We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
194
110
31
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
110
31
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationnational parkhappy hour offerpretty hotelsquirrel monkeyssmall swimming pooleggs made to orderexpensive hotelmain beachfew minutes walkreally enjoyed our stay herestayed here for two nightscosta ricafirst floorrooms are smallstaff was very friendly and helpfulrestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights accidentally because our travel agent screwed up our hotel reservation . Ms Helen C. Took us in with a pleasurable attitude. The restaurant staff was also
hospitable. The location of the hotel is worth the price coz it is close to Manuel Antonio National park, beach and many
Restaurants! Although the hotel offers basic amenities, I will still highly recommend it to anyone who will visit
Manuel Antonio area! We also met a young kid who is so adorable and loving, he was entertaining my kids while we wait for our shuttle. Hugs & kisses to Aidan!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank 2016chrisc888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Gerente at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you very much for such a nice recommendation, for us it is a pleasure to serve you in this beautiful place just 300 meters from Manuel Antonio National Park. We also send a warm greeting to such a nice family .. a hug.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This hotel is at the lower 'beach' end of Manuel Antonio (which is a resort mainly built along a winding main road, with other hotels and restaurants not far from the road). It is very close to the National Park entrance (a short walk) and quite close to the beach.

Our room was nice but not over-large (although it had two double beds). Service and breakfast were very good. The bar was nice. The first night we got there it suddenly poured with rain so we ate in, and the food was very good, nicely served and quite reasonably priced.

There is a small swimming pool upstairs, that was very nice - with a view of the trees of the National Park - and where you could hear howler monkeys and birds.

There are lots of restaurants further back up the hill in Manuel Antonio, but we preferred to walk to local restaurants very nearby - and some were very nice - so we had no problems there.

A great place to stay to enjoy the National Park (and it's beaches) and the area.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Gerente at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hotel Villabosque greatly appreciates your comment, it was a pleasure with our work. As you well know, Villabosque Hotel is located in the best location of Manuel Antonio just 300 meters from the entrance to the Manuel Antonio National Park, this makes it much easier for customers who want to visit without the need to travel long distances. We hope to see you again, thank you very much for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Stayed here for two nights, to visit the national reserve

Really liked the hotel, excellent and friendly staff, nice food, large portions
Breakfast super, with biscuits and snacks also available to take with you for the day.
It's a nice little place, "quaint" is the word.
The rooms aren't vast but they're comfortable
Honestly not sure about wheelchair accessible options but there were ground floor rooms
The monkeys walking alone the wires are a treat, as is the bird life
It's about 200 metres from the national park one way, and probably around 300 mt to the main road, with its shops, cafes, restaurants etc.

The resort is a bit "sea Sidey"
If you drink or eat at the restaurants make sure you are aware of how much to pay
(Two ladies on our tour were nearly badly overcharged)
But all resorts can be that way for the unwary to be fair.

Food is restricted in the national park, check that out online
But it's beautiful - monkeys, birds, raccoons,agouti walks in the wooded paths and superb sandy beaches, all in all a lovely day out
There are naturally no shops or cafes in the reserve, but there are water stops, toilets and showers apre sea/beach

Watch the monkeys and raccoons they'll steal anything !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ideal for the reserve, out the gate, turn left
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mrdirect51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Gerente at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear guest, we appreciate your comment regarding the service and facilities we offer in Manuel Antonio, our location is one of the best in the area, we also strive for our customers to live a unique experience, we will improve the recommendations, we hope they come back to visit us soon, a pleasure to receive you, thank you very much for staying at Hotel Villabosque.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

we stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our trip to CR for some beach time. the hotel was perfect for us- light airy room (on the first floor), with two large, comfortable double beds. The hotel is just set back from the beach along a side road and is only 200m from the national park too. It was small, friendly and close to everything. you can also hire towels for the pool and beach.
a great place to finish off our trip

Room Tip: choose a room on the first floor as they are lighter
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SAWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Gerente at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you very much for commenting on Hotel Villabosque, it is very important for other people to have a place near the beach and the wonderful National Park Manuel Antonio, we hope to continue providing the best service to our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

We arrived at Manuel Antonio which has three of the best beaches I have ever been to. The hotel is well situated, close to the beach and the nature reserve. It has good facilities and was a great place to stay. Everything was good, my only criticisms would be the breakfasts were not of the same standard as others on the trip, also the Happy Hour offer was lack lustre and the cocktails do not represent good value for money.
We had our own happy hour on the front watching a beautiful sunset.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Discover651117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Gerente at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

In representation of Hotel Villabosque we are very grateful for your comment, we will consider your suggestion to offer you a better service in your next visit. A hug from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews