We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Hamburguesia

Hamburguesia
Ranked #16 of 190 Restaurants in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Really, amazing food ? It used to look like an upgraded McDonald's. Now it looks like a modern bar, really did a nice work on the decor. It has a very appealing bar, and outside covered terrace, nice furniture, lots of flat screens, definitively a place you will feel comfortable while watching a sports event or hanging out with friends, now the food. Overprices as the whole Avenida Escazu is, the main burger is about $16, the price of a burger in a signature Hotel. I ordered the fries-less sliders, angus beef, not sure, even though the local grass fed beef is way better than imported angus, (Although is hard to get a high percentage of fat) Portobello mushrooms ? Not sure, but the local white button mushrooms are also way better, the aioli, more like a salad dressing, The bun was not so bad but also a bit fat and dense, to make the slider look bigger. Not a fan the patty was completely unseasoned, and when you try to add salt, pepper and ketchup to a slider, is not a good experience. I would for sure go to have a few drinks, although, the local beer at $4 is rather expensive, the locals are not accustomed to pay more than $2.50, but the ambiance is nice. Also, make surer that Ruben is your bartender, he really changed my experience trying to feel comfortable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrianvega, Owner at Hamburguesia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your feedback! We hope to see you around soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Excellent service, reasonable prices, good portions, I had the create your own burger, choose from meat you want all the way down to bread, had 1/2 lb.Angus meat with with various toppings, so good. Surroundings very clean and great for family.

Thank Angel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrianvega, Owner at Hamburguesia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your feedback! Hope to see you around soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Great dining experience for the whole family. A taste of American cuisine with a Costa Rican flair. Prices are reasonable and the beer is icey cold.

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrianvega, Owner at Hamburguesia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your feedback! We hope to see you around soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

I get wings every visit they know me very well always bend over backwards for me they know the deal Americans want service and want it instant.

Thank Jackpc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

I am staying in the escazu area I visit this area at least every other week for business, I decided to visit this place, as a result a horrible service, waited 35 minutes for a burger with sweet potatoes fries, 35 minutes later my cold (not warm) cold burguer arrived with regular fries, the waiter left and I had to call him to request the potato error, then I made the first bite, wasn’t a nice bread and cold, I thought well the meat could be hot, nope that burguer was ready maybe for at least 10 minutes before, but the waiter was not professional at all, I had to step out of my table and approach him with the complain ( I speak Spanish ), he says ok and 5 minutes later he continues with a table with a tab divided in 5 at least.

Finally I decided to ask if he has already request for my burguer, but he did not, he was too busy for me, the thing is that I was hungry so I Paid my beer and leave.

Now I am having a nice meal at (la diving comida) a very good place with very professional service...

Being here several times ...

Thank td15812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamburguesia also viewed

Escazu, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Rafael de Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Hamburguesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing