We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveller rating
623
121
51
23
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
623
121
51
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean club sunspot restaurant private beach infinity pool personal paradise costa rica every morning our honeymoon golf cart romantic getaway the main road low tide view of the ocean front gate pool restaurant main pool walked down
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 843 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

10/10 recommend this hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed at villa#7 the beginning of September.
This is their slow time of year so we almost had the whole hotel to ourselves. It gave us the chance to really get to know the staff. Everyone was so helpful. From the second we arrived I knew we made the right hotel choice.
Darwin greeted us like we were family. He informed us of every aspect of the hotel and we knew we could call him if their were any issues we had.
Brian took our bags to our room and drove us around on the golf cart. There is private beach access. Again, we had the whole beach to ourselves and Brian made sure we were comfortable.
Jorge was exceptional. He was our waiter the first night we got there and immediately needed to know his schedule the whole time we were there to make sure we saw him as much as possible. We spent much of our time at the saltwater swim up bar drinking pina coladas and talking with Jorge. Everyone there speaks English by the way.
Louis and Amanda and Diego were also great. They informed us of the area and once again made our stay very enjoyable. There is happy hour every night and amazing appetizers. You really don’t need to leave the hotel at all. Unless of course to go zip lining and go on the catamaran excursion, which I highly recommend. We scheduled these excursions at the hotel. They had a shuttle service set up for us so it took away all the stress of planning your vacation. Once you book your excursion they tell you where to be and at what time.
We also did a couples massage which was beautiful. I do wish we had the option to get a massage outside. There was a beautiful set up over looking the ocean. There was also a jacuzzi, shower, and what looked like a sauna all in the spa. We did not use these amenities but really wish we could have. It very well could be that we didn’t book a massage that allowed you time to soak up the whole spa experience, but also did not see a selection for that when booking the spa. I do recommend looking into that if you are getting a massage.
Finally TJ was very accommodating. He made sure our experience was above what we expected.
Clearly we really liked the staff here :)
The hotel itself is beautiful. It feels almost as if you are in a luxurious tree house in the rainforest. All the details of the design and decoration was so unique. I actually took pictures because I want to try to do something similar in my own home.
Overall the experience was great. The staff made us feel like we were visiting our own family in Costa Rica but the hotel, amenities, and detailed decor made for a very exclusive and luxurious vacation.
We loved Hotel Makanda so much we were ready to book our next trip before we even left.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Guest Relations Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Dana,

We would like to express our gratitude for your kind words towards the hotel, staff and surrounding. We are all blessed to work in this paradise and we appreciate when customers tell us that their expectations were exceeded and they had a wonderful time here. As as organization that focus on customer satisfaction it is very rewarding to find out that all of our staff members provided you a top quality service combine with the Costa Rican "Pura Vida" vibe to create magical moments that will turn out in an unforgettable experience. We loved the fact that you could interact with pretty much everyone from our team so you could see the different personalities but maintaining our professionalism and outstanding work-ethics, we will make sure that all of them get the recognition they deserve for being friendly, attentive while you were here.

As part of our continuos improvement program we appreciate feedback because we understand is a great opportunity to make processes better and more efficient so thank you for the comments regarding the spa services. We are not sure if you noticed it but we are building a new spa and we hope it will be ready in about 2 months, we are bringing new services, techniques so the menu will change approximately in a 70% so we will make sure to add all the selections so our guests can have a spa experience.

We would love to hear back from you soon, and in case you decide to visit us again let us know in advance to send you our special discount package for returning guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

My husband an I needed some RnR desperately. We could have not asked for anything better, Makanda was everything we hoped for. Starting with our villa (villa #1) was just jaw dropping beautiful; the kitchen, mini bar, restroom, closet, living room, bed, rotating TV, jacuzzi on our balcony than ran across the entire villa and my favorite the amazing view of the jungle and the ocean. We are not morning people (specially on vaca) but we actually looked forward to an early five star breakfast by the pool. We enjoyed sitting poolside enjoying the views plus nature at its best with monkeys playing near by, parrots and huge beautiful butterflies. Needles to say to say the staff went far and beyond for our needs. I don’t think we ever hear a NO it was always a yes, sure, no problem. I have to mention I was never a sunset person but again the view of them from Makanda were breathtaking. We will be back next year for sure.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EssieMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Guest Relations Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent visit to Makanda. We are extremely pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time during your holidays, it is great to find out that every detail of the room and the hotel in general caught your attention; because they were all thought-out to exceed everyone of our guests expectations.
Customer satisfaction is the cornerstone of our organization, all of our staff works hard to deliver a top notch service to create magical moments and unforgettable experiences; the word no does not exist in our workbook. We always come out with solutions to satisfy our guests needs and make their stay as pleasant as possible.

We would love to have you back again, let us know in advance to send you our special discount package for returning guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

From the minute we arrived we knew we were in a very special place. We were greeted with a fresh tropical drink. Darwin in the office made you feel right at home the minute you checked in. The rooms and views are stunning! The restaurant and pool staff were outstanding. I cannot say enough about the Makanda. It is heaven on earth! Can't wait to return!

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Guest Relations Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear Sue,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent visit to Makanda. We are extremely pleased to find out that you enjoyed your time in the hotel and that you liked our facilities and that our staff make you feel like home. As an organization that focus on customer satisfaction we are proud to hear that your expectations were met allowing you to have wonderful holidays.

We would love to hear more from you and in case you decide to visit us again in a near future please inform us in advance to provide you our special discount packages for returning guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We recently just stayed here at Makanda and can I just say wow! They made our anniversary trip well worth it. The honeymoon room with its own pool was breathtaking and the views were perfection. They helped my husband coordinate a perfect anniversary dinner with a perfect dinner and surprise flowers. The staff was absolutely helpful and went above and beyond to make you feel welcome and safe. We really enjoyed the stay here at Makanda. One persons we really appreciated was Luis who we quickly made friends with.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dianam563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Guest Relations Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Dear Diana,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent visit to Makanda, we are extremely pleased that you decided to make us part of this special time in both of your lives. As an organization focussing on customer satisfaction we work hard to exceed all of our customer needs and combining a high quality customer service with the amazing facilities we have to create unforgettable moments in the memory of everyone of our guests. We will pass your kind words to all of our staff members to motivate them to keep working hard and as attentive and friendly as they do.

We love love to keep hearing from you and if by any chance you decide to visit us again, we can prepare a special discount package to you for returning guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

No joke your stay at Makanda is a once in lifetime experience! This place is amazinh. The staff, the pools, the food, the rooms, and dont forget the VIEW! A staff member named Bryan assisted me through my staff at Makanda with recomendations of the town! Thanks Makanda!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mauriece H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Guest Relations Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Mauriece,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent visit to Makanda, it was a great pleasure to have you and taking care of you. We are pleased to find out that you have a wonderful time during your holidays. The organization works hard to provide a top notch customer service combined with the incredible facilities to create unforgettable moments in all of our guests. We will make sure to recognize Brian for the outstanding service he provided you.

Thanks again for sharing your experience with us and with future guests so they can realize how amazing this place is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews