We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (939)
Filter reviews
939 results
Traveller rating
284
321
216
73
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
321
216
73
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel miradorindoor poolcosta ricabreakfast buffetgold museumvery nice hotelhot waterwalk aroundpollofloorbellmankeyparquetoursteatropedestrianneighborhood
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 939 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night before our 9 days of touring the country and whilst the location is great for exploring San Jose I felt uneasy with someone attempting to enter our room late evening and returned from a good choice of buffet breakfast to our suitcase open I wouldn’t want to return to this hotel again.

Hotel and room was clean but bathroom dated.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine May M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Each comment we receive adds value to our work and the efforts we make to make the stay of our guests spectacular experience.
For this reason we thank you for sending us your comments about our Hotel, these are taken into consideration for the implementation of improvements
We would like to extend our apologies if had faced any inconveniences during your stay with us
Thank you very much for your comments Our team will work hard to make our guest stay as pleasant as posible

Katherine May
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Great place to stay while in San Jose with a great view of the city centre, fantastic facility, most friendly staff, good food, nice pool and Internet WiFi and quite close to most good eating places and cultural museum etc. they have got a great family for meetings and events as well

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Victor o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine May M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Reading your comment , make us to feel proud of all the work our staff have done to fulfill all your expectations, and more than than that they took care of all your needs and preference making your stay a wonderful experience .
Thank you for sharing with us your comment , we will be more than happy if you in your next visit to San Jose , choose our hotel as your lodging preference

Sincerely

Katherine May
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

My group stayed at the hotel for a full week. There were a few quirks, but nothing problematic. We will enjoy laughing about these little things for quite some time. A few things you should know about this hotel:
-Washcloths are not a thing in CR it seems. We had one per person when we arrived. On every day after, we only received one washcloth per room. We had to call to ask for more every evening. And every time, within 15min, a friendly person would appear with everything but wash cloths (they always brought hand towels, then one time they included mouthwash - and another time, we received multiple bars of soap). We finally learned how to ask for them properly and then hide the extras we had just to ensure we would have more when we returned in the evening.
-the breakfast is sooo good. The coffee is excellent. The egg/omelette station is the best. And eat the fruit. It’s so fresh and delicious.
-every staff person we met was friendly and so accommodating of our poor Spanish skills. Many spoke very good English.
-the elevators are a little odd. Most of the time, our room key wouldn’t work in the elevator to allow us to go up to our floor.
-we had 4 rooms total. 2 of the rooms had toilet issues during the week. Issues were addressed and we figured out how to cope — hold the handle down for much longer than you have to in the states. In one of the rooms, toilet paper could not be flushed at all.
-the pool area is pretty nice. There is no hot tub (we saw one in pics online, but there isn’t one in the hotel.)
-rooms were clean.

If I’m ever in San Jose again, I would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Shuneycutt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine May M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about our Hotel ,for us all your opinions are very important , those are essential to improve our service every day .

It is satisfying for us to know that your experience in our Hotel was pleasant and that all your expectations were fulfilled specially that our breakfast was awesome . We will share your comments and your observations with all our staff , so they can take notes for the daily improvements

Hope in the future you can give us the opportunity to have you again as one of our clients

Thank you
Katherine May
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

It was a great experience the country ,hotel and people.the hotel is in a perfect location in the city san Jose and easy to get around by foot ,cab or bus,the Holiday Inn Aurola was awesome from the front desk staff to doorman,dinning room staff very helpful food great and breakfast was included.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views ,rooms are a good size and quiet
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoytz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine May M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Each comment we receive fills us with pleasure as each day helps us to know the preferences of our guests making us to bring the best service possible
We are proud to know that you had an excellent experience during your stay at our Hotel
We hope that in your next visit to our country we can be in the list of the hotels of your preference

Thank you
Katherine May
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Modern comfortable room with a casino and is in close proximity to all the Central San Jose Sites. I find the quality of the customer service to be a the high level of a Holiday Inn chain of properties.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Wesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine May M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review it is very important for us know about you perception and opinions about the quality of our Service.
Know that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel , makes our staff to bring their very best of our customer service . This is the reason why we work for to make your stay a special and unforgettable experience
We hope that we will be part of you lodging choice during your next visit to Costa Rica it will be a pleasure to host you again

Sincerely

Katherine May
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews