We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/05/21
ZenHotels.com
US$119
US$100
View deal
SAVE US$19
FindHotelUS$117
eDreamsUS$105
HurbUS$119
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,071 results
Traveller rating
326
370
239
83
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
326
370
239
83
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica lobby restaurant national museum last night buffet breakfast floor country
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,071 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2020

This review is being posted 5 months after my stay because it has taken that long for Holiday Inn Aurola and IHG Group to respond to my complaint – and they still haven’t.
Location: Excellent. Accommodation in Presidential Suite: Very nice!
Customer service: Worst in the world. This property sets a new low standard for IHG Group of Hotels. I requested and paid a late checkout fee, allowing me to stay until 8:00 pm on the day of original checkout because of my late flight. Two days after returning home, I see the Hotel put through a full charge for 1 additional night AFTER checking out, IN ADDITION to the Late Checkout Fee of the actual day I checked out. 5 Months of trying to communicate with the Hotel by phone, email, and through IHG Group Customer Serfice, who AGREED it was an incorrect double charge failed to correct the matter. IHG Customer Service were even lied to by Holiday Inn Aurola administration when they connected directly with the Holiday Inn Aurola, who promised repeatedly the refund was processed, then every time I or IHG followed-up, had a new promise to make and did not deliver. If you read this review and doubt my claim, please read other visitor reviews on this property who also complain about excess charges that don’t get resolved by this hotel. Holiday Inn Aurola seems to be immune to the current terrible situation affecting everyone, but the hospitality industry in particular, as they appear to have no concern about losing reputation and/or future visitors and attempt to over-charge wherever possible. I strongly recommend you avoid this hotel at all costs. San Jose has lots of other properties to enjoy.

Room tip: Another hotel - don't promote this Hotel's policy of overcharging by staying here
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maestr060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2020

Dear maestr060,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have opened an investigation at IHG Corporate regarding this. The hotel is affected by our shortage of staff and the massive amount of requests for cancellations and refunds that we are receiving due to the ongoing pandemic.

This is making processes take way longer than usual and for that, we apologize.

This being said, I have sent you a PM to talk about this more, as I would like to know some more details that would help to clarify what happened. Please do check your message inbox when you have the time!

Thank you for choosing us for your stay, I trust we will fix everything and regain your trust to host you again in the future. I would really love that. Until then, stay safe and healthy!

Alejandro G.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2020

Check in was reasonably quick considering we were a group of 17 people. Rooms as you would expect for a city hotel, not overlarge, but most things you required, except kettle. Quirky light switches, you had to twiddle them! Breakfast was busy, lots of people use this hotel before onward travel around the country.

Room tip: Higher rooms will get less noise from road and square opposite
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillH007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaRojasM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2020

Dear GillH007_12

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Rafael Rojas
Rooms Division Manager
Tel: (506) 2523-1000
Email: rrojas@aurolahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020

The hotel was fine but had an impersonal feeling. The breakfast was O.K but not great. We had dinner in the bar. The food here was very good with huge helpings. The rooms had no ceiling lights so were dim.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 15traveladdict9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaRojasM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2020

Dear 15traveladdict9

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Rafael Rojas
Rooms Division Manager
Tel: (506) 2523-1000
Email: rrojas@aurolahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2020

We stayed a night here at the start and finish of our tour. The hotel is very central and has a buffet breakfast which offers a good range of fruit and cereals, hot food and omelette and eggs to order. Piano is played in the evening in the lobby and Mirador restaurant which has good views of the city. A Reasonable unmanned swimming pool on the 3 rd floor and also a sports bar which we didn’t visit. Staff seemed friendly especially and chef making the omelettes. Free wifi and Spanish newspapers in the lobby. A popular hotel for meetings, conventions etc as they have all those facilities. There is a gym but I didn’t use it only the pool. We had a very nice meal in The Mirador restaurant.

Room tip: Ask for a high floor room looking out on the square
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tangoj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020

We stayed here two nights on our way in and out of CR. It's faux fancy a la 1980s but kind of beat up and is showing it's age. The staff was very nice and seemed to want to help. The room was decent and had good views, but the last night we were there someone was smoking near our room and it came in through the vents and smelled like we were in a bar. We notified the front desk but there's nothing they could do. It's supposed to be a non smoking hotel. Pretty gross for over $200 a night. I would not stay here again, but it's OK for what it is.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 735karlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaRojasM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Dear 735karlv

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Rafael Rojas
Rooms Division Manager
Tel: (506) 2523-1000
Email: rrojas@aurolahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews