We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this quaint hostel twice during our time in Costa Rica. It's extremely clean, quiet and the owners are super nice. It is their house, so you feel like you are staying with family. I like all of the rules and procedures they have to ensure everyone has a good time and gets a good night's sleep. They are very helpful and flexible (had to get up to let us out at 3am!). Walking distance to shops and restaurants and easy to get an Uber or taxi. Very safe and secure. Highly recommend!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely owners, big kitchen, lovely breakfast and super clean bathroom!
Dorm was a bit small and it would've been great to chill in the lounge with a beer (not just the dinning area) ...would probably boost the atmosphere a bit too. All in all a nice spot to stay.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SophGregBennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Paula is the most helpful woman I have met in Central America for the last 6 weeks. Lovely clean rooms, great location and fab breakfast. Very secure. Supermarket is close and there is also a shopping mall nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Popedaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inandbasic, Owner at In & Basic Hostel Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thanks a lot for which nice comments and review. We do try every day in order to improve ourselves! Hope to see you again in Costa Rica. All the best! Paula// owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

the place is Great. the staff is top like attention. first time give me a breakfast of this quality in a Hostel and for that price. when back to costa rica I will be back to the hostel

thanks Paul and Erika

Room Tip: talk with paula or erika
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kaiser I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inandbasic, Owner at In & Basic Hostel Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Thnaks a lot for such a nice words and review! Will be a pleasure to help you and be your home in Costa Rica again and again! XOXO Paura Vida! Paula and Erika!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

First of all this is the cleanest and safest hostel that i have been in San Jose! There is 2 nice bathrooms, lounge area thats is amazing with comfy sofas! loved to be there laying over the sofas and listening the birds that arrives to the garden, seen the cats playing (lm in love with Pepe!), great different breakfast every day, absolutely safe you have to buzz for get in no matter the hour.. no curfew!!!..and the staff is also great and hummble..Erika is nice and funny and very helpfull..Paula is absolutely knowledgeable about Costa Rica; cleaning lady shy and nice! All people was talking about how this hostel has a funky vibe and very hommy feeling! Absolutely worth it! 100% recommened!!

Room Tip: i satyed in Pop and Classic, very good dorms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elviraniderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inandbasic, Owner at In & Basic Hostel Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thanks a lot for such nice words and encouragement to me and my staff! We are delighted to serve! Always welcome and Pura Vida! XOXO Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.6 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
5.5 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,533 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
2.5 km away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
513 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In & Basic Hostel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In & Basic Hostel Lounge

Address: 200 m South and 75 m west of Spoon, Los Yoses | Fatima's church North side, San Jose 10511, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 82 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: €11 - €34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hostel - One home - A different way of living in San Jose...In&Basic is a beautiful custom made hostel, the owners have created an amazing experience in a suburb called "Los Yoses" they want to invite all the travelers to experience a one of a kind Family & Friends Hostel, we want you to see for yourselves a little bit of two small worlds that combine nature and a glamorous House. In&Basic has the doors open to create a new family everyday!..We want you to be part of our family!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your In & Basic Hostel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
In & Basic Hostel Lounge Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing