We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
624
121
51
23
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
624
121
51
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean club sunspot restaurant private beach infinity pool personal paradise costa rica every morning our honeymoon golf cart romantic getaway the main road low tide breakfast is served pool restaurant main pool view of the ocean front gate
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 844 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Secluded location in Manuel Antonio Area, Luxury hotel with Luxurious rooms. We stayed in the Villa #9 with a private pool and a breathtaking beach views. The room was beautiful and featured a full kitchen and luxurious bathroom with sunk in tub and an open shower. Gourmet Breakfast is included at the restaurant or room service. One of the best massages we have got at the shanty spa.Highly recommend this hotel for special occasions and anniversaries.

Room tip: Villa #9 or 10 Is amazing.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101barakn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Guest Relations Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Customer,

It is great to hear you had a wonderful time in our hotel. We took special attention when designing the rooms to make them unique and use recycled materials from the area in order to maintain our green values. Thanks for visiting us and hopefully we can see you in a near future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

The hotel and staff were so warm and welcoming. My husband and I arrived on a rainy evening and were warmly greeted at check in. We were very impressed by the modern styling of the room and the resort grounds were well kept. The resort was designed to fit into the side of the hill resulting in a tree-house like feeling. The rooms are very clean and the beds/pillows were very comfortable. Every staff member that we met was friendlier than the next.

Both pools were great and had beautiful views of the ocean. They aren't kidding when they say the trip to the beach is steep! Though they offer rides in the golf cart, we welcomed the challenge and decided to walk it. The beach is a beautiful, peaceful volcanic sand/rock beach, though it didn't seem well suited for swimming. We ended up going to the National Park and Playa Biesanz to swim in the ocean.

When we booked our trip, we were skeptical that the three nights were worth the expense, but it SO WAS! I would highly recommend this hotel. My only suggestion for future travelers, who are foodies like me, is to venture offsite for meals, especially dinner. While the food was fine, it wasn't impressive especially for the cost and it didn't seem to offer many local dishes. Though I have to say the different juice offering each morning at breakfast was lovely.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catelyn0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Guest Relations Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear customer,

We are pleased to hear you had a magnificent time in our hotel, especially that we were able to provide you the Costa Rica "Pura Vida" vibe. As you noticed the property is in the middle of a secondary tropical forest making us the one only to offer direct access to an untouched private beach, allowing customer to spot, monkeys, sloths and other animals typical of the region.

It was lovely to have you here and hopefully we can see you here soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

When you think of a Tropical Paradise ,one of the first places that comes to mind is Costa Rica. And if I think of a Private Paradise ,all I think about is my Private Dream Paradise Vacation at Makanda!Majestically located, a sanctuary for nature lovers, overlooking the Pacific
Ocean ,this luxury hotel and the stuff so charming and stylish, made it an unforgettable experience for us.On arrival I couldn’t resist but the first thing I did was to whip out my phone and snap the hotel extraordinary modernist architecture.The reception, restaurant, spa all juxtaposed against bright blue skies and a seemingly infinite Ocean! Visually striking, we stayed at the Deluxe suit ocean club ,the room was spectacular, very specious with stunning vast windows that offer a grand view of the surroundings ,with a nice large balcony, very private, overlooking the ocean! The bed is huge and comfortable ,waking up to the most stunning views.Breathtaking! The bathroom is large and very chic, designed for pampering ,with a range of the amazing Molton Brow, London cosmetics ,the beauty connoisseurs only found in five-star hotels, stylish homes and high end department stores across the world.There is also a private beach, with direct access so unique, a bit hard to get to, just make sure you go on low tide and also feel adventurous enough to enjoy the hike down through the jungle ,so worth it, and possible to see wildlife, howler monkeys ,sloths.Food was spot on , fabulous,especially the sushi at the sushi swim up bar by the Ocean club salt water pool! Delicious breakfast from a large menu of options and lots of healthy choices,and the juices were so fresh,loved it! The atmosphere is extremely relaxing,The infinite pool is Divine.One in a life time experiences when I longed by the spectacular infinity pool, set within the pristine jungle,i was immersed in the sounds of nature ,birds and the stunning scenery of the Pacific
Ocean ,gazing out on such gorgeous sight under the golden sunset, while sipping on one of Makanda signature cocktails.Pure Bliss! Our stay at Makanda was Magical❣️
If you want an amazing experience stay here, best place! Everything was GREAT ! Do yourself a favor and spend a week! This place is real Paradise on Earth!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Guest Relations Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear customer,

It makes us feel exceptionally proud to hear about your wonderful time at our hotel. The tropical rain forest surrounding us plus being one of the few hotels having direct access to an untouched beach give us the opportunity to excel in our customer service tasks. We are happy to hear that you appreciate all the details we offer and the best part of it was that you had a great time.

We definitely look forward to hear from you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Makanda by the sea for 3 nights at the sea at the start of May. First impression of the hotel was that the staff were very helpful and our room was beautiful. A couple of minutes after we arrived a family of monkeys came right up beside our room which was amazing, and the view was gorgeous. We loved sitting out in the chairs at the front and looking out, because it was the start of rainy season it was great to watch the storms rolling in over the sea!
We visited the private beach on an evening just before the sun went down and it was lovely and quiet, really peaceful.
I loved the breakfast, the juices were always really nice! We had a meal in the restaurant one night and although it was a little expensive the steak was delicious.
The guy working on the smaller bar (not sure of his name but I think he said he was about 21) was really friendly and chatty.
We did the jet ski tour organised by the hotel and it was really good fun!
The only negative (did not affect how much we enjoyed our time at Makanda) was my boyfriend had emailed the hotel before our stay about it being my birthday when we arrived and no one had got back to him, I also sent a message on instagram about horse riding tours but I didn’t hear anything back either.
We really enjoyed our time at Makanda and for anyone wanting a nice peaceful boutique hotel in Quepos it’s perfect - I’m a travel agent so I will be sure to recommend it to my Costa Rica customers!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Missbowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Guest Relations Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Customer,

We are are fortunate to hear you had joyful time during your stay. We work hard to offer a top quality customer service and are glad it had a good impact while you were staying with us. With this said, we deeply apologized for the misunderstanding about your birthday and the activity you wanted to book. It is fair to say that due many companies do not offer a fair treat to animals we try to create conscious in our customers to not support such activities.

Thanks for staying with us and looking forward to hear from you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Our room was an Ocean view room with a jacuzzi on our veranda overlooking the ocean. The management made sure we had all we needed and were most helpful and special to us. The Sous Chef, Roberth, was excellent at his craft. We had lunch at the Sushi Bar which is in the Salt water pool. He made some exceptional sushi creations... Delicious!!

The breakfasts were the best we've had in Manuel Antonio, and our Dinners were very good, especially the steak. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Be sure to get an ocean view room, preferably with a spa/jacuzzi or private pool. Worth it!
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sharli6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Guest Relations Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Customer,

Customer satisfaction is the cornerstone of the organization and we look forward to offer top quality service accompanied with the breathtaking views the hotel has to offer. We are delightful to hear your time at our hotel was fantastic and we wish you 50 more years of love, happiness, peace and, health.

Hopefully we have the honor to have you here again in a near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews