We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$226
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Moon Villa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Byblos Resort & Casino(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Villabosque(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$791
US$752
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,589)
Filter reviews
1,589 results
Traveller rating
920
418
129
59
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
920
418
129
59
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolfull ocean view roommain buildingcosta ricacorner roomamazing viewshighest pointdegree viewfree shuttlewatch the sunsetnational parkbeautiful hotelswim up baryogurtcafe milagrothe pacific oceanloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 1,589 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018

This hotel was amazing........The view was breathtaking and so was the infinity pool. The rooms were clean but not newly renovated. However, the ocean view from the room was NICE! My best friend and I stayed there during the first week of December. We had complimentary breakfast but got a bit bored of eating the same thing every day. We walked down the street from the hotel there was a café called Emilio's Café. The view down the street was also beautiful. The gentlemen the hotel were wonderful and welcoming. Especially the gentlemen at the bar, Andreas and the one working in the morning during breakfast hours.They always assisted us with whatever we needed and made sure we had a great time. The hotel is very quiet maybe because we went in the beginning of December. Many older couples were staying at this hotel. We did not see ANY kids at all which was great for us to relax. The only thing that I am upset about is how the manager never followed up with us again in regards to some missing items out of our room. Overall, I would come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms ‘partial ocean view’ and ‘full ocean view’ for a family of 5. The latter type is a good deal more expensive, but the view actually was basically the same. The room wasn’t much bigger either so hard to justify why it was so much more. The staff is really friendly though, and they are very attentive. The pool is small and somewhat run down. The whole complex felt like the best days were about 15 years past, and the hotel needs an update. The breakfast buffet is good and the restaurant really does provide spectacular views. Try the pancakes that are freshly made to order. They are great.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank highwoodkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

The view at this hotel is spectacular! The food was great and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, everyone went out of their way to make our stay fantastic. I noted that some rooms are being completely renovated, which is good to know.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christinemN5905CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manfred A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Mariposa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Christine,

Greetings from La Mariposa!

We appreciate your taking sharing your experience with others, it means a lot reading comments as yours, when you clearly experience the hospitality from La Mariposa family, our employees make us very proud. Your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the La Mariposa Hotel and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Costa Rica.

Kind regards,

Manfred Arias
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel La Mariposa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Can’t beat the views
We were in a corner room on the top floor
Pictures don’t do full justice
Friendly staff
No coffee makers in room - if you are up early have to wait till breakfast time at 6.30 !!
Overall loved the stay .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Raghu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manfred A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Mariposa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Raghu,

Greetings from La Mariposa Hotel!

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay; we look very much forward to having you again at La Mariposa.

As you mention, the panoramic views from all our property, are impressive and many guests express the same that the website photos do not make justice to our incredible views to the ocean, sunsets and the Manuel Antonio National Park, simply are unparalleled.

Thanks again for your time and come and visit us again soon!

Best Regards,

Manfred Arias
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel La Mariposa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

The views from this hotel are amazing. Our room was clean and had a lovely view of the beach. the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included in our stay, which was wonderful and the food was delicious. There are monkeys that come around the hotel and can steal your food, but as long as you don't keep anything sweet on your table you should be fine. I really enjoyed the large windows in the room. The infinity pool is also beautiful, though I did not go in. The walk to the beach is a little longer and steeper than I had expected, but it is still well worth it, especially early in the morning when no one is there. Overall, this is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at!

Room Tip: corner rooms have a great panoramic view, but I believe all the rooms likely have a nice view.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manfred A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Mariposa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Barbie,

First of all, we are very pleased to know that we are one of the best hotels where you have stayed. For 45 years we have worked hard to become the best and it is a task that we have not yet completed. However, we are very proud of what we have achieved, this year we renovated a large part of our rooms, we made great additions to our social areas such as swimming pools, bars and the restaurant because our guests deserve it.

The herds of monkeys that live in the National Park visit us daily and it is true what you mention, you do not have to leave the food unattended as they take the opportunity to steal it. They are tremendous. We also have the visit of sloths, red macaws, toucans, coatis, iguanas, armadillos, porcupines, hawks, many other birds and of course many multicolored butterflies.

We will continue working to improve and give our clients the best services and in that way they will take an unforgettable experience of their stay at La Mariposa.

Thank you very much for mentioning that our views are incredible from any part of the Hotel.

Happy New Year!

Best Regards,


Manfred Arias
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel La Mariposa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews