We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
535
47
14
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
47
14
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey house stairway to heaven blue butterfly happy hour his wife scarlet macaws other guests costa rica osa peninsula tiki hut corcovado national park open air monkey room soups beach bungalow frog tour honeymoon suite
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Hate this place. Don’t stay here. The beds are old and we were bit by bugs all night. We left with huge bites all over us. I even developed a severe rash while staying there that my dermatologist said will take a year to heal. The meals are extremely over priced. The dinner is 20 dollars plus tax... so crazy as it was mostly salad and rice and beans. We brought a small amount of food and they don’t even have a dedicated fridge for guests she you have to go behind the bar if you want to get anything. Considering we are a two hour ride away from grocery or restaurant they basically have you trapped to pay for their overpriced meals. We payed half the amount through booking.com for our stay and when we left they charged us over twice the amount they were suppose. Now it’s just a headache as they are horrible at responding to emails. In addition they charge 90 dollars for a guided tour through the park. Other places charge 50 or less. Book through the tour group directly. Also research tour guide the one they booked us with sexually harassed me.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Amelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear guest,
We are very sorry that you brought such bad feelings from your stay at Look Out Inn. Hopefully you and your friend enjoyed the rest of your trip to Costa Rica better Please, be assured that we take any comments and reviews of or guests very seriously and try to improve ourselves all the time. However, in this particular case we also feel it is necessary to correct certain inaccuracies in your assertions: 1) you were charged the exact amount for which you booked the room. While being asked to pay, you claimed that half of the price was already paid by you in advance and that you should pay only 50% of the price here, but this simply was not the reality. There was no prepayment from your side performed. Thus, paying 100% was totally normal and fair, I would say. I am sorry, we could not accept that you would stay here only for half of the price, which I hope you understand. 2) No one here ever used your card without your explicit consent. 3) Lookout Inn is an eco-lodge in deep tropical forest in one of the last places on our planet which still may be called virgin and untouched. That is why our guest usually arrive here. Rainforests are not insect free and our place is not an exception. Unfortunately, repellent and moskito nets are the only protection against insect and none of it never works for 100%. This is simply part of the game while staying at a tropical rainforest. Creatures that might bite you were not bugs, for sure, but rather ants or moskitos. They all simply live here with us and are essential part of the biotope. 4) Meals were served for the price announced also on our booking.com profile. Both lunch and dinner in a buffet style with soup, salad, variation of meat and even wider variation of side dishes. Our chef and his cuisine are something we are in particular proud of. And guests usually highly appreciate it, as well. Although, it might happen that we did not fit your taste. Accept our apologies for that. 5) There is a small shop in a walking distance from our lodge as you were also informed. Unfortunately, we cannot provide a fridge for our guests. Please consider that the only source of electricity here in the forest are our solar panels and battery system, thus the source is seriously limited. 6) You refused to pay for the rainforest tour to a professional and well established guide we externally ordered for you. You did not pay anything either to him or us. We paid the tour guide by ourselves… Please be informed that the price (for which you ordered the tour in advance and later refused to pay) includes also entrance fee to the Corcovado national park. We paid that fee instead of you as well. Regarding the guide … over years you are the first gusts complaining about this person. … To summarize: we somehow did not meet your expectations and needs, for which we are sorry. And yes, we still live in a world where not paying for the services after ordering and receiving them is considered not to be fair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

The Lookout Inn is absolutely amazing! We spent 4 days here and could not have chosen a better place to wind up 3 weeks of travel in Costa Rica. The up close and personal contact with the wildlife around the lodge has to be seen to be believed!
The beautiful rustic open air room made us feel we were at one with the stunning lush jungle surrounding this beautiful piece of paradise. The hospitality extended by Terry and Katya and their excellent staff is outstanding! From the delicious meals we enjoyed to the fabulous cocktails and most of all the scintillating conversation all created a travel experience that is unforgettable! Highly recommend you stay at Lookout Inn when you visit the incredible Osa Peninsula!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debs_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear guest,
thank you for nice review for our lookout Inn Lodge!
Best regards
Roman Vagner
Lookout Inn Lodge manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Lookout Inn

This is our fifth time here at the Lookout Inn- it’s like our own little hideaway/honeymoon place. We have known Terry and Katya for 14 years and they are the best host any guests could have. Terry and Katya not only owns the place (and by the way, Terry built this place from the ground up!), they are closely interacting with all the guests to make sure everyone would have the best time in Carate. Terry also bakes his own bread and makes sushi rolls- who would have thought one can have sushi in a very remote place?! Speaking of food, you are served a healthy meal three times a day- all buffet style. It is very similar to a farm to table meal that you would get in a fancy restaurant. Most of the ingredients are locally sourced (either from the Lookout Inn Garden/surroundings or from a local farmer), healthy, and very delicious! Terry also works with Chef Pablo Montano who already appeared in one of the famous Costa Rica’s cooking show. Chef Pablo makes the best paella and he would serenade you at dinner time- yes, he sings and also plays the guitar. Then there are the cabinas. Hubby and I usually stay at their Honeymoon Suite- this is their biggest room and comes with a smaller dipping pool. There are no walls in any of the cabins so you are open to the jungle. If you hate bugs or creepy crawlers- this is not a place for you. Birds, monkeys, lizards comes to visit in the cabins. The animals are pretty harmless though and some of them are very playful. We have never encountered an animal attacking us during our many stays here, except the occasional bug bites (bugs are everywhere in Costa Rica). Humans just have to remember not to feed the animals and leave their personal stash of food in their cabins. Coatis are also smart about stealing food - they are super cute but still best not to feed any of them. Lookout Inn is so full of wildlife- there is no need to go to a park just to experience being so close to them. My daughter and her boyfriend stayed at the Monkey House and this cabin has the best view of all because it is at the highest location on the property. It has an amazing aerial view of the jungle and the beach- a total honeymoon spot! The main house/reception area has so many relaxing spot as well- with a hammock laid out through the entire place, a cute mini bar with outstanding caipirinha (and I don’t even like to drink), a small library, and an open kitchen where you can see all the magic happens! Lookout Inn is a must visit when in Costa Rica- you will not be disappointed. Many love and thanks Terry and Katya!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sunnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear guest,
thank you for your nice review of our Lookout Inn Lodge!
Best regards
Roman Vagner
Lookout Inn Lodge manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Lookout Inn during 4 days, and it was among the 4 best days of our trip in Costa Rica !

The place is very remote, which creates a beautiful adventure to get there. The team is adorable, and the meals are very good, as is the service.

The rooms are breathtaking, with a beautiful view on the ocean and animals just a few meters away ! Be prepared to be waken up by monkeys running on the roof !

I highly recommend this place to everybody who wants to stay in the Osa Peninsula.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Revilo932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

hello happy guests .. thanks so much for visiting us here at the famous lookout inn -- its a great time to visit now the red eye tree frogs are out and about in our 2 garden ponds and mom sea turtles are up laying eggs on the beach out front and of course lil babys hatching and running to the pacific shores ... see ya all again.... thanks ter at the inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Osa was definitely my favorite stop in Costa Rica. It is the most untouched, remote jungle area we had been to. This also means there will be things you're not used to. The cooks at this inn were great, and that's good because there is no where else to get food unless you're going next door to another lodge. The roads to get to Osa are very bumpy, so make sure you have a 4x4 all wheel drive car if you're renting, but my recommendation is to find a driver, especially if you've never handled roads like that before. Make sure you have transportation squared away before your visit, especially if you won't have phone service for your trip. The owner, Terry, actually happened to be going into town the day we left and offered to drive us back. The lodging itself is incredible. We stayed in the monkey house, and I 100% recommend that room. There aren't any walls accept for a few privacy walls at the front entrance and around the bathroom area, so expect to be exposed to the elements. Also, you will fall asleep listening to the sounds of the night life of the jungle; for some people, this is the opposite of calming. It has the best view in the house, and it felt like a dream looking at the wild ocean waters while wild scarlet macaws flew by. There was no hot water, just fyi, but that was never a problem for us because we always came back dripping sweat and red-faced from our excursions. We would've had a heat stroke if the water was hot. The rest of the lodge was awesome; there is plenty of spots to chill and read a book or talk with the other guests. Dinner was at one long table, and we had some great conversations with people from all over the world. The beaches are wild; there is no drink service or umbrellas. The water is also very strong, so swim at your own risk. The owners are helpful, but the manager, Reed, is the true star. He is incredibly friendly and mans the bar at happy hour. Have a drink with him and ask him about his life, he's done a lot of cool stuff. If you have a problem, just ask him about it and he'll do his best to fix it. Another part of being in such an undeveloped place is that the electric is only on during sunlight hours, and the outlets are in a common space. You don't have to worry if you leave something charging while you are elsewhere, but you won't be able to charge anything in your room. Overall, an incredible atmosphere with good food. To recap, the only issues you might have with this place are simply the hazards of being in the jungle, but I found the disconnection from normal life very refreshing. The area is incredibly beautiful and worth your visit.

Room tip: Monkey house or butterfly house for the best views and most privacy.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlytico, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

HI, Thanks SO much for the great review. Thanks for mentioning me (Reade) :)
Great description of our accommodations and surroundings.

Glad you had such a great trip and time well spent with us. We love to have repeat customers and referrals.

Please like our Facebook page and Instagram to share your favorite photos.

Thanks,
Reade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews