We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Moon Villa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villabosque(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$398
US$386
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,824)
Filter reviews
2,824 results
Traveller rating
2,646
131
29
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,646
131
29
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa panoramavilla mot motboogie boardscasa de frutasprivate beachconcierge chrisvilla cielitobamboo villacosta ricazip liningprivate chefgarden housedinner reservationspersonal conciergegrocery storebrowniesquirrel monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
2,486 - 2,491 of 2,824 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed at Casa Panorama North during the week of March 21 and had the BEST time!! My fiance and I travel to Mexico often and decided to try something different with Costa Rica. Everything we hate about staying at big Resorts is avoided here at Tulemar!
No daily resort fees, no vendors hawking on the beach, no timeshare haggling, no arm wrestling over beach chairs. :-)

Our concierges were Diego and Melissa, and they were excellent. Melissa helped set us up with a Mangrove Kayak tour, showed us where to see the sloths on the property, and gave many great restaurant suggestions. Diego was a very good concierge, we had lots of fun with him! He took us to the grocery store to get celebration drinks, introduced us to the staff, drove us to the Quepos airport amongst other things, and we were able to meet his gorgeous wife! They introduced us to a fun group from Kentucky staying at Casa Las Nubes and took all of us surfing on a beach near Manuel Antonio. It was this personal relationship that set the service above and beyond our expectations.

As for the property, many of those details are covered in previous reviews, and I did not have any negatives to complain about. I cannot wait for our next trip to Tulemar, we have already been talking about coming down with a larger group to stay at one of the larger properties.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pluma002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Thanks for your post on Casa Panorama and your remarks on Diego and Melissa....our villas are wonderful....Tulemar is great....but it's the personal touch of service that makes it all so special! We loved having you as guests and look forward to your return.

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Our group of 5 spent a week of bliss at Casa Panorama (not north). We were greeted at the gate by Diego who gave us a tour of the property at Tulemar Gardens with it's scenic pool and private beach. A large bowl of fruit was left for us as well. The rooms were very nicely furnished. The views were amazing! We made good use of the kitchen as we shopped for food in the local markets of Quepos. We comfortably ate breakfast every morning at the Casa and were greeted by white face monkeys who put on a show. Melissa the concierge made dinner reservations for us at Kapi Kapi, which was very good. Diego got us a last minute car reservation which we used to explore the areas of Playa Matapalo, Dominical, Uvita, Playa Ballenas, and Ojochal. We also made sure that we made time to enjoy all that Casa Panorama had to offer. Relaxing and kayaking at the beach, taking a late afternoon dip at the infinity pool while being entertained by a group of squirrel monkeys who were playfully wrestling with each other. Sipping wine while watching the great sunsets from our patio was the perfect way to relax at the end of the day . Being a photographer and nature lover I was particularly impressed by how much wildlife was on the property. Sloths in trees-just ask the workers where they are. Hundreds of hermit crabs on the beach. While walking down on the main path to the beach I saw an armadillo, a blue morpho butterfly, a group of howler monkeys, and a Motmot, all within 5 minutes of each other. Our group was also buzzed by a really big vulture. It circled us 3 times, the last time getting to about 10 feet of us.
Dave Houck and his staff had everything running smoothly and we all had a great time. I am posting some images with this review and you can see more of my Costa Rica photos at my website... http://www.geraceimages.com/Site/Photo_Galleries/Pages/Costa_Rica_1.html.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGerace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

First, let me say I am a hotel snob and have stayed at many 5 star hotels around the world. My husband, our 17 yr old daughter and I recently stayed at Casa Panorama North lower level. Our concierges were Melissa and Chris, and I just can't say enough good things about them! Melissa was our main point of contact at the resort, as she is taking over Chris' job since Chris is extremely busy as a personal chef for families staying at the resort. Melissa showed us around Casa Panorama and went through information about the resort and the amenities available. She coordinated all of the day trips/tours we planned before we arrived (which we did through Tulemar), provided us with a wake up call every morning, and even took us to the grocery store--talk about personal service! She also arranged all of our taxis and recommended a local restaurant in Quepos for our last night out. We booked through the website 4Tulemar.com and spoke with Dave. Make sure that you stay at one of the properties managed by Dave Houck and/or Diego for personal service and attention. Would highly recommend and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncbeachlover149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Thanks for posting your comments.....our Casa Panorama villas....Upper and Lower....are very popular and have amazing ocean views....but I loved how your review was all about our service....which is SO important to us....that's what we're all about......Melissa is new and it's nice to hear she's following in the same tradition as Diego, Chris, Julien and Mauricio.....thanks again and we hope to see you again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We booked through Dave at www.4tulemar.com and the reservation process went smoothly. Soon after we were contacted by Julien Buralli, Consierge, who offered his services and sent interesting reference materials pertaining to Manuel Antonio and Costa Rica. Upon arrival, nothing could have prepared me for what I saw...pure heaven. Bungalow #111 was simply incredible and visited by monkeys and mot mot birds every morning. Three amazing nature trails on property. We spotted four sloths on a night walk. Private beach with kayaks, snorkling equip, bar and lunch. AMAZING staff! We will definitely return next year...so romantic and beautiful!!! Pura Vida!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerridyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Thanks for your review......the Tulemar Bungalows are great.....tropical, rustic decor with ocean views and lots of wildlife visits.....windows all around makes you feel like you're living in the jungle...because you are! Julien makes your trip easy and always has a surprise or two for you....hope to see you back.

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I wish we had spent more time on the beach. Our breath was taken away when we arrived. The kids played in the sand and surf while we marveled at the backdrop. The homes are nice, perfectly described. Our family was comfortable and our son got a kick out of the kitchen area, determined to watch me cook for him. (didn't happen).
While there were plenty of computer glitches, this was not the fault of the hotel. This sort of thing happens whenever one is far, far away from the hustle, bustle and rush of urban living. That's why we're on vacation.
The management was helpful, and respectful of our desire to be independent.
The property was changing over, with the upper restaurant abandoned. This gave us and an other group a private pool to enjoy.
We enjoyed Tulemar. Everyone is still talking about the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viaggiamo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Yes! The Beach....just exactly what you would expect a tropical beach to be......gentle waves....great for boogie boards.....warm waters.....lounge chairs.....umbrellas....sea kayaks....towel service.....a shuttle to your villa and lots of monkeys! Even food and beverage service...just sign the check! Glad you enjoyed the pool too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews