We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
16 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$207
Expedia.comUS$207
FindHotelUS$207
eDreamsUS$207
CheapTicketsUS$207
TravelocityUS$207
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,275)
Filter reviews
2,275 results
Traveller rating
2,071
155
25
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,071
155
25
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buena vista jean carlo private beach personal concierge bedroom villa jungle house boogie boards costa rica pura vida select villa dinner reservations tule cafe family pool shuttle service every morning three bedroom family vacation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
671 - 676 of 2,275 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

So, I'm on a big family vacation in Costa Rica right now (there are 8 of us). Roiner with Arawak Adentures was our driver from San Jose to Tulemar, our guide through Manuel Antonio Park, then our driver again from Tulemar to The Arenal area. In total, we've spent about 12 hours with him so far, and he has been fantastic.

Roiner is an incedible guide and is very knowledgable about pretty much everything in central America: plant life, animals, biology in general, geology, geography, industry, etc. As well, he is an incredibly nice guy, safe driver, and all around good human.

If you plan a trip to Costa Rica, I highly recommend Arawak and Roiner, specifically.

Now on to Tulemar. This place rocks. Andreas was our concierge, and he was superb. He checked in on us regularly, made sure we had everything we needed, led us on a couple walks around the grounds and down to the beach, and pointed out sloths, monkies, various birds and interesting plants and trees.

The premium villas are very nice and well appointed. They were very clean with great balconies and views, comfy beds, huge showers, washer and dryer, full kitchen, and all the other goodies.

The private beach is small, but fun, with lots of kayaks and boogie boards for use. There are lots of monkeys, sloths, and beautiful birds on the property, including scarlet macaws.

The cafe on the property has good food and service, but the falafel joint across the street is stellar. I definitely recommend that place.

In all, Tulemar is a great resort. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Bryce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaChris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you Bryce, for your review and stay with us at Tulemar Resort! Sounds like you had a good guide in CR glad you enjoyed and that we could be apart of it. Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in one of the Select Vllas for our honeymoon vacation. Staying here was the best decision we could have made. As soon as we made it to the resort we were greeted by our personal concierge Jean Carlo. He did an amazing job at making us feel welcome and at helping us with anything we needed. He gave us his phone number and would text us with reminders about our excursions and would set up reservations if needed. He did a great job!

The resort itself is amazing. If you enjoy wildlife this is the place to be. We saw 3 species of monkey, sloths, toucans, macaws, iguanas and more all on the resort or from our balcony. The room we stayed in was great as well! Very spacious and the view from the balcony was amazing! The monkeys would play on our porch every morning. They have a nice beach and offer a shuttle to and from the beach. You can walk to the beach, but the hills are very steep so the shuttle service is awesome especially on the way back up.

Everybody that works here is amazing and friendly. The restaurant is very nice with an amazing view. They set up our excursions and had transportation ready for us. All we had to do was show up at the pick up time and have fun! Overall this place is the best I have ever been. We will for sure be coming back in the near future!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dchapasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaChris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Well I can't ask for more than that: "Overall this place is the best I have ever been. We will for sure be coming back in the near future!" Thank you dchapasko, for your "best honeymoon experience" an congratulations on your nuptial! We look for ward to hosting you again! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Tulemar Resort is truly amazing place. Staying in Tulemar Resort is like staying in Manuel Antonio National Park in a luxury house. We had a beautiful view of ocean and forest from our bungalow, and we were delighted to see white faced monkeys from our room. Tulemar offers a private beach where we ocean kayaked and boogie boarded, free of charge. In addition, we were greeted by monkeys, hermit crabs, and sloths through the property.

Aside from the wildlife and views, what made Tulemar truly stand out was the great service provided by friendly employees. Jean Carlos, our concierge, was friendly and accommodating. He gave me his number to reach out to him any time. Over text, he recommended many great tours and restaurants to us, and he made reservations for those tours and restaurants. When we had to make last minute change in tour, Jean Carlos was able to make changes to the reservation, even with a short notice. Throughout our stay, he continuously checked in on us, asking how he could help. He was always available to help, even on his day off!

I also want to thank Rudy (the shuttle driver) for his outstanding service. With a friendly smile, he gave my family and I rides to beach, reception, and our room. Our kids enjoyed practicing Spanish with him, and he was willing to the extra mile to help out in many different ways.

Overall, I highly recommend Tulemar for the beautiful views, the opportunity to encounter rain forest animals, and the awesome customer service.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V7034LKdennisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaChris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you Dennis, for your warm review and for choosing Tulemar Resort for your family vacation. This recommendation says it all: "Overall, I highly recommend Tulemar for the beautiful views, the opportunity to encounter rain forest animals, and the awesome customer service." Thank you again! Pura Vida, Chris!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We stayed a week at the Tulemar Resort. It was awesome! Best vacation ever! The rooms were amazing and Murial keep them that way. The views from the balcony were exceptional: Macaws, Sloths, Monkeys and beautiful flowers and lush greenery everywhere. All of the staff was so helpful especially Orlando, the concierge. He was the Best! He helped us to get information on things we were interested in doing while in Costa Rica and made sure there was someone there in time to bring us to the event and to pick us up. The restaurant at the resort was great; breakfast lunch and dinner. We had a wonderful time and are looking forward to our next vacation in Costa Rica at the Tulemar Resort.

Room tip: All of the rooms have a great view.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank joettek2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaChris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you joettek2018, for your 5 star review for choosing Tulemar Resort as your vacation destination and most of all for having the"best vacation ever!" with us! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

I can not say enough wonderful things about Tulemar Resort. The views are breathtaking. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. The wildlife is amazing and plentiful. The food at the poolside restaurant was great for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Many times we were able to enjoy watching the monkeys play while we ate. The chef even prepared a delicious dinner with the fish that my son and husband caught that same day. The villas are gorgeous. Our villa had a private jacuzzi, and a spectacular view. There is a shuttle bus that will take you anywhere on the property if you choose not to walk as there are some very steep inclines. I would also like to thank, Orlando, our personal concierge. Orlando made our stay at Tulemar even more special by booking excursions for us and driving us into the nearby town of Quepos for shopping. He also made sure my daughter, who got stung by a jellyfish, was ok and was ready to call a doctor if we needed one. (Thankfully, she was ok and we didn't need a doctor) He even translated for us when my husband lost his phone and we needed to call the taxi driver in which he lost it in. I would HIGHLY recommend Tulemar Resort. It is absolutely amazing and deserves 6 stars instead of just 5. :-)

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 357susanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaChris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you Susan, for your review and for staying with us at Tulemar Resort for your vacation! Glad you enjoyed the hookit and cookit option for dinner at Tule Cafe. Most guests who do an inshore fishing excursion will bring home some tasty fish for supper! and even off shore excursions often hook tasty fish for supper. Jelly fish are not abundant, but if you are hit, here in Manuel Antonio they are very small and it is unheard of to need a doctor. Just nice to know one is close if you need one, thanks Orlando. Thank you Susan for the enthusiastic review! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews