We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Makanda by the Sea(Manuel Antonio)
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mango Moon Villa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villabosque(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$398
US$386
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,821)
Filter reviews
2,821 results
Traveller rating
2,644
131
28
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,644
131
28
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa panoramavilla mot motboogie boardscasa de frutasprivate beachconcierge chrisvilla cielitobamboo villacosta ricazip liningprivate chefgarden housedinner reservationspersonal conciergegrocery storebrowniesquirrel monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
2,599 - 2,604 of 2,821 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Wow. Wonderful view, wonderful service from all the staff at Tulemar. There are so many wonderful things about this place - the private beach, the wildlife, how friendly everyone was, the privacy, you name it!

In summary, after staying here, there is no other place we could imagine staying in Manuel Antonio. This was by far the most amazing place we've ever stayed. To avoid repition of other reviewers, I will keep my review brief, but if you have the chance, don't miss out on this place!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We stayed for 3 nights on the first floor of Villa Mot Mot. The Villa and surrounding property was amazing. We had a great view of the ocean and surrounding tree tops right from our balcony. The property features its own private beach and the allowed use of kayaks, snorkling gear, lounge chairs, body boards, and towels was so convenient. The on site resaurant was great and they will deliver your food to you on the beach if you desire. We saw more wildlife here on the property than in the park. We watch spider monkeys play right from our own balcony and saw four sloths in one day not to mention a handful of birds. This first floor Villa is great for the solo traveler or for two. The property manager Diego was so helpful and very welcoming. The rest of the staff was also great. You won't regret a stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julez_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

This is the lower unit of one of the bungalows, and a wonderful place to stay for two people; cannot comment on any other bungalows or Tulemar options, of course. The wet bar/microwave area was sufficient for our (very) short-term needs, and the decor (granite, comfortable large bed, quality linens) was nice. The bathroom was quite large enough (plenty of towels, amenities, good shower and tub), the closet was a plus, and the deck had a beautiful view (and 4 chairs and table). Most of the windows look out on (ground level) greenery, one has a partial ocean view. A very quiet air conditioner, ceiling fans, and windows that cross-ventilate give several options, depending on the temperature and humidity.
The private beach for Tulemar was a lovely feature; the location, very near Manuel Antonio, a plus. The breakfast looking over the ocean was very nice, and the room service (it was raining REALLY hard!) was fast and very reasonably priced. One caveat: the short walk from the bungalow up to the parking space or restaurant could be problematic for any with health issues or difficulty walking. Transportation down the hill to the beach (and I presume back up) is provided; there are parking spots at the beach if you chose to drive your own car.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

A group of ten women who graduated from high school together in Denver, Colorado over thirty years ago came together for five nights in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to celebrate their fiftieth birthdays together. The secluded, beautifully landscaped Tulemar contains a beach on the property, accessed by a steep hike which takes about ten minutes to walk on a paved road. Alternatively, visitors can call the concierge for a shuttle ride down to the beach. The beach is attended by the warm and accomodating David, who takes care of your need for towels, chaise lounges, umbrellas, boogie booards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and other beach toys. With it's proximity to the equator, the weather in Costa Rica ia a predictable 80-90 degrees farenheit almost every day of the year. The ocean water on this visit in June is so warm and temperate that several of us have made swimming in the ocean for an hour at a time a high priority each day. The sand is soft- grey in color, the water blue, and the lush foliage of the jungle embraces the cove and is home to wildlife that are easy to spot. Sloth, cappucian monkeys, titi monkeys, kudamunda, a wide variety of colorful birds all made an appearnace on property. Surprisingly, we did not find Costa Rica very "buggy." Aside from a few mosquito bites, they did not bother us at all. Each afternoon when our group of ten went down to the beach, there were fewer that 10 other guests at the beach. Several families with small children were on property, and the villas seemed to equally acomodate reuning friends, families, and couples seeking a romantic retreat.
We stayed at the Buena Vista Luxury Villas at Tulemar. The three bedroom, four bath villa itself was truly spectacular. The decor is spare and very tasteful-- the star attraction being the canopy of trees and flowers that surround each standalone villa. Our 3-bedroom had three floors. The common space on the first floor had marble floors and a hexagon-shaped livingroom. Nearby were a powder room, compact but very useable kitchen, and small sleeping nook that could be used as a lounge or semi-private bedroom. We spent as much time as possible on the spacious terrace, complete with dining table, b-bque grill, lights, fan, hot tub, and up close views of the jungle canopy. Birdwatchers and lovers of flowers and trees, the occasional monkey show and the night-after-night gorgeous sunsets can find the terrace time so enjoyable they don't want to leave. Bedrooms were on the two levels below the entry, but were still above ground as the pagoda-shaped villa was built into a steep hill. All bedrooms had bathrooms with indoor-outdoor showers- spacious enough for two and decorated with natural pebble walls and slate flooring. Our group of ten has been very comfortable here for four nights. We have cooked and eaten in more than we expected to, beacuse we love the spacious pleasant ambiance and feel so lucky to be in what feels like a natural spa retreat setting.
The property also contains several pools--the one closest to our villa was the"adult pool," perfect for our group. The freshwater infinity pool was beautifully designed and landscaped. Again, rarely was anyone there, and it provided a serene retreat for readers, sunbathers, or anyome wanting to take a quick dip after the short hike up from the beach.
We used the great concierge services, valuable because we did not rent a car and we needed to select excursions that included transportation with hotel pick-up. Zipline adventure and snorkel cruises were booked by the concierge, as well as a couple of very good dinners. When we wanted to go to the national park, and to shop in town, he advised us to take the city bus and we did so and appreciated the chance to save some money.
As we depart from this country where the people are so warm and the setting so extraordinary, we are all feeling refreshed, renewed, and very grateful!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We just returned from a too short 7 day tour of CR. We've traveled to a lot of beautiful places but found CR and Manuel Antonio to be one of our favorites. Luckily, we found Villa Mot Mot on VRBO and fell in love with it. It's beautifully decorated with 180 degree views of the ocean. The monkeys visit in the AM and the amenities of Tulemar- pool, restaurant , private beach & friendly staff made our stay easy and fun. The best part of our trip was a guided tour of MA & zip-lining- both arranged by the owner's assistants- Diego & Chris. Wow, what great guys. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtngals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews