We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Located within a few blocks of gold museum and other attractions, this seemed a good choice, but a few things weren't as good as one might expect. The basin plug did not function, and one bathroom light flickered intermittently. The free wifi worked but was slow. Coffee machine provided and worked (but no tea bags provided). There was a good buffet breakfast for $15 US.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce executive at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear guest:
We are glad to hear that you have the chance to get to know San José’s local attractions. We want to apologize for the inconveniences that you had in our hotel. It’s a shame we were not informed about them, while you were still here. I can assure this is not the standard. Thank you for taking time to answer the Tripadvisor’s survey, all your reviews are very important for us.

Hope to serve you again soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandra López
E-commerce
Holiday Inn San José Downtown Aurola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 406 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

We just extended our stay here. This is a very nice , friendly and well equipped hotel. It is up to the highest international standards. Fully sprinklered and a first class local travel agency in the lobby. We had both our Caravan tour dinner and our own private dinner in the 17th floor restaurant. Both were first class.

Room Tip: North facing rooms have a view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emeritus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce executive at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear guest:
Thank you for your review on the Trip Advisor’s survey. The feedback we receive from our guests’ is very important for us, as the way to improve our services and fulfill your expectations. We are happy to know, that your stay at our hotel was very nice.
Hope to serve you again soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandra López
E-commerce
Holiday Inn San José Downtown Aurola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I have stayed in a wide variety of hotels in the past; my past experiences with Holiday Inn had led me to expect that the service, room quality, and cleanliness would be average at best. I was wrong on all counts.

The service was as good or better than I have had at premium hotels; the porters, front-desk staff, security, and room service were prompt, efficient, friendly, and welcoming.

Maid service kept the room spotless and were quiet and unobtrusive. The room was fairly standard, but it was large, with two comfortable queen beds. The room safe was well situated and easy to operate, something I've cursed at other establishments. The furniture, carpeting, and drapes all appeared to be fairly new, and in great condition.

The location was perfect for sightseeing in San Jose, across from a public park, and just a few blocks away from the Avenida Central pedestrian mall and several museums and ATMs. In the immediate neighbourhood, one can find an excellent supermarket, souvenir shops, a coffee and ice-cream shop, chemists, and other vendors.

I didn't have time to take advantage of the gym or the pool, so I can't rate them.
The only negative things I can think of are: 1) the park can be dodgy after dark, but this can be said for just about any urban public park anywhere in the world; 2) the food in the restaurant was very good, but perhaps a bit expensive compared to the local eateries - this again can be expected anywhere.

The positives: 1) though this is a non-smoking facility, there are comfortable seats for smokers outside the entrance to the hotel. It's a wonderful way to meet fellow travellers and exchange travel tips and experiences. The security staff keep close control over interference from street people; 2) free, fast, and reliable Wi-Fi throughout the hotelt; 3) the hospitality is gracious and first class!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StewieTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce executive at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comments, we really appreciate them. We are happy to know that you had a great time in our hotel. We are constantly improving our services to give you the best, trying to fulfill our guests’ expectations.
Hope to have you again soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandra López
E-commerce
Holiday Inn San José Downtown Aurola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Clean hotel with good size rooms, decent breakfast, bar, and very pleasant staff. Very comfortable for a brief stay. I would not recommend it for a vacation.... Just not a resort-type hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timetotravelboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce executive at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to answer the Tripadvisor survey. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our location it’s perfect for those people who travel for business or want to get to know San José Downtown and its many cultural attractions. Thank you for your review, all your comments are really important for us.
Hope to serve you again soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandra López
E-commerce
Holiday Inn San José Downtown Aurola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We spent 10 days travelling with Caravan Tours across Costa Rica and this hotel was our worst experience.It was our last night in Costa Rica and I'm sure Caravan wanted to treat us to our last memorable experience. It is horribly memorable.The rooms were very tired and need to be upgraded (dirty carpets,worn out bathtub)The big hub bub was having dinner on the 17th floor over looking the night lights of San Jose. It was the worst meal we had! The waiter came around to ask how you wanted your steak cooked which was a total waste of time because they all came out well done,tasting and chewing like an old boot, then to really top it all off the potatoes and vegetables were ice cold then there was no coffee available. I don't know what it cost Caravan for our meal and for us to stay here but whatever it was it was way too much!! Our stay at this hotel was my only complaint to Caravan and I hope they stop using this hotel because they are not getting a good return for their money and was not a good end to our wonderful tour of CostaRica.

Room Tip: Don't stay here! Choose a room at the Presidente Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eibbed6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear guest:
Thank you for taking time to answer the Tripadvisor’s survey. We want to apologize for the inconveniences that you had in our hotel. It’s a shame we were not informed about them, while you were still here. I can assure this is not the standard. I would also like you to know that comments from our clients are very important for us and are taken into consideration to improve our services and give you the best.

Hope to serve you again soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandra López
E-commerce
Holiday Inn San José Downtown Aurola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.9 km away
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
#32 of 78 in San Jose
328 reviews
0.2 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,330 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,424 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,488 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: €65 - €98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing