We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely AMAZING, Almost Perfect, Much better than I expected from the reviews.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2009

There is just so much to say about this hotel....its pretty much perfect.
The private beach is not just a little strip of sand and water, like we had expected. It was REALLY BIG like its own little bay, with its own beach bar that has all the drinks from a regular bar. You can rent kayaks and snorkel gear, and they have towels there.You can looks at the tidepools in between the rocks (our 9 year old loved that) in low tide, and find some really pretty shells. The walk down and back to the beach is 10 minutes, but you can take the shuttle bus if you want. If you walk you can see lots of animals. We saw the dead body of an orange and blue land crab, along with a bunch of squirrel monkeys on the walk down, and on top of the beach bar tent. We also saw iguanas sunning themselves on the beach.
We stayed in a premium bugalow and it was amazing. Its octoganal design made it so you could see beautiful sunsets and nature. It can accomodate up to six people, but in bungalow 113, I slept on the day bed and trundle bed and got all these weird bites (we think they were spider bites), that I stopped getting when we came home, so they werent bed bugs. But all the other beds were fine. The little kitchenette was great, and the pool had a spectacular view. Because its so near to the restaurant, the restaurant will serve you drinks while you sit in the pool watching the sunset.
the restaurants food is spectacular.
All in all, stay there or you are REALLY missing out.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brennan_Family_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,259 - 2,263 of 2,467 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2009

Wow. Wonderful view, wonderful service from all the staff at Tulemar. There are so many wonderful things about this place - the private beach, the wildlife, how friendly everyone was, the privacy, you name it!

In summary, after staying here, there is no other place we could imagine staying in Manuel Antonio. This was by far the most amazing place we've ever stayed. To avoid repition of other reviewers, I will keep my review brief, but if you have the chance, don't miss out on this place!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We stayed for 3 nights on the first floor of Villa Mot Mot. The Villa and surrounding property was amazing. We had a great view of the ocean and surrounding tree tops right from our balcony. The property features its own private beach and the allowed use of kayaks, snorkling gear, lounge chairs, body boards, and towels was so convenient. The on site resaurant was great and they will deliver your food to you on the beach if you desire. We saw more wildlife here on the property than in the park. We watch spider monkeys play right from our own balcony and saw four sloths in one day not to mention a handful of birds. This first floor Villa is great for the solo traveler or for two. The property manager Diego was so helpful and very welcoming. The rest of the staff was also great. You won't regret a stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julez_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

This is the lower unit of one of the bungalows, and a wonderful place to stay for two people; cannot comment on any other bungalows or Tulemar options, of course. The wet bar/microwave area was sufficient for our (very) short-term needs, and the decor (granite, comfortable large bed, quality linens) was nice. The bathroom was quite large enough (plenty of towels, amenities, good shower and tub), the closet was a plus, and the deck had a beautiful view (and 4 chairs and table). Most of the windows look out on (ground level) greenery, one has a partial ocean view. A very quiet air conditioner, ceiling fans, and windows that cross-ventilate give several options, depending on the temperature and humidity.
The private beach for Tulemar was a lovely feature; the location, very near Manuel Antonio, a plus. The breakfast looking over the ocean was very nice, and the room service (it was raining REALLY hard!) was fast and very reasonably priced. One caveat: the short walk from the bungalow up to the parking space or restaurant could be problematic for any with health issues or difficulty walking. Transportation down the hill to the beach (and I presume back up) is provided; there are parking spots at the beach if you chose to drive your own car.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

A group of ten women who graduated from high school together in Denver, Colorado over thirty years ago came together for five nights in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to celebrate their fiftieth birthdays together. The secluded, beautifully landscaped Tulemar contains a beach on the property, accessed by a steep hike which takes about ten minutes to walk on a paved road. Alternatively, visitors can call the concierge for a shuttle ride down to the beach. The beach is attended by the warm and accomodating David, who takes care of your need for towels, chaise lounges, umbrellas, boogie booards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and other beach toys. With it's proximity to the equator, the weather in Costa Rica ia a predictable 80-90 degrees farenheit almost every day of the year. The ocean water on this visit in June is so warm and temperate that several of us have made swimming in the ocean for an hour at a time a high priority each day. The sand is soft- grey in color, the water blue, and the lush foliage of the jungle embraces the cove and is home to wildlife that are easy to spot. Sloth, cappucian monkeys, titi monkeys, kudamunda, a wide variety of colorful birds all made an appearnace on property. Surprisingly, we did not find Costa Rica very "buggy." Aside from a few mosquito bites, they did not bother us at all. Each afternoon when our group of ten went down to the beach, there were fewer that 10 other guests at the beach. Several families with small children were on property, and the villas seemed to equally acomodate reuning friends, families, and couples seeking a romantic retreat.
We stayed at the Buena Vista Luxury Villas at Tulemar. The three bedroom, four bath villa itself was truly spectacular. The decor is spare and very tasteful-- the star attraction being the canopy of trees and flowers that surround each standalone villa. Our 3-bedroom had three floors. The common space on the first floor had marble floors and a hexagon-shaped livingroom. Nearby were a powder room, compact but very useable kitchen, and small sleeping nook that could be used as a lounge or semi-private bedroom. We spent as much time as possible on the spacious terrace, complete with dining table, b-bque grill, lights, fan, hot tub, and up close views of the jungle canopy. Birdwatchers and lovers of flowers and trees, the occasional monkey show and the night-after-night gorgeous sunsets can find the terrace time so enjoyable they don't want to leave. Bedrooms were on the two levels below the entry, but were still above ground as the pagoda-shaped villa was built into a steep hill. All bedrooms had bathrooms with indoor-outdoor showers- spacious enough for two and decorated with natural pebble walls and slate flooring. Our group of ten has been very comfortable here for four nights. We have cooked and eaten in more than we expected to, beacuse we love the spacious pleasant ambiance and feel so lucky to be in what feels like a natural spa retreat setting.
The property also contains several pools--the one closest to our villa was the"adult pool," perfect for our group. The freshwater infinity pool was beautifully designed and landscaped. Again, rarely was anyone there, and it provided a serene retreat for readers, sunbathers, or anyome wanting to take a quick dip after the short hike up from the beach.
We used the great concierge services, valuable because we did not rent a car and we needed to select excursions that included transportation with hotel pick-up. Zipline adventure and snorkel cruises were booked by the concierge, as well as a couple of very good dinners. When we wanted to go to the national park, and to shop in town, he advised us to take the city bus and we did so and appreciated the chance to save some money.
As we depart from this country where the people are so warm and the setting so extraordinary, we are all feeling refreshed, renewed, and very grateful!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
1.1 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,635 reviews
0.3 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,511 reviews
1.1 km away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
605 reviews
2.3 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: €126 - €288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing