We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villabosque
Nearby Hotels
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$313
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Byblos Resort & Casino(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costa Verde(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Karahe Beach Hotel(Manuel Antonio)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Makanda by the Sea(Manuel Antonio)
US$299
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$337/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
192
108
29
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
108
29
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parksquirrel monkeysrooms are smallcosta ricastayed here for two nightsperfect locationfirst floorlovely hotelpublic beachrestaurant staffstaff was very friendly and helpfulminute walkhappy hourplaya espadillawithin walking distancethe hotel offershot water
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018

The hotel is approx 100 metres from the beach along a busy side road which leads to the National Park entrance.It's a motel style-two storey complex around a small central garden which also acts as the bus car park. On the first floor there is a small, clean and very warm swimming pool with loungers. The room had two large, comfortable beds but little space to open suitcases on the floor. There was a safe, aircon unit and a de-humidifier which all worked well. The TV only had CNN in English. Breakfast was fine and there was a good spread. There was a bar and some entertaining squirrel monkeys plus a passing iguana. All the staff were very helpful and the hotel had a good feeling to it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Gerente at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

At Hotel Villabosque we are very grateful for your comments, every detail that we mention is considered to improve and offer our customers the best service and quality that has characterized us for more than 25 years. As you mention, our location is spectacular only 100 meters from the wonderful Manuel Antonio National Park. At Hotel Villabosque our guests will always receive a positive energy from all our staff that always stays attentive to all the needs of our customers. Thank you very much for your visit, we hope you come back soon.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights accidentally because our travel agent screwed up our hotel reservation . Ms Helen C. Took us in with a pleasurable attitude. The restaurant staff was also
hospitable. The location of the hotel is worth the price coz it is close to Manuel Antonio National park, beach and many
Restaurants! Although the hotel offers basic amenities, I will still highly recommend it to anyone who will visit
Manuel Antonio area! We also met a young kid who is so adorable and loving, he was entertaining my kids while we wait for our shuttle. Hugs & kisses to Aidan!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank 2016chrisc888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Gerente at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you very much for such a nice recommendation, for us it is a pleasure to serve you in this beautiful place just 300 meters from Manuel Antonio National Park. We also send a warm greeting to such a nice family .. a hug.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This hotel is at the lower 'beach' end of Manuel Antonio (which is a resort mainly built along a winding main road, with other hotels and restaurants not far from the road). It is very close to the National Park entrance (a short walk) and quite close to the beach.

Our room was nice but not over-large (although it had two double beds). Service and breakfast were very good. The bar was nice. The first night we got there it suddenly poured with rain so we ate in, and the food was very good, nicely served and quite reasonably priced.

There is a small swimming pool upstairs, that was very nice - with a view of the trees of the National Park - and where you could hear howler monkeys and birds.

There are lots of restaurants further back up the hill in Manuel Antonio, but we preferred to walk to local restaurants very nearby - and some were very nice - so we had no problems there.

A great place to stay to enjoy the National Park (and it's beaches) and the area.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Gerente at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hotel Villabosque greatly appreciates your comment, it was a pleasure with our work. As you well know, Villabosque Hotel is located in the best location of Manuel Antonio just 300 meters from the entrance to the Manuel Antonio National Park, this makes it much easier for customers who want to visit without the need to travel long distances. We hope to see you again, thank you very much for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Stayed here for two nights, to visit the national reserve

Really liked the hotel, excellent and friendly staff, nice food, large portions
Breakfast super, with biscuits and snacks also available to take with you for the day.
It's a nice little place, "quaint" is the word.
The rooms aren't vast but they're comfortable
Honestly not sure about wheelchair accessible options but there were ground floor rooms
The monkeys walking alone the wires are a treat, as is the bird life
It's about 200 metres from the national park one way, and probably around 300 mt to the main road, with its shops, cafes, restaurants etc.

The resort is a bit "sea Sidey"
If you drink or eat at the restaurants make sure you are aware of how much to pay
(Two ladies on our tour were nearly badly overcharged)
But all resorts can be that way for the unwary to be fair.

Food is restricted in the national park, check that out online
But it's beautiful - monkeys, birds, raccoons,agouti walks in the wooded paths and superb sandy beaches, all in all a lovely day out
There are naturally no shops or cafes in the reserve, but there are water stops, toilets and showers apre sea/beach

Watch the monkeys and raccoons they'll steal anything !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ideal for the reserve, out the gate, turn left
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mrdirect51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Gerente at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear guest, we appreciate your comment regarding the service and facilities we offer in Manuel Antonio, our location is one of the best in the area, we also strive for our customers to live a unique experience, we will improve the recommendations, we hope they come back to visit us soon, a pleasure to receive you, thank you very much for staying at Hotel Villabosque.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

we stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our trip to CR for some beach time. the hotel was perfect for us- light airy room (on the first floor), with two large, comfortable double beds. The hotel is just set back from the beach along a side road and is only 200m from the national park too. It was small, friendly and close to everything. you can also hire towels for the pool and beach.
a great place to finish off our trip

Room Tip: choose a room on the first floor as they are lighter
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SAWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Gerente at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you very much for commenting on Hotel Villabosque, it is very important for other people to have a place near the beach and the wonderful National Park Manuel Antonio, we hope to continue providing the best service to our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews