We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,066)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveller rating
565
362
102
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
362
102
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica hot tub recommend hotel small pool hotel owner exercise room within easy walking distance ceiling fan old mansion few blocks an oasis central market felt safe hotel is centrally located heart of san jose secure parking free breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Once inside the gate, the hotel is a delightful surprise. We stayed in the 100 year-old section, so our room was a bit smaller than most...but we had a middle of the night flight and were very greatful for the 24 hour service, arrangements for a taxi and our 2 am wake-up. We missed the breakfast but did enjoy walking through the facility - lots of seating nooks, verandas; lovely poolside garden area. Definitely will return.

Room Tip: Quiet; ceiling fan was adequate for air, microwave available. Best customer service.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mswestlinn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, General Manager at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Hi Mswestlinn, Yes you stayed in one of our Economy rooms, the least expensive in our selection, may I suggest upon your return, book one of our other rooms for just a few dollars more on our direct web site and pay cash for an even better price! Very nice posting, thank you so much.
Thomas. Heidy & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

After a short walk from the main bus terminal (7/10), we arrived at the hotel and were warmly greeted and checked in. The room was fantastic! It was spacious, spotless and had a balcony overlooking the pool and garden. The hotel is surprisingly big but had a cosy feeling due to the layout and numerous, communal, relaxing areas. After a short shopping trip to the centre of town (5 mins walk), we decided to use the great gym area and pool. The jacuzzi was hot and perfect for relaxing in, the slide was fun and the pool refreshing and clean. We met the owner, Thomas, who couldn’t have made us feel more welcome.

The beds are comfortable and the whole room was thoughtfully laid out with a writing table and safe in the bedside cabinet.

Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. We certainly made to most of the plethora of homemade and organic jams, spreads and carrot muffins.

My only issue with our stay is that we hadn’t know about it at the beginning of our trip. We passed through San Jose 3 times and this was the best place we stayed in the centre and one of the nicest during our month in Costa Rica!

A big thanks to all the staff for making our last day and night in this beautiful country so nice!

Reuben & Becky

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Reubs_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Manager at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hi Ruben & Rebecca, What a well written and informative review, that I am sure will be of great assistance to potential travelers looking for clear, informative and accurate information. I always love it when our guests enjoy all of the facilities and allow us to provide them with some lasting Costa Rica vacation memories! A real pleasure meeting you both and looking forward to your return in the future.
Thank you so much for such a great review.
We have been here doing it now for 29 years!
Happy Trails:
Thomas, Heidy & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here on two separate occasions. The staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. There is a new wellness center adjacent to the hotel where you can get some last minute pampering if you’ve been traveling with kids for two weeks. The location is perfect — close to central downtown and the park. The highly recommended Galeria Namu (which sells authentic indigenous crafts) is less than half a block away so you can do your souvenir shopping as well.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank marikleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Hola Marikleven, We have lots of travelers do , what you did and use us several times during their travels. Especially with children, they enjoy our pool, Jacuzzi and water slide. We also have a free baby bed will place in your room if you book a room with two queen sized beds, the smaller ones , don’t have the space for the crib. You were smart and booked on the hotels direct website for the best, price, service, availability and by paying cash received an additional discount. Our clinic is now open for anyone that wish to have some Big B. , filler, facial peeling, Cryo fat-cellulite removal, PrP, hormone balancing and many other services performed, by Dr. Alan Inman. He is always there early at 6:30 am on if you are interested. Namu Galeria , is just a special store offering items , no other has in San Jose. Wonderful having you and family stay and looking forward to everyone’s return !
Thank you so much
Thomas. Heidy & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

First of all, it's not really a 5 star hotel, BUT I gave it a 5-star rating for what it is at the price. This place is a great for booking/taking day tours around San Jose (volcanos, jungle, rafting, etc). The location is excellent, only a half block from the downtown Holiday and only 3 blocks from the park on Central Ave that is the heart of the city. They have a great free breakfast in the morning with lots of selections and natural healthy foods to choose from. The new wellness center (part of the hotel now) offers a professional massage from Rachel that is so cheap and so good that it would be a crime NOT to book one. Current rate is around $25 for an hour. And after a quick shower, 30 minutes in their jacuzzi (next to the pool) will make your day. After a long day tour a 30 minute jacuzzi soak was the best thing I could think of. You can not go wrong at these prices.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old mansion section do not have a/c, but I never needed it during my stay in August.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JRCZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Manager at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Hi JRCZM, Well , you got it correct, we are a three start hotel , that strives for a five dot rating in Trip Advisor and it's wonderful that you understand the scoring process , based on price paid and value received . I wish the others would get it, everyone wants a champagne vacation on a beer budget ! A very well written and descriptive posting. Yes , with our new Wellness facilities and Anti Aging clinic , we have stepped up our services . Raquel is an important part of that now and we will continue to add to that as the business grows. Be sure to ask Dr. Alan Inman any questions you have at breakfast time. He is the very fit red head , breaded fellow with a slight Texas accent !
Again JRCZM , thank you .
Safe travels:
Thomas, Heidy & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Excellent hosts and hotel. Clean spacious rooms. Excellent breakfast with home made honey and jam. Small pool area with slide . Area is downtown san hose so be careful and get taxis after dark. Would recommend this hotel excellent value and kind owners.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Manager at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Hola Claire, Short, concise and to the point , a most informative posting. I am sure it will be of great value to potential travelers. Lovely having you stay and Urber is here and is a great service at half the price or less of a regular taxi.
Thank you so much !
Thomas, Heidy and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews