We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place!”
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2008

It's a diferent place to stay at. There's no electricity!!

While staying here you feel at home.

The owners are nice, friendly people. They make breakfast, lunch and dinner for everyone.
Every guest eats at the same time in the same big table.

Terry is a funny (little bit crazy) guy!! :-)

You shuold take the "stairway to heaven" and a frog excursion with Felipe!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for Lookout Inn Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 497 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2008

I had a fantastic time! I went by myself and during the rainy season when most people don't so I got a lot of attention from Terry and Katya. I stayed 8 nights. The place is really cool. I stayed in a treehouse called the Swing Inn. It was all open but I didn't even get a mosquito bite. Terry relayed that people smell bad so no animal wants us as there is plenty better out there for them!...I hope. What a great tale to tell when you get home, tho, and a great memory. (They also have all-enclosed rooms.) I fell asleep each night to the breaking surf or rain, of course, and woke to birds at sunrise. Coffee was waiting and lots of it. Views from my room were of the ocean and beautiful foliage. The Swing Inn had its own large bathroom area and plenty of hot water and American Standard toilet; a living room area with a hammock; and of course the rope bed. Either Katya or her kids were always willing to go on hikes with me. The whole area is like Gilligan's Island, describing it doesn't do it justice. No one's on the beach for miles. I went horseback riding, hiked to the waterfalls, lagoon (which opened to the ocean due to all of the rain - something to see!), Corcovado, and walked baby turtles to the ocean. I only had one really rainy day which is when I got a facial and pedicure from Katya that were great. Meals were delicious (we had baby shrimp the day the lagoon opened to the ocean) and dinners were served upstairs by candlelight. Of course, animals everywhere. I'll be back with my niece and nephew next year and wouldn't hesitate to go back during the rainy season either.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sirena333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

We spent 6 days in Feb. at the Lookout Inn. We had planned our whole vacation from information off the Inn’s website, from choosing rooms to arranging flight times. Once booked, the Inn arranged for our taxi from Puerto Jimenez to the Inn, and back when we departed. You can fly from Puerto Jimenez to Carate (close to the Inn) but we would recommend the hour and half taxi just to see more of the area.
This was our first visit to Costa Rica and we weren’t sure what to expect, the website had a lot of information, but you’re just never sure the place will live up to its description. It did.
We stayed in the Monkey House, up the side of the hill with magnificent views of the jungle and ocean. It will be our first choice on our return visit. Meals were included in the price, and oh what meals! Fresh fruits, juices, vegetables, fish, breads and desserts. The gracious owners, Terry & Katya were available every day for visiting, answering questions or arranging side trips.
We spent most of our days on the beach, ocean kayaking, hiking in the jungle, lazing in the pool and visiting with the other guests. With only nine rooms the group was small and we spent as much or as little time with other people as we wished. No matter what we were doing we saw the most beautiful plants and flowers, exotic birds and animals: from monkeys to macaws, to humpback whales and more.
It was a wonderful adventure from beginning to end, and we hated to leave. We will return.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IdahoWorldtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

When we visited Katya was away and Lookout Inn was being run as a one man operation (with minimal staff), run on a shoestring.
No hot water was available during our stay.
Food was mediocre, no snacks were available. Cold drinks were only offered at meals and consisted of one flavour of mixed fruit juice from a tetrapak. Fresh fruit juice was not available. Leftovers were served from previous meals. Coffee was only available at breakfast.
Bedsheets were not changed during our 3 day stay.
The tiny pool was very dirty and no guests appeared to use it during our stay. The signage at the pool is insulting and belongs at a kids summer camp.
There are very limited grounds to walk on, just stairs everywhere.
The beach is close and the huge waves are great to hear, but swimming here would appear to be very dangerous.
We left a day early feeling that we received very little value for the exorbitant cost of this lodge. ($360/day for the swing inn)
It was wonderful to see so many Scarlet Macaws throughout Carate, but in this price range there are certainly better options.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank sueosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

It is easy to refer to this place as "Terry and Katya's", instead of the Lookout Inn.
Once we got there, it did not take long for Terry to make us feel right at home here and comfortable with the other guests (Katya showed up later after taking care of some business in P. Jimenez, the nearest town).
The lodge is not for those expecting TV, internet, phone, airconditioning, elevators, etc The structures are all very unique; Terry keeps working on something all the time; when we were there, the roof was being replaced, resulting in the 3rd level of the lodge being inaccessable for us. The construction did not hinder the guest's enjoyment though.
The lodge is solar powered, using batteries for storage to power the 12 volt lights once it gets dark. If you like to read after dark, consider bringing a LED headlamp; lights are not abundant. There are no ceiling fans; a small fan at the head of the bed provided enough cooling though. The only 110V outlets seem to be in the kitchen/sitting room of the main lodge; you can recharge your camera batteries, ect. there. Don't bother bringing a hairdryer.
Animals were everywhere; the excellent "youtube" video on their website is very representative of what you can expect.
The beach is endless, but was very hot in the afternoons; the waves huge and loud. Don't plan on swimming out very far.
A guide showed up at breakfast, for $15 a person he'll take you on a hike in the area; he was great and informative!
The best part of the day were the late afternoons, when most guests would sit at the bar, surrounding the kitchen ,where Terry and his staff put together the most wonderful meals and Katya mixes the best drinks.
It is easy to turn in early at night. If the waves don't wake you up, the animals will at daybreak, around 5, 5:30.
We stayed 4 nights, I would recommend no less to fully enjoy the place and make it worth the lenghty trip over there.
Katya will arrange for either the 1.5 hour taxi ride from and to P. Jeminez or an much faster but more expensive aircharter. The Nature Air flights to Jeminez by the way were a wonderfull way to see the country; they fly low and have huge windows.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingDutchman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
2.4 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
18.9 km away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
19.5 km away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
19.5 km away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
544 reviews
19.5 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Address: Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range: €52 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing