We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Need for improvement”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Despite a modern look, stained and worn carpet brings you back to reality. For one night, it is ok. Windows don't open,bathroom is old
Internet is free and connection is good.
Check in and check out. Very slow

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanluc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear guest:
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We would like you to know that your review is going to be taken into consideration; we are constantly improving our services and installations to give you the best.
Hope to serve you soon,
Sincerely
Alejandra López E-commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    274
    183
    60
    40
See reviews for
98
246
93
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
214 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Caught a taxi from the SJO Airport to the hote; cost about $30.

Check-in staff was very polite and said we had a corner room on Floor 11, as requested. Room was clean and in good condition. Indoor pool was heated to 93degrees F. Almost too warm, especially if you want to swim.

There was a pedestrian mall and central market a few blocks away. Nice to walk around after sitting on flights. Plenty of US fast food chains and local places to east at. I would suggest the pizza places for breakfast and lunch. Really good food that was inexpensive.

The park across the street .... would not go there at night. Daytime on Sunday, it was nice to walk around. Small park in the middle of the city. Not much else to say.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor, so you do not get any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce executive at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that your stay with us was very pleasant. We hope you had a wonderful trip in Costa Rica, and we look forward to you visiting us again soon!
Sincerely,
Alejandra López
E-commerce
Holiday Inn San José downtown Aurola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

this could be a decent hotel but it is grossly mismanaged

the breakfast room on the 15th floor is unattended, there were zero utensils offered.

guests were eating off serving platters with their hands, it was a disgrace how dirty the area was and unsanitary

Room Tip: stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saint77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear guest:
We are concerned for the unpleasant experience you had at our hotel. I want you to know that this is not the standard. I will inform our manager in charge, to report this situation. We apologize for the inconvenient you found in your stay.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, the feedback we receive from our guests is really important for us.
Hope to serve you soon,
Sincerely
Alejandra López
E-commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is a Holiday Inn. Except for the rice and beans at breakfast, it could have been anywhere, but it served its purpose for me very well. In late one afternoon, out the next morning to the airport. The staff was typically friendly, except for one sarcastic woman at the front desk. There is one computer available to guest for internet access.

The hotel is only several blocks from central San Jose, with the Teatro Nacional, the cathedral, and museums and squares in easy walking distance. There is a nice park directly in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear guest:
Thank you for taking the time to answer the Tripadvisor survey. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location near to cultural attractions. All your comments are important for us. We want to improve our hotel services and fulfill your expectations completely.

Hope to serve you again soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandra López
E-commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

For budget reasons, we do not stay in upper class hotels normally,
but when you get a low season offer for 140 U$ _including_ a dinner on the
17th floor, we could not resist. We wanted to make
our last night in San Jose a very special one, having a 5 star
dinner over the roofs of San Jose.
But unfortunately it turned out that we were totally mistaken...

The room itself was quite all right - clean and well equipped.
The beds were nice and comfy, the safe was beautifully easy to handle
and the view was very nice - the guy at the front desk even put us a few floors
higher up, than originally booked.
It was a bit surprising, to see an old tube TV in the room.
Not that I would care much about TV, just to inform the well-disposed reader,
who might expect a nice big flatscreen in a 5 star house...

Everything was quite 5-4-starish so far:
nice lobby with well chosen furniture, bellboys, souvenir shop etc.

But the restaurant, the actual reason, why we chose to stay at the Aurola
was a total failure.

At first it was quite noisy because of a cackling travel group of around 20.
But the waiter was so nice to seat us away from them and so we got
a nice table by the window with great view.

BUT: as soon as we gave the dinner voucher (that we got from the receptionist)
to him, the show was over.

- all of a sudden he did not understand any english word anymore
(no english in a 5 Star Hotel? Strange...)
- the waiter that came next did speak english (sort of), but
behaved quite patronising
- we had to ask for water
- we had to ask for bread
- once he brought the bread, he would only give
one piece to each of us, not a basked as expected
- the bread turned out to be stale

The menu itself was a joke.
We did not have a chance to choose, I mean - you can even choose in an airplane, right?
So, there was only fish - period. If you are not a fish-persion - too bad!

The salad:
1 slice of tomato, 1 slice of cucumber, 1 slice of avocado - all
stacked up - and 3 drops of dressing.

Main Course:
- dead fried fish
- rewarmed instant meshed potatoes
- canned vegetables

Dessert:
- vanilla ice-cream from a family pack, with fragments of chocolate substitute

I've had better meals in school and in the army, seriously.

So our impression was, that we got punished for being
regular people, making use of the dinner voucher...
Why making such offerings if, the guests actually using them,
get treated so bad?

Other point of criticism:
- we had to pay for breakfast, although we were leaving before
the breakfast buffet opened
- the breakfast box they gave us, was papered over:
- crackers, stale piece of cake, artificial juice pack
- turned out that the early leaving travel group from the evening was
getting a real before-breakfast breakfast
- the receptionist was incapable checking our flight

So if you are used to stay in hotels like that and don't need to
care to much about money, the place seems to be fine for you,
since the personal will care for you warm and heartly.

Room Tip: If you are someone you considers staying in a house like this as something special, you better stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polkatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear guest:
We are very concerned for the unpleasant experience you had at our hotel’s restaurant. I personally send a report to our Food and Beverage manager, to inform of this situation and investigate what happened. Could you please provide the exact date you were at the hotel?
We would like to mention that we have different rates and depending on what you bought for the breakfast: it is buffet or a breakfast box. Probably, the one you bought doesn´t include buffet breakfast.
We want to apologize for the inconveniences that you found at our hotel, be sure that all your comments will reach the manager of each area. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Hope to serve you again soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandra López
E-commerce
Holiday Inn San José Downtown Aurola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
0.2 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 76 in San Jose
1,233 reviews
1.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Property: Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing