We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$89
View deal
Barcelo.com
US$89
View deal
Trip.com
US$89
US$75
View deal
SAVE US$14
Hotels.comUS$89
Agoda.comUS$89
Expedia.comUS$89
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,515)
Filter reviews
2,515 results
Traveller rating
1,017
833
405
139
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,017
833
405
139
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caravan tour premium level costa rica buffet restaurant tennis courts room service nice hotel pool area free airport shuttle tour group pollo hammocks gym tours taxis cab downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 2,515 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2021

We went to Ánfora, the hotel's restaurant and we had a spectacular night. Oscar, the chef did a special dessert to celebrate our anniversary and transform a regular dinner on an special gift for us... We loved all the dishes, flavor and presentation. I highly recommend to go there and taste their dishes

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LilikoInfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Manager, Propietario at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2021

Dear Guest:

At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2021

Great place clean and has everything you need in house Will be booking for my August 2021 trip to Costa Rica. Being located in the centre of all shopping plaza is close to the beaches and especially the downtown area

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank lucplouffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Manager, Propietario at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2021

Dear Guest:

Thank you for making our Barceló San José your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community, this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Best Regards,
Carlos Ruiz
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

I booked and stayed at the Barcelo for two nights through Hotel Tonight. The service of the staff (front desk, I had with two different) shouldn't even be called service. No help with rebooking, offering way more expensive rates, knowing I couldn't get the cheaper rate after 12am anymore. Asked for laundry of my cloth and they charged $75,00 without blinking (did this in many other hotels worldwide, never got ripped off anywhere else). TV: pre SD - like the rooms: 90's or earlier. Restaurants charge US or EUR prices, with a tenth of the quality. Since this is a chain hotel - Barcelo should be embarrassed to call this their hotel in the capital... Way too expensive for this house - More chains are around: SAS, aloft, DoubleTree, Marriot Hacienda - etc. Choose wisely!!!

Room tip: different Hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorsten_Mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Manager, Propietario at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing our Barceló San Jose for your stay, we are sorry to read that you are not totally satisfied with the experience. We have taken good note of his comment about the service offered during your stay and we extend our sincere apologies if this time you have not felt properly attended to. Do not doubt that your comments will be studied to avoid this type of impressions on our clients in the future. On the other hand, we will review our security videos at the time of your check out to make sure of the commented situation; we are pleased to offer you a special treatment for the next time you visit us, you can contact our general manager directly to get this benefit. Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive criticism, we hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in the next time.

Barceló San José

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2021

Great view and happy, professional staff, especially Marcia in the Anfora restaurant! The cleaning is wonderful and constant. Which is VERY reassuring! The pool area and the garden is quite nice, well kept.

However, we were disappointed there was NO buffet and our room décor was very outdated. The hotel has a view but its not walker friendly.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank 189sylviaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Manager, Propietario at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2021

Dear Guest:

In Barceló we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2020 via mobile

I have stayed here every time I visit Costa Rica, usually 2X per year. As a single female traveler I find this hotel to be safe & secure. The rooms are comfortable, wifi is good, free breakfast buffet has a lot of choices, excellent free airport transportation. The gym facilities and pool are very nice. They have some lovely walking trails with beautiful fauna.
My only negative, is that the outdoor bar/restaurant is hit or miss depending on the cook. Check-in can sometimes be problematic. First time they couldn’t find my reservation. Last time I had to wait for my room for 90minutes. In general I find this hotel to suit my needs and will continue to stay here during my travels to Costa Rica.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Relax76825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Manager, Propietario at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2020

Dear Guest:
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló San José hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.

Best Regards.
Carlos Ruiz.
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews