We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay in Costa Rica!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Preserve at Los Altos
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay in Costa Rica!”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We just got back from a 1 week trip to costa Rica - Arenal, Islita and Manual Antonio. Our stay at Los Altos was incredible. The facilities are very new and beautiful. Each floor has a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom apartment with 2 balconies, beautiful dining area and couch/living area. There is a gorgeous view of the ocean and the restaurant where you have breakfast included is delicious essentially right on the ocean. 4 of us split the cost which is very reasonable and worth it! The staff and owner are very pleasant and accomodating. I couldn't have imagined staying at a better place in Manual Antonio. Tours for ziplining and other activities leave directly from the hotel which make it very convenient as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    88
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
278
136
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Overall a wonderful expereince. The staff was very welcoming and provided a welcome drink. The condos are awesome; very large with a great view, 3 rooms, full kitchen, full dining and living room. I would definitly go back. Located very close to MA park and all the restaurants in the area. You can not go wrong by staying here.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvind T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I am originally from Costa Rica but had been abroad for a year and a half. Yearning to go home and visit one of my favorite places (Manuel Antonio Beach & National Park), I called Hotel Los Altos several times to inquire about their availability, packages, and pricing. Considering I had to call from abroad, I was very lucky to encounter one of the best customer service agents I have ever talked to. Cesar Arroyo was kind, well-mannered and knowledgeable about Los Altos' services. Even when he was did not have the information right away, Cesar was honest and made sure to get back to me in a timely manner with the adequate information. Once we arrived at Los Altos, Cesar made sure to warmly welcome us and ensured that all the details of our package were carried out to the t. He helped us countless times during our stay at Los Altos, always with a smile on his face. We have hence recommended him for a promotion.

Cesar was not the only one to provide an exceptional service. We also had the pleasure to meet Emzo, one of the customer service supervisors, and many other employees who not only executed their functions flawlessly, but also made sure to greet us every time we crossed paths. It was so refreshing to see people so committed to an outstanding, personalized service. I'd like to thank our housekeeper Sileny, the guards, gardeners, waiters, and all of the personnel who touched us with their kindness. Small details (e.g., smiling, anticipating our needs, offering help, accommodating our requests) do count!

In addition to the best customer service, Los Altos in itself is a beautiful place. We stayed in one of the condos on the 5th floor, where we enjoyed the views to the bay from three balconies. The condo was fully equipped with three rooms (a master one and two smaller ones) complete with enough closet space, three bathrooms, a complete kitchen, dinning room, and living room. Perks included the service of a housekeeper, free coffee, and most of all, complete and absolute privacy and calm! We purchased the Relaxation package and enjoyed the sunset tour, a massage for two at their spa, and a very romantic, full course dinner! The restaurant is also great, providing a good variety of meals (must try their banana bread for breakfast!). Los Altos is not right next to the National Park. If you are visiting and have a car, this does not affect anyone, as it is 5 min away from the beach. If you do not have a car, the buses run regularly every 30 min to the beach. Los Altos personnel is currently working in updating their website with new packages, so be sure to check them up!

In summary, Los Altos is one of the best hotels in Costa Rica I have every visited. The personnel ensures that they live up to their reputation as a 5 star hotel. Cheers!

Room Tip: The condos are excellent for family visits! Make sure to ask about what each room includes. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nubia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Public Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for your the absolutely wonderful review of your stay at Los Altos! First, we are so happy to hear about the positive experiences regarding our staff. From the moment you even consider booking with us we strive to offer our guests first class guest services and we will absolutely pass on your incredibly kind words to Cesar, Enzo and the rest of the Los Altos staff. Surely they will be thrilled to hear the feedback regarding their excellent work. Second, we are so glad that you found the resort to be beautiful, your condo to be spacious, the restaurant to be delicious, and the spa to be both relaxing and fulfilling. Again, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and thoughtful review. And of course, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Los Altos for 5 nights in the rain forest/ocean view condo.Upon our arrival, we were greeted with delicious fresh fruit punch and then led to our room where the staff walked us through all the amenities available. The room was beautifully appointed with modern furniture and also HUGE. Every morning, we ate breakfast at Karolas, which was surprisingly very fresh and offered a nice selection. The staff at the restaurant as well as the front desk were extremely helpful, assisting us with making reservation throughout our trip. Overall, this was one of the best vacations I have taken and staying at Los Altos was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Would not stay at any other place if I return to Manuel Antonio!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruwan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We had a fantastic time at Los Altos. As frequent travelers with discerning taste -- we were very pleased with everything. The resort was beautiful. The staff was so helpful. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.3 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
1.4 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
1.2 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
0.8 km away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
0.2 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preserve at Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preserve at Los Altos

Property: The Preserve at Los Altos
Address: Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Preserve at Los Altos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bold in presence; playful in personality. Los Altos Resort and Spa is Manuel Antonio's premier laid back luxury boutique resort. The Los Altos aesthetic represents a sensitive integration between tropical authenticity and modern amenities. We offer 28 gorgeous private residences, each boasting a vivid Pacific Ocean view through floor to ceiling windows. Also, for a luxury resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio, our rates are very reasonable. Very reasonable, and you get a lot out of us, which we're happy about. We like to keep things simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Preserve at Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos Beach Resort And Spa
Los Altos Beach Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
The Preserve At Los Altos Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing