We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family vacation with all the extras”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tulemar was the perfect place for our family holiday. The resort is teeming with wildlife in the most beautiful setting you could ask for. Chris, our concierge, ensured our stay was easy and wonderful. The villas were beautiful and very separate. With restaurants, pools, room service, etc you have the amenities of a hotel but the convenience of having a full kitchen makes for a perfect combination. We definitely were not there long enough and plan to go back next year and bring will bring more of the family to see this wonderful place. We can't wait to come back.

Just don't confuse this place with 'Tulemar Resort' in the same area but is actually a different resort with much more rustic accommodation at a higher cost.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room. I think they all have beautiful ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lollyb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Your Host at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

BOOKING NOTICE – We don’t list our special and unique villas that you read about on these reviews with ANY of the online booking sites. Reviewer’s favorites like the Mirador Escape....Tulemar Bamboo Villas, Casa Panorama, Villa Mot Mot, Casa de Frutas, etc can ONLY be booked with us directly at tulemar.com. If you’re booking thru an online site, you’re not booking with Tulemar Dave. Chat, call or inquire on our website for rates and availability and let us help you choose the best accommodations in Tulemar!

Hi Lollyb70....thank you for the five star review on your stay in Mirador Escape...so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.....Mirador Escape is perfect for couples or families with young children.....a separate bedroom with king bed.....bath.....living(with a pull out trundle bed)/dining/full kitchen....plus a large balcony....all with panoramic ocean views.....and it is located close to one of the 4 pools.....and just a 5 minute walk down to the Tulemar Beach...thanks for the comments on Chris...one of our Tulemar Super Stars.....working hard to make sure you have just the vacation you're looking for....we look forward to your return next year with more of the family! Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 2,468 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Casa Mirador which had amazing views of the ocean. I can say that there were no better views on the property than what we saw daily. The wildlife that you see is incredible. From howler monkeys to over 30 sloths on the property, we were never bored. The beach was perfect. Our boys loved boogie boarding. David at the beach was so friendly and helpful. Our concierge Chris Madigral was an amazing host. He made sure every detail of our trip was perfect. I would highly recommend requesting him to be your host. From coordinating adventure excursions to dinner reservations, there was nothing he said he could not assist in. Several days we were surprised to find a delicious desert in our house after a return from the beach. He even allowed us to dine at his restaurant! Amazing local food with a twist. Truly a magical place and one our family will never forget.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Your Host at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Bryan H....thank you for the 5 star review of your stay in Casa Mirador in Tulemar...and thanks for mentioning the services of Chris...one of our Tulemar Super Stars.....he really does do more than what we ask (and we ask a lot!) for our guests....because he wants to....he wants all of his guests to have exactly the experience they are looking for.....an active vacation (he knows the best tours/guides/activities) or a relaxing one (he knows the best shady spots under the palms at the beach!)....Chris wants all of his guests to enjoy and love Costa Rica as much as he does.....a true Tulemar Star.....glad to hear that you enjoyed Casa Mirador as well.....the view is stunning.....the location is perfect.....and the personal attention that Chris dedicates to this villa puts a smile on everyone's faces.....thanks for booking with us at tulemar.com.....the only place you'll find Chris and Casa Mirador....as we don't list this villa on any of the of the online booking sites.....hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Many details shared in previous reviews, so I'll just mention highlights for us. Fantastic family vacation... stayed in a bungalow, spacious, well maintained, spectacular sunset views. Wildlife everywhere was definitely an awesome experience, coffee at Tule Cafe with the monkeys every morning ....where else can you do that folks? Sloth walk with Robyn was excellent. Outstanding staff, from our superb concierge Mauricio who checked in on us every single day... to the genuinely friendly waiters Lester, Manny, Omar and others. One day my son forgot his ipod in the shuttle, minutes later Jean Carlo , the driver, was at our door returning it ! Food at TuleCafe was delicious...try the daily seafood special. Kayaking, boogie boarding at the beach was tons of fun. We will be back!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Asa326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Your Host at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Asa326...thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows....they really do have spectacular sunset views...with windows all around.....perched on the hillside surrounded by jungle...some of the best overall views in the whole of Tulemar...and thank you for mentioning the services of Mauricio...your personal concierge and Tulemar superstar...you truly made the day of every staff member you mentioned...thanks again for booking with us at tulemar.com and for the review....we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in the Buena Vista 1 bedroom Villa (#306) for our anniversary after a friend told us about Tulemar. We loved it so much, we will be back next year! From the deck we saw 3 types of monkeys, iguanas, a scarlet macaw, and so many other birds! Every morning we would sit on the deck with a cup of coffee, and watch the wildlife move through. The view from the deck was just as good as some of the restaurants we went to to see the sunset... So several nights we made pina coladas with the blender in the villa, and stayed there instead of going out. The villa has a small kitchen with everything we needed to make a few meals when we didn't want to go out. We went on the 'sloth walk' and saw 10 sloths on the Tulemar property alone. If you are interested in seeing monkeys and sloths, this is the place for you!

From the moment you get there, the staff is incredibly welcoming. Andres was our personal concierge, and he was fantastic. We didn't need much, but he was willing to book excursions, dinner reservations, give us advice on where to eat, and anything else we needed. But really, every single staff member we met was wonderful, from the waiters to the gardeners! They are all genuinely nice people who made our stay even better.

The beach was at the bottom of the big hill that Tulemar sits on. We would usually walk down to the beach, and take the free shuttle back to our room. The beach is in a beautiful, secluded cove, and has everything you need. From beach chairs, to umbrellas, to kayaks and boogie boards, there was no reason to go to any other beach. The water was incredibly warm, and with the bar and food service there, we spent 5 hours straight there one day!

My husband and I have travelled the world together, and rarely go back to the same place since we want to experience as much of the world as we can. Tulemar was so wonderful, we will be going back next year for our anniversary!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chelsea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Your Host at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Chelsea P....thank you for the wonderful review on your stay in Tulemar...I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us....now you know the truth behind our slogan "Tulemar - Where Nature Lives"......all three types of monkeys.....both types of sloths......majestic birds like the scarlet macaws and toucans......and exotic reptiles.....staying at Tulemar is like living in the jungle....because it is.....lol…and thank you for mentioning Andres...your personal concierge and one of our Tulemar stars...and for the kind words on the rest of our staff...we look forward to seeing you on your return to celebrate your anniversary...thanks again for booking with us at tulemar.com and for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Such a unique place in a perfect location. We truly enjoyed our trip. The resort was right in the rainforest with direct access to the ocean. The owners truly show that they value nature and the preservation of the forest. We will return with our kids just to share this with them. The staff was great everyone from our concierge to the waiters at the restaurants to the receptionist. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Your Host at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kim P...thank you SO much for the five star review of your stay in Tulemar...I am glad to hear you enjoyed your trip.....and thanks for mentioning our wildlife.....we have two special committees within Tulemar dedicated to their preservation and growth....our "Nature and Wildlife Committee" and our "Tree Committee" that helps preserve their habitat....in addition is our partnership with The Sloth Institute of Costa Rica…and thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff...thanks again for booking with us at tulemar.com...we really appreciate the review and look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
1.1 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,637 reviews
0.3 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#10 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,513 reviews
1.1 km away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
606 reviews
2.3 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#18 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: €125 - €287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing