We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The fondest of memories!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luna Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luna Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The fondest of memories!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I recently came across our pictures from a family vacation to Luna lodge--about 10 years ago. Our son wanted to see the rain forest "before it was all gone". I'm so glad to see that Lanna and the forest are alive and well on the Osa Peninsula. when we visited there were three cabins. the transportation was a fifteen year old truck with a rickety wood bench in the back--we did have to push a few times going up from the beach! There were bugs and toads and lizards and monkeys threw fruit on us and we went fishing with strings. We had a difficulty timing our return trip from the forest because alligators were gaurding the river. No phones, TV, Video games for a whole week with a 13 y.r old boy-hell? Hardly, the best trip we've ever taken. It sounds like things haven't changed too much except for the pool and the land rover. This trip is not for everyone but go with a light wardrobe, bring bug spray and have a trip of a life time. Looking back at our pictures makes me want to return! Thanks for the great memories.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    21
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
59
121
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Come for the abundant wildlife. Come for the primary virgin rainforest, or for the hundreds of rare and beautiful tropical birds, the thundering waterfalls, the black sand beach, or a hike in the famous 42,000 acre Corcovado National Park. Just come. It is the trip of a lifetime; one you will never forget. Book your stay in one of the 5 tents that are tucked into the forested hillside and you will literally be in the middle of the rainforest - one of the few "wild" places left on this planet. This is a very small establishment - only 25 to 30 guests at any given time - so the personal attention from the staff is outstanding. The guides are knowledgeable and experienced. The meals rival any fine restaurant - dinner is family style and lots of fun. You get to know the other guests - you eat with them, hike with them, swim with them - I made many wonderful friends from all over the world. Our favorite activities were the Night Hike with Gary and the Waterfall hikes with Osa (the resident dog). The spa treatments and the morning Yoga are not to be missed! I swam in the pool every morning - many times I had it all to myself! My words of advise - bring WATER SHOES. Also, the trip in and out is LONG - so leave plenty of time for travel. Our vacation was 6 days, but we really only had 4 days on the OSA because one day on each end was travel. I wish we had booked a couple more days! There is an airstrip at the bottom of the hill from Luna Lodge - use the air taxi to get in and out - it will save you hours of slow ground travel on bumpy roads. But any way you get there it is worth it!!

Room Tip: If you are going to visit the rainforest, go all the way and stay in one of the tents - the wildlife...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoHoosiers002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We were lucky to travel to Luna Lodge at the same time as "60PercentTravel" and his family and second his accolades for this incredible experience. Our kids (aged 9 and 10) flourished in the freedom that the lodge environment offered -- no room keys; come and go in total comfort and security because of the wonderful and welcoming staff and the gorgeous place. Having other families with children there was a total plus and made the very long hikes great fun. After the long hike down the beach to Corcovado National Park (7 miles round trip), the kids enjoyed playing in the water (no sharks or crocs there that day!) and were building little coconut shell boats for the thousands of hermit crabs to take across the river. They were enjoying nature while we hunted for hawks and other wildlife in the vicinity. We also took the small plane into the park - Sirena, the ranger station - and wholly recommend it. Alvaro the pilot is like a cross between Indiana Jones and Porco Rosso (Miyazaki character) and Gary was a patient, knowledgeable and keen guide. We did not take advantage of the yoga or the massages but I heard they were phenomenal! We did find our own treasure trove of parrots each early evening around 5 in a tree near the yoga deck. There are a few great hikes right from the lodge including a waterfall hike guided by Osa, the amazing "responsible" and smart dog who my daughter fell in love with! Osa tolerated well all the tight hugs and close attention even though you could tell they made her a little uneasy! The bungalows are so well designed that I found myself thinking about the process that Lana must have gone through to design this resort. Having no key (there is a safe available in the main lodge) was incredibly freeing and absolutely no reception for anything electronic was beyond wonderful. The pool was refreshing and set well near views and beautiful birds (hummingbirds too were everywhere!). It took about a day to get our right lenses on to be able to see and hear all the wildlife right around us. The lodge is set about 1/2 mile up in mountain and up a river (and a very fun AWD ride through river and tent camps of the gold miners!) from the beach which is not swimmable due to current, rocks, riptides. We very much enjoyed the people who are also attracted to such an outoftheway place (only about 40 guests maximum) and learned about avocado farming in Mexico City from an Australian! Lana and her staff tried hard to make New Year's Eve very fun and the pinata and attention to the kids was much appreciated. I'm not sure when the last time I've seen adults play musical chairs but great fun and laughter was had by all! Our daughter turned 9 while were there and Lana had a special cake made and everyone sang to her as she blew out the candles. Not enough can be said about Lana and her wish for the preservation of the rainforest and her role in exposing the world to this incredible place. Lana, her mom Willie, Gary and all of the staff went far out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and having a wonderful experience -- everything from meals to excursions. Each time you arrive back to "campus" from an excursion, you would be met by Lana or another friendly face with refreshing cold drinks and an inquiry about the experience. We have been to Costa Rica several times before but this was our visit to the Osa and we can't recommend Luna Lodge more highly for a beautiful and meaningful get away.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Traveling with a 12 and 9 year old can sometimes require finding a place so magical that the kids are transfixed with wonder. Luna Lodge is that place. About 20 minutes before the sun rises, the Howler Monkeys begin their morning call. That's the time to sneak down the the pool, when the sun breaks, the tree just past the pool is a favorite spot for a pair of Toucan to begin their day. By the time you have finished your coffee (available by 6AM) it is likely you will have spotted 10-20 different species of tropical birds - without leaving the pool deck chair. As the scarlet macaws complete their morning passes, head up the stairs to the breathtaking yoga deck - your view will extend from the valley out across the Pacific...and it's only 7AM !!
Our kids trekked along the beach, across the mountains, through the rain forest - with joy - amazing animals, insects, reptiles, flowers, birds around every corner. At home a 1 mile walk stretches the limits of their hiking interest. With another couple (2 kids -9 &11) our guide took us up the beach into the park - 7 miles and 8 hours later - we were back for dinner. After a day of playing in the lagoon, watching baby spider monkeys eat bananas, our oldest couldn't wait to go on the Night Hike after dinner !!
One of the most special day trips was the quick flight to the Ranger Station with Gary (guide) by plane (Lana kindly made the arrangements). This allowed us to be in the heart of the rain forest for a day, watching a tapir sleep, a herd of peccaries grazing, the basilisk lizards running across a creek, fantastic butterflies, giant iguanas basking in the sun, blue morphos flittering around our heads. My favorite moment was standing along the Sirena river mouth (about 20KM from Luna Lodge) 6-10 foot crocodiles were slowly cruising by - as waves broke in the ocean and rolled up the river - the fins of sharks were easily visible. With a quick splash one of the shark struck on a river fish -right in front of us. Amazing. Oscar (Guide) took us fishing and we asked for a quick casting lesson. Oscar took the pole, demonstrated the proper grip - with a quick flick - the lure was in the surf - followed with an immediate strike and an 18 inch snook for dinner.
At the end of 5 days, our son's only request was that he be allowed to stay a live a Luna Lodge, our daughter wanted us to promise to return again "next year". For my wife and I the fantastic Spa, great social environment, delicious fresh food, excellent accommodations made the entire experience wonderful.
Lana, Willy, Oscar, Javier, Keller, Gary, Carmen, Xian - what a wonderfully pleasant staff !! Knowledgeable, helpful, sociable - and a couple of very serious pinata strikers !! The New Years party was a blast - I think Lana has been practicing her pinata swing. Our fellow guests were from all over the globe with a broad range of interests - meals were a combination of delightful service, delicious food, and enjoyable conversations.
Yes we would go again - if traveling for the first time suggest bringing - water shoes, extra socks, fast drying clothes, flashlight, comfortable yoga clothes. Great for romance, bird watching, trekking, soul expansion, and revitalizing life spirit.
We brought our twittering, facebook, xbox kids and left watching them do their tree pose as the sun set over the mountain. Priceless !!

Room Tip: Both the Hacienda and Tents are completely enclosed - the Bungalows have a fantastic design - intent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 60PercentTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Ny niece and I stayed at Luna Lodge after just on a whim deciding on the Osa Peninsula. At the end of the road, well, up the hill, AFTER the end of the road, is this oasis. But do not be fooled by the beauty of what Lana, the owner, has created. You are still in the rainforest, and will experience such beauty and wonder, and will come to know your own insignificance in the world, even after a few days. It is a once in a lifetime experience.

So, you are always wet, and the best way to dry your clothes is to wear them! Bring lots of socks, and an extra pair of shoes. I ended up leaving mine there, as they would not dry, and packed with mud. Be prepared for early morning hikes, wonderful massages-really, we had one every day-and realizing that everything around you was there before you! The bungalows are partially open, so be prepared to check you shoes and the toilet and sheets before you crawl in. On the other hand, showering in the open garden(private), swimming in the pool-lovely, sinking into the hammock-and seeig something new and different at any given moment is an experience not to be missed. This is not a place for those that have a physical disability, unless you just want to relax and enjoy the decks. You must always hike up to your room, and thereare steps. Flashlights are a must-I slept with mine-anduse bug spray. I came home with Scabies-I am sure it was from all the river hikes-but they were quickly cured after a trip to the doc and an overnight cream.

I would recommend Lluna Lodge for the beauty, the experience, the committment that Lana, the owner, has made to our earth. I learned alot, relaxed alot, and yet was busy every moment. Hiking the Corcovado, kayaking the the lagoon with crocs, beautiful birds, and meeting lovely Tico's, was just a dream. I also believe i was there with the previous reviewer.

Enjoy

Room Tip: no spa, but a beautiful beyond words deck overlooking the canopy to have the best massages by Rosie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
36.1 km away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
34.9 km away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
20.8 km away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
2.4 km away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
34.3 km away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Lodge

Property: Luna Lodge
Address: Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the tropical rain forest bordering Corcovado National Park, Luna Lodge is a unique resort described by many as "...a piece of true paradise". Its appeal is, not only, its natural beauty and environment, where the heliconia hang three feet long, and the howler monkeys wake you in the morning, but also, its ambiance. The owners' passion for the preservation of the forest is ever present, and the attentive courtesy, friendly staff always serve "con mucho gusto... with pleasure". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Luna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Carate
Luna Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing