We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
1,080 results
Traveller rating
573
368
102
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
573
368
102
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica hot tub recommend hotel small pool hotel owner exercise room within easy walking distance old mansion an oasis few blocks ceiling fan central market heart of san jose felt safe free breakfast charming hotel national theatre
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,080 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rich and exotic wood like mahogany fill the rooms, lovely flooring, decor and Mosaic tiles, wrought iron works and staircases. The feeling of being in an old mansion which was renovated and still maintains character. It has a pool and hot tub! Right downtown close to all amenities like shopping, parks, theaters and the hustle and bustle. Tom, Omar, David and staff are helpful and very attentive to guests. Definitely would stay here again! Oh, and do book a massage with Raquel. She did a fabulous deep tissue massage!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, General Manager at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Chris, I love your title! Yes, built in 1908 and just full of lovely details, all which help to create lasting, Costa Rica vacation memories! A real joy our conversations and so happy that Raquel could de stress you a bit with that massage. Our prices are fair at 25 for an hour and 45 for the hour and a half. Schedule ahead always, as she is busy. I will make sure the staff sees your comments. It important they know.
Looking forward to seeing you again and thank you for such a fantastic review!
Thomas. Heidy and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

This boutique hotel on the north side of the central area is medium-sized and affordable, but punches well above its weight. The owner is an expat and makes a point of seeing things run smoothly and is often around to say ‘hi’. The staff are also pleasant and helpful. Santo Tomas is very well maintained and is clean, tidy and quiet and I'd also say safe. It's an easy walk to the central district as well and there's a modern market around the corner. I preferred to take my breakfast on the corner for a couple of bucks most mornings, but their offering has toast and scrambled with jams etc. and is quite OK if you're on a budget or in a hurry. The neighbourhood is downtown, so expect some of the gritty things you get with that but pretty good compared to many places. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay overall.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, General Manager at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Colin, Hey , you are a really great writer, that is a clear, concise and very accurate posting! Wonderful having you stay and I am sure our guests will find it most helpful. Thank you so much for your kindness.
Thomas, Heidy and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We spent a few nights in this hotel as we passed through San Jose on our way to and from the Caribbean coast. The rooms are very spacious with simple furniture and reasonably comfortable beds. The hotel staff is lovely and were very helpful in arranging transfers to and from the airport. Breakfast is included with good coffee and fresh tropical fruit. The location is great, walking distance to the main plaza and the central market. Half a block away is the fantastic shop Namu Gallery with an impressive collection of art and handicrafts from indigenous groups all over Central America. Great place to stay in this interesting city.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DrewF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, General Manager at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Drew, Thank you so much for the great review and kind words. Yes, our locations is spot on for walking to all sights, only four blocks from Central Avenue. All tours pick up and drop off right at the hotels front door and there are many of the main local bus stations within walking distance as well. We have been open now for 29 years and look forward to your return !
Thomas. Heidy & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

We only stayed a brief time as we had a very early flight. The front desk help us arrange a taxi for 2:30 am in the morning to get to the airport on time. They were very friendly and helpful. The security was very reassuring. The slide into the hot tub was one of the best ideas ever!! We totally enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GrandTour318569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, General Manager at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Grandtour, Hey, Happy that you liked the slide from the Jacuzzi into the pool. That was my daughter’s idea when she was 8 years old! We have great, bilingual staff on 24/7 to assist, wonderful it all worked out for everyone. Hope you can return in the near future, thank you for a outstanding review!
Thomas. Heidy & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

The good:
There was a clean pool and hot tub. It was a slightly chilly day, so the pool was way too cold to use. The hot tub wasn’t very hot, so we didn’t use it either. There was a delicious restaurant down the street called Cafe Rojo that we all loved. The security was very good. The property has a locked gate to enter, and someone was always at the front desk. Big flat screen TV in our room, and very roomy. A short walk to several markets and restaurants. Less than a $2 Uber ride from the MEPE bus station. It was fine as an overnight stop to/from the airport.

The bad:
Maybe we just had the oldest room? When we turned on the shower, the pipes above our beds rattled and roared. When we tried to adjust the shower head, it popped off in my hand! The only drain for the shower/bathroom was directly under the shower head, so the whole bathroom floor filled with water when we showered. No fridge or microwave in room. We had a hair dryer but it was broken. We turned it on and it turned bright red and smelled like something was burning. Breakfast was nothing special.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank kittylesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Manager at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Leslie, I tracked down your reservation, you were in room number 8, the original dining room, and as they had 10 children, it is very spacious and is the largest room in the entire hotel. This is the first time I have had any comments about the pipes and I have already left written instructions for my maintenance department to review that tomorrow and to repair that. As to the shower-head, who knows maybe the guests before you had taken it off, travelers do crazy things ! That will be checked and repaired tomorrow as well. With reference to the drain, that is a handicap room and as such, it has to have a special configuration for the wheelchair. And the other two items as well will be remedied tomorrow, small things easy to take care of. We also would have happily started the Jacuzzi heater again , it is on a timer. Moreover, I guess by the time you arrived at breakfast, nothing would have made you feel better. We do offer a wonderful Free Breakfast , as many other reviews indicate. I apologize for your discomfort, maybe next time, before you post such a low score, give the hotel a chance to address your comments and make some type of amends. Sorry to say you had a chain of events, which affected your idea of the property. Safe Travels:
Thomas, Heidy & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews