We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveller rating
279
361
156
60
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
361
156
60
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews denny's restaurant denny s sangria bar costa rica free breakfast internet room large pool tennis courts pool view grocery store close to the airport free airport shuttle hot tub small casino flat screen tv welcome drink the hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 898 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Awesome first visit to Costa Rica. The BW Irazu proved to be a gem of a place to stay in San Jose and one in which I plan to return to.
I found the entire staff friendly and helpful. Many speak english and all I encountered seemed to really enjoy interfacing with the guests. A special thanks to Stewart and Melania for an outstanding breakfast every morning. Daniel, the Bellboy, for his assistance and numerous recommendations. Also to Alberto, the BW taxi driver, for a great scenic tour of Costa Rica! Really can't say enough about the good people working at the BW Irazu, they really made me feel welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Justin M, thank you for posting such phenomenal comments about your experience at our hotel.

First of all, we are elated to have you as part of our extended global family since you are definitely returning. This lets us see just how delighted you were with our accommodations, services and specially with our wonderful staff who are always going above and beyond for our guests. We really want our guests to feel like part of our family so we comply with everything they might need and request, helping them out any way we can so that they can feel right at home and see how important they to us.

It has been a pleasure being at your service. We will be looking forward to your next visit, thank you for choosing us as your hotel.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

A wonderful hotel, close to the airport in San Jose. Perfect hotel to begin your trip with a true Costa Rican feel. Lovely courtyard and pool. The breakfast was ample and typical. Lots of tropical fruit and juice to choose from. Bar on property frequented by guests and locals alike. Casino available if desired, but not obvious for those guests who don't want one.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 804evys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear 80evys, thanks so much for sharing your phenomenal comments about your stay with us.

We are very happy and proud to learn just how much you like our hotel and all the services we offer and provide because we thrive on our guests' total comfort and satisfaction. By providing excellent accommodations, great services (like all the options we offer for the complimentary breakfast among many others) and a warm and friendly atmosphere, we ensure that our guests are not only going to feel very comfortable and right at home but also that they are going to enjoy themselves as much as they can.

It has been a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank yaying with us, we would love to see you back soon.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We "land" in this hotel because our United fly has 21 hours delay and this was for us quite disappointing experience... The hotel is good for one night stay but nothing else, but when you get room facing street you wouldn’t sleep... I don’t know the price but for such a worn out hotel is anything over 50 $/ nigh waste of money ... you could find better accommodation all around SJO

Room Tip: not facing the streets
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank romansla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear rsbts, we really appreciate your comments about your stay at our hotel.

We are truly sorry about the delay you had with your flight. Please accept our apologies that our hotel was not up to your expectations because nothing is as important as our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being. We assure you that our Brand has very high and strict standards regarding the hotel's upkeep and maintenance so we are a little bit distressed that you found it to be "worn" since we are constantly renovating it. We assure you that if you had let our front desk staff know that you did not liked the room you were assigned, they would have immediately changed you to another one more of your liking because as we mentioned before, nothing is more important than our guests' satisfaction.

It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Entire staff from the front desk to the housekeepers very friendly. Had a problem with my room safe- contacted the front desk and said they would take care of the problem.A short time later I received a call that they had someone outside my door to fix the safe. Appreciated the extra security. Prior to our arrival I had contacted the hotel about a transportation issue, which was handled by Marjorie Espinoza Guest Relations Mgr who also followed up with an e mail confirmation. Room was a premium room w a balcony facing the pool.Beds were very comfortable. Grounds were very nice, more like staying in a resort than a hotel.

Daily breakfast buffet was very good with a nice selection of fruits, juices, cereals, hot items, bread and made to order eggs.

Denny's restaurant on sight was good..Sangria Restaurant their food was good with a nice selection, the biggest downfall to this restaurant was two of the wait staff.One had no name tag the other Paloma, both were rude and had poor attitudes and no customer service skills.

Next trip to Costa Rica I would definitely return to Best Western Irazu Hotel

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goingsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear goingsomewhere, thank you so much for sharing your very nice comments.

We always strive to provide our guests with the best accommodations and services in order to ensure that their stay is going to be completely comfortable and satisfying. Our excellent staff are always going the extra mile for our guests, complying with their needs and requests and making them feel more than welcome and right at home.

We are glad that we were able to solve the transportation issue as fast as we could and that after that everything was nothing less than perfect. We are delighted that you liked our complimentary breakfast so much, we really try to make it as tasty and as assorted as possible. We would like you to know that both restaurants in our premises (and their management) do not belong to the hotel. We are going to share your comments regarding the service in Sangria Restaurant with their management so they can take it into account , because even though they are not our employees, they are serving our guests who always deserve the best service and more so, while staying with us.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for staying with us, we would love to have you back soon.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed here for a week for a taekwondo tournament. The hotel arranged our hassle free airport transportation which was nice. Although, they do cram as many people as they can into one van with everyone in seats. The hotel is a little outdated and the rooms do have a weird smell that seems to come from the restrooms. The beds are comfy, and the restrooms seem to be more modern than the exterior and hallways. Housekeeping came and cleaned our rooms and replaced the towels everyday even though we didn't place the door knob notice outside, which was appreciated.

The hotel-provided shampoo is a 2 in1, which unfortunately never works well for us ladies. They also provide body soap and lotion. The rooms have AC which works well, the flat screen TV is nice and a good size. They also offer a safe, coffee maker with Britt coffee and hairdryer.

The hotel free breakfast buffet was the best! With lots of fruit options, coffee, cereal, and a variety of hot foods and made to order omelete station, this was totally worth staying here!

There are restaurants on site as well, Denny's and Sangria Bar. Dennys was EXPENSIVE! But the staff was friendly. Sangria Bar had descent food at average prices but unfortunately the staff could have been A LOT more friendly and helpful. The entire time we stayed here, we only had ONE good experience at the Sangria Bar where our server was extremely nice and attentive. The rest of the time, the servers would purposely ignore us even when we try to wave them down. And unfortunately, the hotel is so far from everything else (restaurant options), we had no choice but to dine here.

The welcome drink coupons is also a nice touch!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gurltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear gurltraveler, thank you so much for sharing your nice and very thorough comments regarding your stay with us.

There is nothing more important for us here at the hotel than our guests' total comfort and satisfaction. We are constantly striving to provide our guests with excellent services (such as our complimentary breakfast options and with our welcome drink among others) so that they can relax and either rest or have as much fun as they want.

We are sorry about the musty smell in the room you were assigned, we assure you that if you had let our front desk staff know about it, they would have done what they could to make the smell go away or they would have changed you to another room. We are very sorry to learn about how you were treated by the restaurant's staff. Our hotel does not own or has anything to do with the managements of both restaurants in our premises, but we are gladly going to inform them about how they are treating our guests so that they can see to it immediately and make sure that it never happens again. We are truly sorry that you found our hotel a little outdated since we always provide it with the very high maintenance and upkeep standards our Brand requires, so it is constantly being renovated and it is remodeled every couple of years. On the other hand, we are delighted that everything else was up to your expectations if not more.

It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us, we would love to see you return soon.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews