We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$138
Booking.comUS$138
Agoda.comUS$138
PricelineUS$138
eDreamsUS$138
Lol.travelUS$154
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
238
29
16
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
238
29
16
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fifth floor costa rica breakfast chef frosted glass historic hotel national theatre presidential suite front desk lady gold museum amazing hotel free happy hour central market wonderful stay place to stay center of san jose the hotel staff restaurants within walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2021

This is the place to stay in San Jose. Beautiful building, amazing staff, and comfortable rooms. Great soundproofing throughout. The beds are really good.
There is a beautiful restaurant/bar area on the 5th floor if you do not feel like leaving the hotel. Excellent coffee at the theater across the street.

Room tip: Upgrade to the deluxe room
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nicklx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUDWING DIAZ, Ventas at Gran Hotel Costa Rica Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2021

Dear guest

It was a pleasure having you as our guest at the Gran Hotel Costa Rica Curio by Hilton. We are glad to know how much you appreciated our beautiful building and really good beds. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon!

With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020

My daughter and I traveled to Costa Rica for Christmas 2020, as the country recently reopened to foreign tourists with appropriate COVID-19 protocols. As we planned our trip, it became apparent that San José is the most convenient starting point when traveling to outlying attractions. As a long-time Hilton customer, I was intrigued by this hotel, and booked our stay there.

The hotel is in a historic building, and parts reflect that history (loved the floor tile on the fifth floor), but the rooms were modern, and the hotel had all modern conveniences. hand sanitizer dispensers were everywhere in public areas.

The hotel staff was all friendly, and always went above and beyond to be helpful. One example - my daughter is vegan, and there were not many hot food options on the breakfast buffet for her (hello gallo pinto). Each day, one of the servers went back to the kitchen to bring out vegan options for her.

Two things to note:

1 - the bathroom area is not entirely separate from the room, and the enclosures are frosted glass. Anyone using the shower or the toilet can be seen from the sleeping area, as mirrors cover the wall across from the beds.

2 - there was no option to reuse towels for more than one day. I appreciate fresh towels, but would like the option to reduce by just a little our impact on the environment in such a beautiful country.

I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hate2wait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUDWING DIAZ, Ventas at Gran Hotel Costa Rica Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying at Gran Hotel Costa Rica Curio by Hilton and for your nice comments. We are very happy to know that you enjoy your stay and you received help above and beyond. Looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2020 via mobile

Modern and spacious rooms with a view of the Treatro Nacional. Amazing breakfast and restaurant on the fifth floor! Great place for pictures, it’s decorated incredibly. Staff super friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kguo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUDWING DIAZ, Ventas at Gran Hotel Costa Rica Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2020

Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying at Gran Hotel Costa Rica Curio by Hilton and for sharing your experiences with us. We are very happy to know that you had an amazing breakfast and staff was super friendly. We look forward to welcome you again in a near opportunity.

Best Regards,

Ludwing Diaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2020

COVID-19 was not an issue at all, we felt safe at every time. They are complying with all the protocols of the Ministry of Health. Best place to stay in San José with the best location. We celebrated our anniversary and we will not forget this stay. The staff is very friendly, you can find any store around, the restaurant has excellent food. The room is very large and extremely comfortable. We will stay again.

Room tip: Corner suites are large with a better view
Date of stay: June 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albertomE5542MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDSJO, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Costa Rica Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2020

Dear guest,

It has been our pleasure to welcome you in Gran Hotel Costa Rica Curio Collection by Hilton. For us at Hilton, the security of our guests, clients, team members and providers, is a high priority; therefore, Hilton has developed a Global alliance with Reckitt Banckiser Lysol producer and Mayo Clinic to ensure our guests have a pleasant and secure stay. We loved to be part of this anniversary of yours and looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2020

While Costa Rica is a wonderful destination with much to recommend it, the capital, San Jose is not much of a town. It is singularly lacking in charm, in attractions...in nearly everything that makes a city worth visiting. That said, this is truly an outstanding hotel that in itself makes a stayover a true pleasure. The location is the best in town, the architecture and design both inside and out are stunning, the rooms large and supremely comfortable, the service impeccable, As a Gold Hilton Honors member traveling with my wife and another couple, we were all offered a myriad of special privileges and amenities. These included what is arguably the best free Happy Hour we've ever experienced. The included breakfast comprised an extensive buffet of perfectly prepared items served in the spectacular roof-top lounge. If arriving or departing from San Jose airport, do yourself a favor and spend a night or two here.

Date of stay: January 2020
2  Thank GringoPerdido5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDSJO, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Costa Rica Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2020

Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying at Gran Hotel Costa Rica Curio by Hilton and for your nice comments. We are very happy to know that you consider ours an outsatnding hotel with supremely comfortable rooms. Looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Ludwing Diaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews