We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hostel Iseami(Carate)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Luna Lodge(Carate)
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$705
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Encanta La Vida(Cabo Matapalo)
US$271
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveller rating
529
47
14
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
47
14
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstairway to heavenmonkey houseblue butterflyhis wifehappy hourscarlet macawsother guestscosta ricaosa peninsulacorcovado national parktiki hutopen airmonkey roomsoupsfrog tourbeach bungalowshady lane
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 603 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2015

We found this hotel from their sister property in Puerto Jimenz. Where they set us up
with our 2 night tour / camp in Corcovado Nacional Park. We spent 3 nights here
@ Lookout-Inn Lodge afterwards. Words can't explain how natural this place is.
Scarlett Macaws flying over you, monkeys in the trees close enough for you to
touch and directly across from playa Carate. Not that we didn't have enough hiking in the park we took a few more self guided hikes around the property, kayaked in the lagoon and enjoyed the beach as well. Or we just layer in a hammock poolside or on the deck in the main building listening to nature and the waves crashing on the beach.
We loved happy hour with Terry & Katya our hosts. The food was top notch for being
out in the middle of the forest or anywhere in country with now electrical,lines or cell coverage. Plenty of food after a long day of hiking. Can't say enough about the place except can't wait to return and book the NEW PENTHOUSE room.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and you can hear the waves crashing on the beach from all rooms
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

New York New York -- lots of wonderful things come out of the big apple -- thanks for sharing your vacation with us here at the lodge .. and hotel jimenez tooooooooooooooooo-- happy holidays to you all and love for you to return .. the penthouse will be waiting for you ... ter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

We loved Lookout Inn! If you like being close to nature and don't need four walls you will love this place. Terry and Katya are tremendous hosts. We had two rooms- the Butterfly and the Honeymoon. Butterfly is higher up and commands a terrific view of the tree tops and the ocean. There are a couple of nice chairs and ample room for two- they were going to do some work on an attached space so it'll be even larger. The Honeymoon has more room plus two hammocks and it's own little pool. It's lower down (closer to the beach) and also has great views. If you want monkeys coming into your room the Butterfly is probably better. You'll see Toucans and Macaws from any room. Rooms don't have four walls- you are looking out right into nature (but don't worry about privacy).

The food is superb. Terry does a lot of the cooking but the chef is terrific. We had sushi, lasagna, ribs, chicken, mahi mahi, tuna as main dinner courses. There is always a salad, soup, and bread. There is always other food too. Desserts were great. Everything is made there and made fresh. Fish were caught by locals.. My wife is a very picky eater and she ate everything offered (she wasn't going to try sushi though- so Terry cooked the fish for her).

Lookout is located right next to Corcovado. There are some really nice hikes right from Lookout- one to a waterfall (4 mile round trip), one called the Stairway to Heaven (just two miles but it is very steep on the way down!)- it's trail does sometimes disappear but we had no trouble picking it back up. Terry will arrange a guide for Corcovado too, or anything else you might want to do.

So is there anything not to like? For us, no. This is not a corporate hotel, It's an eco-hotel- so lighting was minimal in the room and wifi was out the whole time but they have a good selection of books and some games. Terry and Katya are around all the time and very helpful. The staff is wonderful- we wanted to bring Bernie and Esteban home with us (Bernie makes a great Tico Sour (try it!). It's Costa Rica so everyone is really nice.

We look forward to returning to Lookout!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rems112015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

hello rems your back in the cold all ready -- we all miss you guys so you need to start planning your next escape and hang out with us again at the lookout inn... BBQ pork tonite and apple pie -- and it finally rained on us tooooooooooo .. again thanks for sharing your vacation wit us terry and katya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

We absolutely loved this place! Do your research before driving to Carate, Costa Rica such that you understand where you are staying. There are no stores or anything. Its about 1.5 hours from Puerto Jimenez on a dirt road that can be slow going and a little rough. We had to cross 5 streams and small rivers to get there (literally drive through them), but that is the fun of it! If you love being in nature, nestled right in the middle of the jungle, walking distance from Corcovado National Park and forests then this is for you! The resort is Eco-friendly and everything runs on solar power. The cabins are nestled right in the trees with views of toucans, scarlet macaws, monkeys and other animals right outside. We saw so much wildlife right at the resort and on the surrounding trails. The cabins are private in the sense that they are not right next to each other but scattered throughout the property. Most of them including ours, seemed open right to the jungle with netting. The insides were kept really clean given you are right in the jungle. Terry, the owner, was super friendly and was always there to ensure the guests were having a good time. Given the remote location, it was amazing to see the resort actually has a bar with smoothies, drinks, sodas to keep you refreshed after a hike. Bernie was super helpful, making us smoothies and helping us getting our guide and tickets to go into Corcovado. Again, given the fact that you are in the jungle, the dinners and food was 5 star!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BountifulShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

hey shane... thanks for the nice review-- we all here at the lookout inn thank you for visiting us - and hope you have a wonderful holiday season.. come on back some day and see us again... thanks so much terry and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Just returned from another trip to Lookout Inn, Costa Rica and I felt like I was welcomed to my second home. Hosts, Terry and Katya, personally showed me to the most beautiful cabin on the mountainside, Blue Butterfly. With a view to the Pacific and surrounded by the the jungle it was very private yet open aired. Once again the meals were creative, delicious, and nutritious. I left feeling healthy and refreshed.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Luanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2015

yes a wonderful time the second time -- great to have u2 guys visit us again 3rd times a charm so we shall see you again ok??? all is well here in the tropics its finally raining a bit but this ''el nino'' has kept us dry at least on this beach of carate-dont forget to visit our lil hotel in puerto jimenez in the future a great stop over before you make the adventure to our off the grid location bye of now and thanks again katya and terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015

We spent 5 nights at the Monkey House - it is just unbelievable... Surrounded by nature, wonderful animal watchings any- and everywhere... We didn't make a step without binoculars or camera, even not to the bathroom ;-)
Food was just gorgeous. Buffet style, very good, plenty of it, for us as vegetarians even specially set up.
The staff was VERY good, friendly, helpful, attentive and interested in our wellbeing. It was the perfect stay at an unbeatable location.
Just one "but": For a good sleep have earplugs with you. The waves are really very, very loud...
And: People going to places "like that" should be aware that there might be differences in comfort (ac, wifi, hot water) to "at home". We didn't mind, it's part of the experience to get distance to the daily routine.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zh-frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

thats the truth -- if you need A/C you may want to go to a resort that has all those ''back home '' pleasures if your looking for adventure / wildlife / beautiful trees and flowers / a black sand remote tropical beach book here at the lookout inn and yes the food is wonderful we have a great chef// baker --and possibly the best ocean / rain forest views ever -- thank you for the nice review terry and the team ---- and now till march 17th OCEAN SUNSETS and u may see the ''green flash''

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews