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Hi, the hotel is fine, the people very kindly and very fast to resolve issues, also the price is good.
The restaurant service is good, the room service also, just I consider that for the breakfast, the buffet always have the same, if you will be there per 4 or 5 days it´s fine, but more can be a little bit bored because of the food.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank veronicacantu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Veronica

Thank you for rating us and giving us the opportunity to serve you during your visit to San José. We are glad to see that you had a great time and found our services, facilities and location ideal for your travel plans.

The satisfaction of our clients is very important to us, we pay attention and take action to be able to offer a better service every day. Regarding our breakfast we are doing some changes very soon, to offer a wider selection of dishes to our clients.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

We had a wonderful stay. The hotel is in a great location! Close to market s and a lot of very nice restaurants. The staff was very nice and accommodating. A very special thank you to Norma who helped us out with dietary needs in the kitchen. She is a very special, caring woman who has won our hearts. I hope the hotel knows just what a great person she is. We are planning another trip back there in Oct/Nov and we will be staying there again!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Mark

Thank you for rating us and sharing such a beautiful review of our hotel and most of all, of our staff. We are very happy to see that everything was great during your stay and that our staff helped make the difference.

We'd love to welcome you on your next trip. Do not hesitate to reach out to us if you need assistance.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews