We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Destinia.com
CheapTickets
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
21
3
4
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
21
3
4
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool outdoor shower luxury lodge adventure nature rainforest tour ocean puerto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2020

Liked the tent room because it was connected to nature. Unique experience with outdoor shower. Enjoyed the view from the tower. Fun experience. Very much recommend it. Would stay there again and will recommend it to others.

Date of stay: February 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joelmoritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie Guadamuz, Director General at Avatar Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear Joel,

Thank you so much for your recent visit and of course, for your kind words which means a lot to all us. We are here for you guys so, we seriously appreciate it.

Hopefully, you'll make it here again at our new hotel, which will be right at the beach. Pura Vida and God bless you!

Warm Regards,

Avatar Eco Lodge Team!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

We stayed 3 nights at this lodge with our kids, 7 and 10.

+: View from our tent, infinity pool, area to play babyfoot, great drinks
-: mattress, it was in plastic and 2 double beds (4 people). It would be nice to have bunk bed for kids which is the case in a lot of lodge and hotel in Costa Rica. And plastic cover, really. They must upgrade as it was not comfortable at all, difficult to rest.

Last comments: Only one choice for dinner, can be difficult with kids. We asked to the hotel another choice when it was Tuna on the menu and they kindly prepared chicken for them.
Outdoor shower could be nice but don't take one after dark comes because you will have a lot of friends with you...
Melanie

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melanie_travel_tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie Guadamuz, Director General at Avatar Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2020

Hello Melanie.
Thanks so much for your nice comments, was a pleasure your stay in our Lodge. You and your family were very kind people. And thanks for you tips.
Best Regards.
Avatar Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2020 via mobile

It could be so much more. It feels neglected as a hotel. I agree with other reviewers, don’t believe the photos they are wildly inaccurate. We stayed in a tent and “luxury villa” neither were close to what was advertised. The website is misleading. Also, maintenance was shoddy, my daughter nearly fell 6 metres to the ground because the staircase rope (in reality string) was broken. Food was exceptionally poor. What was left over from dinner was served for breakfast! Furniture was unfathomable, leather sofas and chairs coated in sheep’s wool...In the jungle! They don’t have 24h service. We arrived in the evening after having dinner and we waited over an hour outside to get a key for the villa. But the worst thing about the property is the owners. Do not go here if you want any level of customer service. When we challenged the owners on the quality of the villa and the waiting time to get the key because no one was answering the phone, they decided to go and have their breakfast rather than speaking to us and trying to find a solution. Management was non existent - a poor guy with no idea of what was going on. The owner and wife turned up eventually after having breakfast with a very arrogant and rude attitude. Not a single apology. We ended up cancelling the last nights and had a much better experience else where. Just don’t bother going there. Too much hassle, and far too expensive for what the hotel offers.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank simadd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avatar_Eco, Director General at Avatar Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Dear Simon,

We appreciate your comments and will work as hard as we can to make this a better place as you and some others expected to be.

Regards,

Richie Guadamuz N.
Evatar Eco Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020

Don’t be fooled by the photos!

We stayed in the stand alone 2 bedroom villas. There are a few things you should know.

Their website lied and said the villas have air conditioning, they do not! Since the time we originally booked their website is now under construction. The description was inaccurate on booking sites as well and the manager tried to pretend that they don't control the text written on third party booking sites like booking.com, etc. (They do, any hotel can edit their description.) But the A/C was just one of MANY problems at the property....

PROS:

1. The view from the pool is amazing.
2. Restaurant food was good and affordable, but very limited menu. Only 3 menu items.
3. The staff is lovely and very helpful and friendly.

CONS:

NO AIR CONDITIONING - And this is one of the hottest parts of Costa Rica. The villas are at the bottom of the hill, not at the top which gets a good breeze.
4x4 REQUIRED - You need 4x4 and good tires. Getting to the entrance is fine, but driving from the gate to the pool/restaurant where you check in is VERY steep. We were driving a 4wd truck with good tires and still were fishtailing a little on the gravel.
NO WIFI - There is wifi at the restaurant, but not at the villas
NO CELL SERVICE - My cell phone wouldn’t work here… and I have a Costa Rican cell phone.
GATE LOCKED - We arrived during the day but the gate was locked. We buzzed, but the buzzer didn’t work. There was a note to WHATSAPP reception, but none of our cell phones worked at this location. Finally another guest pulled up behind us, jumped over the gate, then buzzed us in. So not really secure if you can just jump the gate to buzz people in.
VILLA UNLOCKED ALL NIGHT - And while the gate to get in keeps you locked out, the villa is wide open. They gave us a million keys, yet none actually locked the doors.
Do not come during rainy season. Just don’t.
NOT KID FRIENDLY - The villa designer paid more attention to aesthetics than function. The kitchen and only bathroom are downstairs. The stairs are outside. The bedrooms are upstairs and open to outside. So if you need to go to the bathroom during the night, you have to walk outside and have the key to downstairs if the door locks. They only gave us one set of keys. So I’m not sure how you’re supposed to lock both bedrooms, and then get back in the bathroom.
NARROW STEPS - Not ideal for anyone with problems going up and down steps. The steps are very narrow and tiny steps. So we ended up leaving all our luggage downstairs in the kitchen bathroom area.
NO CURTAINS - Be prepared to get up around 5:15 every day as there are no curtains at the sliding glass door. You are basically in a fishbowl in this villa.
The bedding although attractive is polyester which is very hot. Actually it’s just plain mean to have polyester bedding and no a/c. I would recommend the hotel let all booking sites know that there is NO A/C anywhere at the resort, and also buy some 100% cotton sheets. It doesn’t need to be a fancy thread count, but 100% cotton.
MILDEW SMELL - When we arrived there was a horrible mildew smell in the villa. The manager said that it was because it has been closed up for a long time. LOL. Usually when hotels know that someone is coming to stay, they open up a place and air it out.
NO HOT WATER - But this is probably for the best because you’ll want an ice cold shower before you go to your stuffy room.
LOTS OF BUGS - There were already tons of bugs inside when we arrived. We kept the screen doors shut the whole time, but I couldn’t decide if that was preventing bugs from getting in or preventing bugs from getting out.
NO OUTLETS - And not that it really matters because there’s no wifi or cell service, but there is only 1 outlet in the bedroom to power the lamps.

NOTES:

We knew this before we arrived, but the Avatar Eco Resort is about 20 minutes outside of Puerto Jimenez and about an hour from the surf beaches.

NO VIEW - There is a view from the top where the pool and restaurant is, but there is not at the bottom where the villas are. Not a big deal but worth knowing about.

They charge your credit card the day before you arrive.

This hotel is nowhere near the beach.

If you still want to stay here after reading this, you'd be better off staying in the tents than in the villas, because then you'll at least get a breeze and maybe wifi and be walking distance to restaurant.

So this is a great place to stay as long as you are okay with going WITHOUT: a breeze, air conditioning, a door that locks, a view, cell service, wifi, and easy access to a bathroom during the night.

Room tip: NO WIFI IN VILLAS! Only Wifi at pool area. You'd be better off in tents than villas so you at least get a breeze.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bbdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avatar_Eco, Director General at Avatar Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Hello,

Greetings from Avatar Eco Lodge Family. With deep sorrow, I have read your review. I have no words but to say sorry. As the new Operations Manager here, I'm working hard to make all the adjustments needed to take Avatar to the next level, where it belongs.

I understand that maybe is not much, but we're sorry and hopefully one day you can visit us again, so you'll see the changes we are working on.

Best Regards,

Richie Guadamuz N.
Operations Manager
Avatar Eco Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020

This place was extremely disappointing, probably the most disappointing place I've ever stayed. Overall just a very bad place, I can't remember feeling like this about another hotel ever. Here's the reasons:

1) It bills itself as a 5-star resort. That's what I was expecting. It couldn't be farther from the truth. It was more like 1-2 star motel. It was nothing like a 5-star resort. I'm guessing they gave themselves that rating. You sleep in cheaply constructed, sweltering tents.

2) You can't lock your room. They don't give you a key. Anyone could walk up and slide your doors open at any time when you're away from your room. You just have to hope no one with bad intentions sees you walk away from it.

3) The showers on some of the units are not private! You can look right through the bamboo fencing and see people shower! It's so wrong.

4) There are so many building code violations that make this place TRULY DANGEROUS. The pagoda in the front where meals are served has a low hanging corner. I was talking to my wife and looking to my right and smashed my face right into it. Had a bloody cut on my forehead and between my eyes.

My wife went down the stairs to our bathroom and was carrying our 2 year old, and she slipped and fell on the wet tile at the bottom.

There are no lights above the stairs going down to the restroom. So you have to walk down stairs to pee in the night, but you have to do it in pitch black! And then step onto the wet tile at the bottom in the dark! So bad!

The tile by the pool is slippery.

There are huge gaps in all of the rickety railing around the property. We had to watch our 2 year old like a hawk.

The stairs to the top of the pagoda are super narrow. They're awful to walk up/down.

5) The pool water is uncomfortably cold. No one uses it at all. At one point, every seat around the pool was taken for over an hour, but not a single person went in the pool.

6) You can't get Wifi in the room. Zero signal.

7) The staff is unprofessional. They're not rude or jerks, but they kind of just socialize and joke amongst themselves and are not well trained. Again, not "resort" status.

8) The food is just okay, blah, tipico. The lunches are overpriced at $15/person. And the food is the best feature of this place, which doesn't say much!

9) It's so boring. We expected a "resort" experience. There's nothing to do there.

You're far from the beach, and you can't really walk anywhere. You have to take their overpriced shuttles if you want to go somewhere.

10) There's no hot water in the showers. Ice cold showers.

11) They don't offer filtered water, it's just tap. Some people say the tap water is safe in Costa Rica. Some say Americans get sick from it. No option here.

This place is a flat 1 star for me, and I wish I saw the other recent reviews before booking. I booked it expecting a stay at the finest hotel/resort in the Osa. It's motel quality. I wouldn't stay another night there for free.

It appears to me to have been developed by someone who doesn't really know what they're doing, and who doesn't have the money to do it. They're overcharging big time for crappy tent life and poor service.

Room tip: Stay somewhere else
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avatar_Eco, Director General at Avatar Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Dear Billy,

On behalf of Avatar Eco Lodge Team, I'm so sorry for my delay in responding to your kind words. We all truly apologize for not being as good as you were expecting.

We absolutely appreciate your words and will make the changes needed in order to provide the service possible for all our guests, as a matter of fact, we have done some already, but more are coming.

Yours truly,

Richie Guadamuz N.
Avatar Eco Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews