We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
344
77
19
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
77
19
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pearl osa peninsula howler monkeys costa rica other guests night sounds boogie boards open air chef jose ceiling fan pura vida no air conditioning yoga classes we loved our stay rainy season golfo dulce boat tour
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We had such a wonderful time. Our family of five -- three intrepid middle schoolers, mom and dad -- stayed in the Beach House, a three-level semi-open building just off the pool and yoga flat. It was very spacious and comfortable. Fans cool it more than adequately at night, netting keeps the people in and the critters out of the sleeping areas, and the shower areas relied on privacy screens, providing the feel of open-air. The buildings are all beautiful and unique, making use of the super-open plans possible in the tropics. They incorporate local wood, including fluted tropical trunks along with arts-and-crafts elements for an eclectic effect that we loved.

Breakfast starts early and well, with delicious local fresh fruit, including starfruit juice from the property. Coffee is strong and the eggs are fresh. The dark sand beach is quiet, and perfect for boogie boarding, and surfing breaks are close by. The pool and hot tub are beautiful, tranquil, shady, and attract exciting birds including macaws and hawks.

The staff do a terrific job or arranging excursions, and we did not have to deal with paying the drivers or guides. The guides were great, especially Sidnar, who ran our wildlife tour. We saw all four species of Osa monkeys, a baby sloth and much more on the first day. Andy's tree climb and the mangrove kayak tour were also very worthwhile.

Toby and Lauren, who own the place and run the show, strike just the right balance between involved and intrusive. They are always around or easily found, accomodating and approachable. Dog lovers will find the several pets an added bonus: two towering but mild-mannered Irish Wolfhounds and a few smaller pups.

The restraurant is no-fuss with a solid, accessible menu and friendly staff, and the food is all made to order and fresh.

Five drowsy baby sloths out of five drowsy baby sloths, would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at this lovely place! The rooms and grounds are very clean and the ocean view is beautiful! Surprisingly, the no air conditioning was not a problem at all! The fans in the room made it very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and the staff is super helpful, such nice people!! Sidnar, our guide for a half day hike, was wonderful, so knowledgeable and he helped us see many animals we would have missed on our own! Take a hike with Sidnar! We had a fantastic stay at this lovely lodge!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Bikelady19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We wanted to spend a few nights on the beach on our way to another lodge in the hills in Osa. We were extremely happy we stayed here. The property is not huge but is beautifully landscaped, casitas are private and blend in naturally and there is a fantastic beach on the Golfo Dulce.

The birds early in the morning are phenomenal. The naturist, Sidnar is awesome. We went on a couple of early morning birdwatching walks around the grounds and he was able to spot multitudes of the most amazing birds.

We've been to Costa Rica many times and the food at Iguana Lodge is the best we've had. Dinners are served group style and feature extremely fresh and deliciously prepared. The bar has a killer view on the beach and serves nice lunches.

The hotel is conveniently located if you wish to do any of the tourist activities on the gulf and the staff at the hotel can arrange everything for you. The staff is warm and efficient and the personable owners are on hand.

As has been said before, this place is not for everyone. People looking for airconditioned large modern resorts might not like it here. But all of the guests during our trip seemed quite pleased.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank macboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Good hotel, perfect spot, right on the beach. If you stay there, I recommend paying the extra money and getting an ocean view room. Nice, clean pool. Breakfast is OK, the typical Costa Rica breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view room.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibunim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

I completely agree with the positive T.A. reviews about this Lodge. All of the staff, from restaurants to guides (hola Sidnar), were excellent. The vibes here are positive & mellow.

Food is really good. I especially liked the Ranchos dinners; we were all seated at one large table, making it easy to chat with other guests.

A recent review panned the Lodge, but they may have had personal issues. I drank water like crazy, mostly from my villa faucet, with no problems. Also never had 1 insect in my villa.

The Lodge is very yoga-centric, but no pressure to practice.

The beach is 15 seconds from villas. Guided trips were AOK. In 1 morning tour, I saw all 4 species of Costa Rica monkeys, a sloth & more.

Bottom line is, nothing negative about this Lodge. If you want to experience the Osa, go there.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank HowardPfeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews