We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place for our needs.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Desire Costa Rica
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Enjoyed our stay. We were there during the off season and loved running around enjoying nature and meeting all the travellers. Felt like kids again. No it's not a 5 star luxury resort, but who wants that when you have a chance to meet people from the local area and from around the world and enjoy sexy, liberal people. Already booked our next trip there.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DearDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2015

How did this place get so many decent reviews? I could not believe by the shape of the road that my map program was taking me to the right address. There was no one in the office when we arrived. We had to go find someone to check us in. There was absolutely no one else staying there. We were brought to a hot room with no wifi access. We were told you had to go to the pool for wifi. The room was not cooling down after ten minutes. I checked all the windows - they were all jalousie windows that don't fully close, and one pane was missing all together - so nothing to keep A/C in, or mosquitos out.
We decided we definitely did not want to stay there. We had already paid for a one-night deposit, but I just asked for a refund of the $580 I just paid for two more nights when we checked in. They refused to refund any money even though we already paid for one night, and were only there 15 minutes. - Run away!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DanVGainesville_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0123, Manager at Hotel Desire Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.We have no control over the roads of Costa Rica,this is a government issue.There is 3 roads leading to the hotel and all GPS's pick the shortest way to the hotel.That road is the worst.Again we have no control over this.As in every other hotel you have guests touring,guests that checked out early and guests coming later to check-in over our 6 acres.So sometimes it can look empty till dinner time.Our staff is versatile,wherein many hats,or they went to the bathroom.Wi-fi is sometimes a problem to keep it working over the 6 acres,but the pools,restaurant and main house always work.If a customer does not like their room we will be glad to move them to another room with working wi-fi.But talking to us that was not their concern raised,they just wanted to party now with other lifestyle couples.We are high enough in the mountains,that mosquito's is a none issue.Their cancellation for a refund was 14 days prior.
Again we are sorry that they did not enjoy their stay with us,but we can not guarantee that other couples will play with them,nor are we responsible if this does not happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015 via mobile

We had the best view of San Jose Valley, after one week on the beach we decide to explore other part of this beautiful country. Hotel Desire Costa Rica is located close to many tours, we did white water rafting, volcanoes and waterfalls.
Again the parties on The weekends are fun and wild, the food excellent, the staff helpful , and bedroom clean and comfortable.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank cachobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

I was staying in this mountain hotel, taking advantage of the offer that they have, to stay four days in a hotel on the beach for adults and four days in a mountain hotel.
I loved this experience, this hotel has wonderful views down the valley,huge green areas, with an old super-classy design,
I stayed in a room (number 4) had Queen bed, room was very neat and tidy,
I fully recommend this place , has a tennis court and a pool table, if you want to show off your abilitties plus the nude pool area with lots of trails.
Great food, delicious cocktails (ask for piña coladas).
It is a sensual atmosphere, met a lot of couples seeking the same thing that I was looking for, so we had an awesome experience.

Room Tip: if you can afford, book in a room with valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Very beautiful place to stay, big rooms, amazing view. But the rooms are not clean, food was not really fresh. It is very quiet. Stay there 3 days, no longer. You have 2 pools, one clothing optional, one nude.
Staff is nice and very friendly, but it should be manager there as well, because the cleaning ladies are very lazy sometimes. We were only 2 guest in the hotel one night and the lady did not make up our room at all.

Room Tip: Room in the same building where is restaurant. All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeaBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
14.2 km away
La Rosa del Paseo
La Rosa del Paseo
#37 of 78 in San Jose
64 reviews
11.5 km away
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
#31 of 78 in San Jose
111 reviews
11.6 km away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#32 of 78 in San Jose
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
17.7 km away
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
#29 of 78 in San Jose
338 reviews
14.3 km away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#41 of 78 in San Jose
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desire Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desire Costa Rica

Address: Santa Barbara, San Jose 10109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desire Costa Rica is an All Inclusive, Lifestyle,Clothing optional ADULT/COUPLES ONLY Resort in Santa Barbara, overlooking the valley of San Jose and 20 minutes from the airport.It is for couples that do not have to be nude and that are not offended by nudity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Desire Costa Rica San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing