We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of the Rain Forest”
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Stayed in 2014 and had an excellent time. Easily accessible to the wonders of the forest, from the trails out the back and front of the property to the beach across the road. The meals were included as well and were the freshest fruit and vegetables, and they were accommodating to vegetarian diets. And the huts/lodges themselves, you were stepping right into nature, yet with comfort! The huts were private and well apportioned, and tree frogs and macaws were all around. The trips were also reasonable and they easily connected you with guides for your excursions, whether they were to Corcovado or the nearby trails. I would stay again and plan to on my next visit to the Osa!

Room Tip: Choose the outdoor rooms
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Punita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2015

lots of screaming parrots out front in the wild almond trees here at the lookout inn... .. and they are all waiting for your return... so we shall see you when??????? thanks for a lovely review -- sea turtles are still laying eggs this month and lots of babys hatching and running for the salt water... see ya again....thanks terry at the inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for Lookout Inn Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2015

If you want an awesome Costa Rican nature experience - look no further. Stay here!Terry and Katya are amazing hosts and take a lot of care and thought into each and every detail to make your stay great. Wonderful people. Their entire staff is outstanding as well.
I'm not really sure where to begin - this place is magical. Breathtaking views, outstanding bird and animals all around. Despite having rain (we knew we were gambling on it since we booked in the green season) - we STILL saw so much. They have great trails to take right there at the lodge. We went on our own and saw howler monkeys, spider monkeys, toucans, macaws, butterflies and even an anteater! You don't even need to leave the lodge to see things though - you can sit and enjoy the macaws flying by daily, toucans and monkeys come right by the deck too.
We made wonderful friends from all over world, as you get to know the other guests who are staying there too. It's fun to all come together in the evenings for happy hour and share the daily adventures/sightings.
You can't go wrong with any of the rooms. We had the Monkey House room but all of them are great. Terry was just finishing a cool new room too - I told him he can call it the "Mel Penthouse" :) The food is wonderful. Santos works hard to make sure everything tastes great and I now have to loose the extra pounds I gained (hence the nickname Terry gave me for the week "Dinner Bell Mel" :).
THANK YOU, Terry & Katya and all of the staff. We can't wait to come back and see you!! Much Love from your friends from Michigan - Mel & Brent

Room Tip: we had Monkey House but all of the rooms are pretty cool! you can't go wrong with any of them...
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MelHMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

dinner bell mel love u2 guys please come home again soon-- all is well here at the lookout inn sunny /hot and wild -- and dont forget we have a small boutique hotel in puerto jimenez find it on my web site -- thanks so much and have a great holiday up north terry and katya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

Terry does a great job and the Lodge is well positioned to see so much wild life while smelling the lovely Ylang Ylang trees. There are no climate controls in place and the rooms could benefit from a fan or ceiling fan during warm balmy afternoons and nights. If you want to be close to nature with minimal comfort, this place is for you! The swinging bed was nice, initially but could benefit from a cool memory foam topper as you'll perspire and wake your sweetheart with every move. Bathroom is not private at all in the honey moon "suite".

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RICHARD6120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

thank you so much for visiting us here at the lookout inn food and views all perfect ... and i must say all the cabins and rooms have fans and lites -- remember world we are off the grid that means no electric coming from some power plant all cabins on separate solar panels and batterys..
we can not have ceiling fans a/c or TV's in the rooms-- and we are here for our guests 24/7 so if you have a lil problem or situation with any thing .. we are here ---so sorry the fan was not working or limited -- again thanks for visiting and giving us an ok review happy holidays and the best in 2016 --

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

We found this hotel from their sister property in Puerto Jimenz. Where they set us up
with our 2 night tour / camp in Corcovado Nacional Park. We spent 3 nights here
@ Lookout-Inn Lodge afterwards. Words can't explain how natural this place is.
Scarlett Macaws flying over you, monkeys in the trees close enough for you to
touch and directly across from playa Carate. Not that we didn't have enough hiking in the park we took a few more self guided hikes around the property, kayaked in the lagoon and enjoyed the beach as well. Or we just layer in a hammock poolside or on the deck in the main building listening to nature and the waves crashing on the beach.
We loved happy hour with Terry & Katya our hosts. The food was top notch for being
out in the middle of the forest or anywhere in country with now electrical,lines or cell coverage. Plenty of food after a long day of hiking. Can't say enough about the place except can't wait to return and book the NEW PENTHOUSE room.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and you can hear the waves crashing on the beach from all rooms
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

New York New York -- lots of wonderful things come out of the big apple -- thanks for sharing your vacation with us here at the lodge .. and hotel jimenez tooooooooooooooooo-- happy holidays to you all and love for you to return .. the penthouse will be waiting for you ... ter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

We loved Lookout Inn! If you like being close to nature and don't need four walls you will love this place. Terry and Katya are tremendous hosts. We had two rooms- the Butterfly and the Honeymoon. Butterfly is higher up and commands a terrific view of the tree tops and the ocean. There are a couple of nice chairs and ample room for two- they were going to do some work on an attached space so it'll be even larger. The Honeymoon has more room plus two hammocks and it's own little pool. It's lower down (closer to the beach) and also has great views. If you want monkeys coming into your room the Butterfly is probably better. You'll see Toucans and Macaws from any room. Rooms don't have four walls- you are looking out right into nature (but don't worry about privacy).

The food is superb. Terry does a lot of the cooking but the chef is terrific. We had sushi, lasagna, ribs, chicken, mahi mahi, tuna as main dinner courses. There is always a salad, soup, and bread. There is always other food too. Desserts were great. Everything is made there and made fresh. Fish were caught by locals.. My wife is a very picky eater and she ate everything offered (she wasn't going to try sushi though- so Terry cooked the fish for her).

Lookout is located right next to Corcovado. There are some really nice hikes right from Lookout- one to a waterfall (4 mile round trip), one called the Stairway to Heaven (just two miles but it is very steep on the way down!)- it's trail does sometimes disappear but we had no trouble picking it back up. Terry will arrange a guide for Corcovado too, or anything else you might want to do.

So is there anything not to like? For us, no. This is not a corporate hotel, It's an eco-hotel- so lighting was minimal in the room and wifi was out the whole time but they have a good selection of books and some games. Terry and Katya are around all the time and very helpful. The staff is wonderful- we wanted to bring Bernie and Esteban home with us (Bernie makes a great Tico Sour (try it!). It's Costa Rica so everyone is really nice.

We look forward to returning to Lookout!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rems112015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

hello rems your back in the cold all ready -- we all miss you guys so you need to start planning your next escape and hang out with us again at the lookout inn... BBQ pork tonite and apple pie -- and it finally rained on us tooooooooooo .. again thanks for sharing your vacation wit us terry and katya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
2.4 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
18.9 km away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
19.5 km away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
19.5 km away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
543 reviews
19.5 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Address: Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range: €52 - €153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing