We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$114
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$99
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$259
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santo Tomas(San Jose)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$57
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripOn Open House(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
18
3
4
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
3
4
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015

How did this place get so many decent reviews? I could not believe by the shape of the road that my map program was taking me to the right address. There was no one in the office when we arrived. We had to go find someone to check us in. There was absolutely no one else staying there. We were brought to a hot room with no wifi access. We were told you had to go to the pool for wifi. The room was not cooling down after ten minutes. I checked all the windows - they were all jalousie windows that don't fully close, and one pane was missing all together - so nothing to keep A/C in, or mosquitos out.
We decided we definitely did not want to stay there. We had already paid for a one-night deposit, but I just asked for a refund of the $580 I just paid for two more nights when we checked in. They refused to refund any money even though we already paid for one night, and were only there 15 minutes. - Run away!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DanVGainesville_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0123, Manager at Hotel Desire Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.We have no control over the roads of Costa Rica,this is a government issue.There is 3 roads leading to the hotel and all GPS's pick the shortest way to the hotel.That road is the worst.Again we have no control over this.As in every other hotel you have guests touring,guests that checked out early and guests coming later to check-in over our 6 acres.So sometimes it can look empty till dinner time.Our staff is versatile,wherein many hats,or they went to the bathroom.Wi-fi is sometimes a problem to keep it working over the 6 acres,but the pools,restaurant and main house always work.If a customer does not like their room we will be glad to move them to another room with working wi-fi.But talking to us that was not their concern raised,they just wanted to party now with other lifestyle couples.We are high enough in the mountains,that mosquito's is a none issue.Their cancellation for a refund was 14 days prior.
Again we are sorry that they did not enjoy their stay with us,but we can not guarantee that other couples will play with them,nor are we responsible if this does not happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015 via mobile

We had the best view of San Jose Valley, after one week on the beach we decide to explore other part of this beautiful country. Hotel Desire Costa Rica is located close to many tours, we did white water rafting, volcanoes and waterfalls.
Again the parties on The weekends are fun and wild, the food excellent, the staff helpful , and bedroom clean and comfortable.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank cachobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

I was staying in this mountain hotel, taking advantage of the offer that they have, to stay four days in a hotel on the beach for adults and four days in a mountain hotel.
I loved this experience, this hotel has wonderful views down the valley,huge green areas, with an old super-classy design,
I stayed in a room (number 4) had Queen bed, room was very neat and tidy,
I fully recommend this place , has a tennis court and a pool table, if you want to show off your abilitties plus the nude pool area with lots of trails.
Great food, delicious cocktails (ask for piña coladas).
It is a sensual atmosphere, met a lot of couples seeking the same thing that I was looking for, so we had an awesome experience.

Room Tip: if you can afford, book in a room with valley view.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Very beautiful place to stay, big rooms, amazing view. But the rooms are not clean, food was not really fresh. It is very quiet. Stay there 3 days, no longer. You have 2 pools, one clothing optional, one nude.
Staff is nice and very friendly, but it should be manager there as well, because the cleaning ladies are very lazy sometimes. We were only 2 guest in the hotel one night and the lady did not make up our room at all.

Room Tip: Room in the same building where is restaurant. All rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeaBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

This is our second visit to a place that can only descrided paradise. A perfect setting to relax. Sitting in the mountains of San José, a 20 minute ride from the international airport, the air is fresh, the sun is always shining. A little cooler than expected, but then I've been told that the early part of January is always a few degrees cooler.

From sitting in the open air Jacuzzi with a view of the San Jose, to the clothing optional pool, to playing tennis in the private tennis court, to the gym, to a home style cooked meal by Yasmin, this is the place to destress.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rico1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews