We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Rios Tropicales tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Rios Tropicales
from US$295.00
More Info
from US$105.00
More Info
from US$75.00
More Info
from US$105.00
More Info
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
533
69
13
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
69
13
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rafting trip pacuare river operations center white water rafting breakfast and lunch class iv rapids raft guide overnight stay hotel in san jose great rafting eco lodge night trip highly recommend this trip costa rica safety instructions zip lining dry clothes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

when we reached River, we met with another guide, Carlos, who provided instruction on what to do on the river, and explained that there would be another guide in a kayak heading down the river with us, and that we would be rafting through 3 and 4 class rapids. We also learned about the training and level of expertise these guides have to go through, the training is intense and ongoing.

After the instruction and explanation, the 4 of us loaded into a raft and began the 4 hour journey down river. A once in a lifetime experience, the scenery, learning about different tree species, the excitement of the rapids, and a feeling of happy. Sometimes your slowly moving viewing the surrounding landscape, jumping in for a swim, then your pulled back into the raft and your paddling through a rapid. After a couple hours we stopped off on bank for another surprise, lunch located on a eco friendly lodge with screened cabins and tents.

As the guides proceeded to make us a beautiful lunch in an unexpecting fully loaded outdoor kitchen, we took off with our imagination and camera in hand, walking the grounds filled with frogs, butterflies, flowers and more, when they let us know the food was ready, we just wanted to stay out “playing”. After some delicious food and refreshing drinks we headed back the raft and started paddling. This experience was amazing, and the guides exceptional.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank VacationHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael G, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks a lot for such a great review, and understanding the training that the guides go thru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An incredible river and wonderful experience! Very professional and safe experience--most definitely on par with safety in the US--in fact many of the folks who work at Rios Tropicales that we met had worked in rafting in Northern California!! Carlos was our guide from the Lodge to the end and was top-notch. We rode each rapid according to plan from start to finish--super fun, super educational experience! Highly recommend this company and Carlos--just do it!!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank NorcalBeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael G, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks a lot for appreciating our high sense of safety practices, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

The only thing more amazing than the Pacuare River, our guide Sasy. AKA, Sexy! We LOVED him! He was truly the best and a total beast!!! Not only was he brave enough to take 5 women down the river (3 of which were not experienced at all) he also saved one of them that fell out in the Cemetery (a class IV). He got her out and calmed her down to get back on the river and finish like a champ. Maybe he'll find her bottoms one day LOL! I also have to give it to Luis (also a total bada$$) but he was with my friends in another boat (probably a good call for Luis, HA!). We all had the most amazing time of our lives! It was the best part of our trip to Costa Rica. This outfit is professional and really has their stuff together. I'm ready to go back and down the Pacuare River again with my man Sasy! Until next time... Muchas gracias Rios Tropicales and even bigger muchas muchas gracias to Sasy and Luis!!!!! PURA VIDA!!!!!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Cblaz1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael G, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Well , I am wordless, I sure have lots of respect for Luis and Sassy, lots more now ....Thanks for enjoying Rios Tropicales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Wow, what an awesome day of rafting! We started our day with a cooked breakfast at the Rio Tropicales lodge before taking a 45 minute bus ride to the start of the river. On the way there one of the guides made sure we were aware of safety guidelines. It was my first time rafting but my boyfriend has been on a few other trips and this particular tour ended up being his favourite. I was apprehensive but ended up having a blast and it’s made me want to try our rafting again! Once we were back at the lodge we enjoyed a delicious lunch. Would highly recommend!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sjtgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael G, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thanks a lot for a great review, please come rafting again , and stay overnight at the Lodge that we have at the beginning of the Gorge , just before the Class IV rapids .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

I did the two day rafting and Ecolodge stay. All of the staff were extremely professional. Our guide, Ronald, did an excellent job of making our ride fun while keeping us safe. The ecolodge was fantastic and the food and drink were delicious. One personal word of caution— if you have any mold allergies whatsoever, make sure to bring your allergy meds, as the rainforest is full of mold (of course!!)

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael G, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thanks for your review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Lodge on the Pacuare River, it has been a long rainy season, but the river is lots more fun ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

There is a lot of companies that run this tour, but what separates Rios from the rest is the guides. Recommendation: request Carlos — he’s super knowledgeable about the river and the ecology around the river. He’s a talented raft leader that makes you have fun. Bring water and sunscreen on the raft with you.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank DejaSquiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael G, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thanks a lot for taking your time to review your trip and acknowledge the quality of or guides..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews