We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. What a place!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We have never felt compelled to post a review here before, but we just returned from our stay at Casa Ylang Ylang and it is truly a magical place. We booked our stay through Dave at [--] and were delighted to find that our casa was exactly as described in the materials on-line. The accommodations and surroundings are gorgeous. There were many opportunities to observe wildlife up close while on the grounds. We spotted white-faced capuchins, squirrel monkeys, and even a two-toed sloth in the trees while walking around the resort. We also had white-faced capuchins playing on our balcony some mornings. What a treat! Our concierge, Mauricio Jara, could not have been more helpful in making our trip an exceptional one. We enjoyed ziplining, sportfishing, and a great horseback ride to a waterfall. Mauricio helped us arrange for a private chef one evening and we ate in with friends. It was absolutely delicious, very reasonably priced, and we had leftovers for the next day! Throughout our stay, Mauricio checked in with us, sought feedback on how we were enjoying the casa and activities and offered suggestions for restaurants and sights. On our last evening there, he even brought over a huge plate of freshly-baked chocolate brownies, which we all devoured. He was a kind and thoughtful host and helped to make our stay extraordinary. Thank you Mauricio and Dave!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2011

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments.....Casa Ylang Ylang is a great option with 3 bedroom suites.....(everyone LOVES the indoor/outdoor showers!)......thanks for your comments on Mauricio as well.....he really can make your stay easy and very special.....he always has a surprise or two for his guests! And always LOTS of wildlife in Tulemar! Hope to see you back again....

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,240 - 2,244 of 2,569 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed at Casa Panorama North during the week of March 21 and had the BEST time!! My fiance and I travel to Mexico often and decided to try something different with Costa Rica. Everything we hate about staying at big Resorts is avoided here at Tulemar!
No daily resort fees, no vendors hawking on the beach, no timeshare haggling, no arm wrestling over beach chairs. :-)

Our concierges were Diego and Melissa, and they were excellent. Melissa helped set us up with a Mangrove Kayak tour, showed us where to see the sloths on the property, and gave many great restaurant suggestions. Diego was a very good concierge, we had lots of fun with him! He took us to the grocery store to get celebration drinks, introduced us to the staff, drove us to the Quepos airport amongst other things, and we were able to meet his gorgeous wife! They introduced us to a fun group from Kentucky staying at Casa Las Nubes and took all of us surfing on a beach near Manuel Antonio. It was this personal relationship that set the service above and beyond our expectations.

As for the property, many of those details are covered in previous reviews, and I did not have any negatives to complain about. I cannot wait for our next trip to Tulemar, we have already been talking about coming down with a larger group to stay at one of the larger properties.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pluma002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Thanks for your post on Casa Panorama and your remarks on Diego and Melissa....our villas are wonderful....Tulemar is great....but it's the personal touch of service that makes it all so special! We loved having you as guests and look forward to your return.

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Our group of 5 spent a week of bliss at Casa Panorama (not north). We were greeted at the gate by Diego who gave us a tour of the property at Tulemar Gardens with it's scenic pool and private beach. A large bowl of fruit was left for us as well. The rooms were very nicely furnished. The views were amazing! We made good use of the kitchen as we shopped for food in the local markets of Quepos. We comfortably ate breakfast every morning at the Casa and were greeted by white face monkeys who put on a show. Melissa the concierge made dinner reservations for us at Kapi Kapi, which was very good. Diego got us a last minute car reservation which we used to explore the areas of Playa Matapalo, Dominical, Uvita, Playa Ballenas, and Ojochal. We also made sure that we made time to enjoy all that Casa Panorama had to offer. Relaxing and kayaking at the beach, taking a late afternoon dip at the infinity pool while being entertained by a group of squirrel monkeys who were playfully wrestling with each other. Sipping wine while watching the great sunsets from our patio was the perfect way to relax at the end of the day . Being a photographer and nature lover I was particularly impressed by how much wildlife was on the property. Sloths in trees-just ask the workers where they are. Hundreds of hermit crabs on the beach. While walking down on the main path to the beach I saw an armadillo, a blue morpho butterfly, a group of howler monkeys, and a Motmot, all within 5 minutes of each other. Our group was also buzzed by a really big vulture. It circled us 3 times, the last time getting to about 10 feet of us.
Dave Houck and his staff had everything running smoothly and we all had a great time. I am posting some images with this review and you can see more of my Costa Rica photos at my website... http://www.geraceimages.com/Site/Photo_Galleries/Pages/Costa_Rica_1.html.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGerace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

First, let me say I am a hotel snob and have stayed at many 5 star hotels around the world. My husband, our 17 yr old daughter and I recently stayed at Casa Panorama North lower level. Our concierges were Melissa and Chris, and I just can't say enough good things about them! Melissa was our main point of contact at the resort, as she is taking over Chris' job since Chris is extremely busy as a personal chef for families staying at the resort. Melissa showed us around Casa Panorama and went through information about the resort and the amenities available. She coordinated all of the day trips/tours we planned before we arrived (which we did through Tulemar), provided us with a wake up call every morning, and even took us to the grocery store--talk about personal service! She also arranged all of our taxis and recommended a local restaurant in Quepos for our last night out. We booked through the website 4Tulemar.com and spoke with Dave. Make sure that you stay at one of the properties managed by Dave Houck and/or Diego for personal service and attention. Would highly recommend and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncbeachlover149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Thanks for posting your comments.....our Casa Panorama villas....Upper and Lower....are very popular and have amazing ocean views....but I loved how your review was all about our service....which is SO important to us....that's what we're all about......Melissa is new and it's nice to hear she's following in the same tradition as Diego, Chris, Julien and Mauricio.....thanks again and we hope to see you again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We booked through Dave at www.4tulemar.com and the reservation process went smoothly. Soon after we were contacted by Julien Buralli, Consierge, who offered his services and sent interesting reference materials pertaining to Manuel Antonio and Costa Rica. Upon arrival, nothing could have prepared me for what I saw...pure heaven. Bungalow #111 was simply incredible and visited by monkeys and mot mot birds every morning. Three amazing nature trails on property. We spotted four sloths on a night walk. Private beach with kayaks, snorkling equip, bar and lunch. AMAZING staff! We will definitely return next year...so romantic and beautiful!!! Pura Vida!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerridyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Thanks for your review......the Tulemar Bungalows are great.....tropical, rustic decor with ocean views and lots of wildlife visits.....windows all around makes you feel like you're living in the jungle...because you are! Julien makes your trip easy and always has a surprise or two for you....hope to see you back.

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,383 reviews
1.1 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,684 reviews
2 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#20 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
942 reviews
0.6 km away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
1.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: €120 - €274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing