We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
78
59
17
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
78
59
17
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Loved this place! Our host, Patrick, was extremely welcoming and went out of his way to ensure we had a great stay - e.g. lending us an umbrella, booking cabs and offering tips for restaurants and days out! He made a great breakfast each morning, the room was clean and comfortable and the central location was also perfect. We ended up returning to spend two more nights here and will come back next time we are in San Jose :) Only downside was that the train outside is really loud, not that anything can be done about this!

Room tip: Maybe the rooms on the north side are less disturbed by the loud railway (to the south)
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019 via mobile

Patrick is a very helpful and friendly host! I felt like at home! His hotel is located at the center, all what you need is very close! I would stay here afain and of course, I can recommend this place very much!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank whwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2019 via mobile

The room was impressively big, nice and clean. The owners were kind and helpful. We had Costa Rican pineapple for breakfast, the sweetest ever.

Just an advice for visitors, try to get there by day, at night might feel a bit unsafe, bit once in casa Leon everything is great.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Smailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

The owner Patrick and his wife were super friendly as well as very helpful in giving us advice for our trip in costa rica. Patrick even picked us up in San Jose as our GPS was not accurate enough to get to the guest house. We recommend to eat the guest house as they serve very fresh local breakfast for just 5$ a person. The rooms are very clean, spacious and there is warm water in the shower:)
We highly recommend this location and we would stay there again on our next trip to San Jose.

Irina and Ben

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank THEGIFT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Stayed here a couple of times when passing through San José. Rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean, with hot showers that work (and don't electrocute you, like some in Central America!), good mattresses and space to unpack a little.
The hosts speak Spanish, English and German and can help with travel enquiries such as bus times.
There are several restaurants close by, and the area feels safe enough to walk for short distances even at night. It's also close to the shopping areas and museums. It's a bit of a hike to the bus stations, but doable if you don't mind a walk, or it wouldn't cost much in a taxi.
We didn't have breakfast there, but there are a couple of bakeries nearby for a coffee and pastry.
Only issue might be the train noise for some people as it's next to a railway line and the trains hoot as they go past, but we got used to it pretty quickly.

Room tip: Rooms at the back might have less train noise
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aviatrix_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews