We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
117
111
56
12
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
111
56
12
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private room bus station costa rica excellent wifi family room ceiling fan convenient location only stayed one night heart of san jose pollo pros cons mercado
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

PROS
The price can’t be beat!
Friendly and helpful staff
Convenient location easy walking distance to town center (20 minutes)
Lovely second floor outdoor space with tables & chairs
Convenient adjacent restaurant and bar for lunch & dinner
Variety of restaurants within walking distance (Italian, Chinese, Lebanese, fast food) Free Internet (works in the rooms, but better signal in lobby)
Flatscreen TV: Many stations. CBS and ABC from Miami/Ft. Lauderdale in English. Other stations in English including movies.
Daily housekeeping service (bathroom, floor, towels) and bed change every 3 days
Laundry service (bag of laundry returned within 3 hours)
My room had room air-conditioner and ceiling fan

CONS
Traffic noise (trucks, motorcycles, police sirens) prominent in the rooms facing the streets
No ergonomic work space (can use tables & chairs in dining area or outdoor area)
Linens, upholstery, room amenities are threadbare and shabby and/or stained
Items in room may be broken or missing (but were immediately replaced upon request)
No hot water in the rooms for two days (over a weekend)
Very fine road soot drifts in through window cracks
Surrounding neighborhood area is not scenic or historic; unsafe for walking at night
Onsite breakfast (free) is limited selection & poor quality
Most restaurants in the area are mediocre
In-room lighting is dim

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street if you are bothered by road noise
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pianodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

We appreciate your positive and CONS comments, it allows us to improve every day, to avoid future inconveniences
Thanks for choosing Hostel Casa Colon!
Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Nice, quiet hostel with excellent wi-fi, included breakfast and friendly, helpful staff and safe Central location.
Not the best hostel for socialising with other travellers or partying.
I feel the hostel could improve by using the common space to hold more social events for residents e.g trivia, pub crawl

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Prath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

We really appreciate your comment, we will improve in our common areas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

A great stay in a beautiful historic building. Very nicely furnished, helpful staff, secure, very clean, in short everything you could want for just $10/night! Also very close to bus routes including the airport.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank You for choosing Casa Colón! and for your good comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

it was within walking distance of the centre of town. I thought the food was good, I had both breakfast and dinner there and the staff were all very helpful. My room was comfortable and quite clean. On removing my suitcase from the storage area, there were cockroaches on the case. The shared bathroom facilities were basic. My only gripe was I was charged 2USD for a small bottle of water which was incredibly expensive.

Room Tip: it is in walking distance of centre of town.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cms99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for your comment, we really apologize the situation with the storage room, sometimes people put food there, and this is a problem for us!
Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff.. Good price and great location.. definitely will visit again. .Típico breakfast is a must.. Daniel at the front desk is always giving you good advice..Near the Mercado Central de San José..where you can eat real cheap and real good place to find souvenirs at great prices.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank dieseld3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thanks for your comment! See you the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews