We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect jungle stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byblos Resort & Casino
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect jungle stay”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Who knew sleeping in the jungle could be so nice! Many hotels at Manuel Antonio advertise their ocean view. Why choose that when you can be in the middle of the jungle, but just a few steps off the main road. The Byblos bungalows are especially welcoming, with comfortable interiors and a great balcony overlooking the jungle. The animals visited day and night; what a fun and interesting place. So many hotels feature rooms where you only want to sleep; Byblos rooms are a place where you want to hang out.

The grounds are beautiful, interesting, and well kept. The pool and restaurant area are particularly nice; we spent more time in the pool than I can recall in any previous hotel. The staff is friendly and first rate. They were attentive to our every need; whether it was restaurant or poolside service, room needs, travel bookings, or suggestions on things to see. Their recommendations for local tours were spot on and they were happy to do the booking. The open air Billfish bar was right out of a Jimmy Buffet novel – the local characters, the music, the atmosphere (yeah, the margaritas worked too).

There are numerous additional nice restaurants and bars within walking distance, with plenty of opportunities to see a great sunset. Bus transportation between Manuel Antonio NP and the village of Quepos stops right at the door, and a ride is cheap. But don’t pass up the opportunity to walk to the beach. Ask the staff about routes that avoid the crazy traffic on the main road. If you expect to gamble, bring your own crowd; most folks seem to have other things to do.

Byblos is definitely a hotel that invites an extended stay. The staff felt like family when we finally had to say goodbye.

ATM note: The closest ATM we found was in Quepos, a 20 minute bus ride away. But if you time it for Saturday you get to visit a fun local market. If you take a handful of US singles for tips, you can pay for everything else with plastic. Tips are charged on most dinner and bar tabs, but waiters really appreciate that little bit extra, and don’t forget something for the tour guides too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    149
    57
    19
    20
See reviews for
107
203
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My wife and I stayed in one of the bungalows for seven nights in February, it was far and away the best experience we've had traveling. The sounds of the monkeys, bull frogs and other animals where terrific. The room and deck was perfect for watching all that Costa Rica offers. The staff was awesome!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott8991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Folks come for the fun indeed, yet noisey for rooms close to bar and casino. People loud after midnight. Don't stay here for peace amd quiet. Rooms cleaned every other day. Just too noisy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bebold4love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavisFromAustin, Owner at Byblos Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Traveler,
If you truly stayed at our hotel, we’d love to speak with you directly and kindly ask that you contact us at Byblos. Our hotel has been in operation more than 25 yrs and we have always cleaned our rooms DAILY, unless otherwise requested by our guests. Therefore, we are quite surprised to receive this comment since we have NEVER had even one complaint to the contrary and this certainly seems like something a true guest would bring to our attention while still on the property! We'd also like to remind potential guests that although we do have nights with special events, the noise is often generated by other nearby hotels and their special events.....something of which we have no control. We sincerely hope that other travelers considering a visit to Hotel Byblos will take the time to kindly read our close to 200 reviews that generally describe a very positive experience while at our very popular property. Thank you and we look forward to hosting many visitors at Hotel Byblos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pound Ridge, New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here in one of the bungalows for 3 nights. The front desk staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and the hotel grounds were amazing. Tons of flowering trees and gardens. A stream ran thru the grounds and we saw so many animals (lizards, birds, monkeys, aguidas, etc). The pool was nice too. Breakfast was good. Great location- a few minute drive to many restaurants, beaches, MA natl park, and the town of Quepos (supermarket, etc.). You could walk to the shops and beach, but the narrow and windy hill that many hotels (including Byblos) is on can be dangerous due to crazy drivers. We met one of the hotel owners at breakfast one morning and she was really nice and gave us lots of advice on what to do and see. A good value for the money. The only two negative things I can say are the casino is pretty basic with about 4 ancient slot machines and only a few table games (don't expect much and you wont be disappointed, but you could be entertained for maybe an hour one night in there), and there were some animals living on our roof that were noisy at night, but I guess they just added to the fun of staying in the jungle...that and the howler monkeys!

I would recommend staying here and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogramrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed in one of the bungalows and had the most amazing encounters with wildlife. Woke to howler monkeys every morning (awesome!), and got serenaded each night with the rhythm of the bullfrogs and other creatures. The room was large and comfortable, the deck the perfect viewing spot for our feathered, furry and scaled friends. The staff, particularly in the restaurant/bar by the pool is super friendly and helpful. Loved them all. The food is very good for breakfast, lunch and dinner. And the Capuchin monkey show at 4pm is something to behold for animal lovers. We didn't bother with the casino, but did enjoy some live music in the bar. If going to the beach the best bet is to take the bus. It's fast, cheap (about 50 cents) and runs regularly. Had some nice food at Milagro Cafe (sit in the back garden) and Kapi Kapi (expensive but nice for an upscale evening) Our favorite meal was on the beach, a little place that cooks up yummy beach food and has super cold cervezas. I can't remember the name of it, but it's on beach #1. Also a great sunset view at Agua Azul, with good food as well... The beach scene can become a bit overwhelmingly touristy, resembling Cancun, so it was really nice to come home to your quiet little jungle bungalow and the peace and serenity it offered.

Room Tip: If you love animal sightings, pay the extra for a bungalow....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel5760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.4 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
434 reviews
1.8 km away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
378 reviews
0.4 km away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
316 reviews
1.9 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Property: Byblos Resort & Casino
Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing