We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,938)
Filter reviews
1,938 results
Traveller rating
734
672
337
99
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
734
672
337
99
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caravan tour premium level japanese restaurant costa rica room service tennis courts guest services pool area breakfast buffet tour desk free airport shuttle very nice hotel nice pool close to the airport pura vida pollo palacio
Filter
Updating list...
391 - 396 of 1,938 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

after a lot of dissapointment with hotel description in Costa Rica we didnt had any expectations for our last night,
great room, great bathroom, good beds (4pillows)
a couple of english channels
fantastic breakfast buffet and room service was great as well
just the sofa in the room was outdated and needs to be replaced

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Dear Mrs. Isabel

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló San José.
We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.

Kind Regards,
Carlos Ruíz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Overall cleanliness good. We had a premium room located directed above the main lobby bar - noisy as to be expected. The main issue was that every morning at 4:30 AM the cleaning crew would drag the metal furniture in the bar to clean the floor - extremely noisy. I inquired at the front desk but this continued during our entire stay. I think that the all inclusive thing with the poor entertainment is over.

Room tip: Premium is not worth the extra cost and the rooms are all noisy.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rbwalter2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Dear Traveler

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

Kind Regards,
Carlos Ruíz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Free parking (driving in San Jose is an adventure) total resort facility. Beautiful hardwood in rooms. Varied food options. Stayed first and last night in Costa Rica at the hotel. Would definitely stay in another one of thei Barcelo hotels. The only disappointment was that it was on a hill and not within walking distance to the main part of the City

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 338LSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear traveler

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló San José hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.

Kind Regards,
Carlos Ruíz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

I stayed at the Barcelo in San Jose twice on my recent trip around Costa Rica. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well air conditioned. I did not use the pool area, since it was a quick stay both times. I enjoyed the free breakfast buffet in the mornings (and I am a gluten free eater). They also have a good sushi restaurant in the hotel.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Dear Mrs. Charlotte

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló San José. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope see you soon.

Best Regards,
Carlos Ruíz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

What more can I say about this wonderful Hotel and the people who work here. I spent a perfect week at the San Jose Palacio. All my needs were met with such a pleasure by Anfora's Restaurant Staff, Heiner, Marcia and Jose. Special thanks to Daniela (Tours and Excursions) and Alberto and the Front Desk Staff. Very convenient Transfer to/from the Airport ... Great Wifi connection ... Excellent Breakfast Buffet.
Best asset of this property is the staff ... Thank you All ... See you next year ... OJ

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Msal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló San Jose.
We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We would definitely personally the staff that you had mention for their dedicated service during your stay.

We hope we can serve you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Carlos Ruiz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews