We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,054)
Filter reviews
1,054 results
Traveller rating
590
319
101
32
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
319
101
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar caravan tour congo restaurant public beach manuel antonio national park short walk to the beach costa rica floor room top floor park entrance closest hotel big pool howler monkeys perfect location main pool musty smell adult only pool
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 1,054 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018

This hotel is great. We had a lovely warm welcome after transferring form another Hotel in Manuel Antonio where we had experienced some issues. The staff are super friendly especially the guys/girls on reception and in the restaurant.
The room was spacious and had everything we needed. It was quiet too.
The food in the restaurant was good. The guy making the omelettes is so friendly and is always smiling.
There is also a roof top bar which we found to be a bonus. As a group of friends travelling together, it was great to meet up in the evening at the bar. Again the bar staff are great.
We didn't have time to use the pools as we stayed for 2 nights only but they looked extremely inviting and not too busy.
For most people, the location of this hotel would be the selling point. It is situated directly next to the entrance of the National Park.
If you have time, have a walk around the area outside the hotel, there are some small, friendly bars and shops.
I have nothing bad to say about this Hotel. and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank L0z11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanbada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear L0z11

Thank you very much for visiting us and for taking the time to write us your holiday experiences

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that our staff was part of your beautiful stay. Also, It was great to read that you have our location, the premium location of our property right next to the World Famous Manuel Antonio National Park, lets all our guests stand out from the rest to take advantage of their time and to enjoy their vacation to the maximum.

We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for your review, highlighting important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience.

It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the not too distant future.

Pura Vida!
Jeffry Mesén
concierge@hotelsanbada.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Hotel San Bada is a high quality resort. The staff must be hand picked because they are kind, thoughtful, truthful, helpful, and skilled. We had wonderful interactions with all of the staff we encountered but front desk Fabian, rooftop bar Emilio, and Cristhin at the Congo were so helpful, kind, and informative. We enjoyed a sunset on the rooftop where the sushi and cocktail bar ar located. We swam in the pool and under the pool waterfall. We dined at Congo multiple times. We loved our gorgeous room and the air conditioning was strong. Cannot say enough about how much we loved our stay here. i would never book anywhere else in the Manuel Antonio area. Seriously, these guys are the best in the business and this property is stunning. A capuchin monkey landed on our balcony!!! The wildlife is amazing! Iguanas on property!!! Love Hotel San Bada!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank themija6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanbada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Themija6

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Hotel San Bada. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and appreciate all of your feedback.

We are glad that our staff contributed so much to your stay, as we believe that this is the key for a great and hospitable experience. I`ll pass along your kind words to our staff.

We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for your review, highlighting important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience. Also it was great to read that you experimented of the wildlife surrounds our resort, our privilege location, right next to the World Famous Manuel Antonio National Park, allows you to take advantage on your time to enjoy all the wildlife without leaving the resort.

It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the not too distant future.

Pura Vida!
Jeffry Mesén
concierge@hotelsanbada.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We spent 3 nights at the beautiful San Bada Hotel. It is literally right next to the gate to the Manuel Antonio National Park. The rooms were clean, beautiful, and faced the Pacific Ocean. A family of over 40 monkeys danced through the trees the very first afternoon we checked in. 2 Iguanas met us at the pool at 2:00 in the afternoon for a siesta. Beautiful singing birds woke us every morning...it was truly a paradise. The staff was awesome, and very helpful....the breakfast buffet was to die for. Fresh fruit every morning, they cooked fresh eggs, plenty of protein offerings, yogurt, and juices. A perfect start to busy days. There was a grocery store right across the street for any staples you might need. But beware....suntan lotions, and aloes are very expensive, try to bring some along. They had a walkway to the public beach too. Beware of all the vendors on the public beach. Be nice and polite, say no gracias when you are approached. The 2.00 you pay for the coconut milk is a bargain, so try one...the vendor on the street has the best deal. The internet is very good...so go ahead and bring your ipad to film, or tablet.

We ate lunches at El Chante, which is on the street right next to the hotel, and the food was super good. I mean super good! I would recommend eating here as much as you could. We ate at Alex's but it was not even close in quality. We also ate at Buru, but the staff doesn't like non costa ricans, and again the quality was lacking. The price of the last two was higher than El Chante.

Room Tip: ASk for a room on the top floor. It has the best view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanbada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Lynne T

On behalf of all Hotel San Bada team, I would like to thank you for staying with us. Also many thanks for sharing your amazing feedback regarding your recent tour with us!

It was great to read that you highlighted our location, the premium location of our property right next to the World Famous Manuel Antonio National Park, let’s all our guests stand out from the rest to take advantage of their time and to enjoy their vacation to the maximum.

We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for your review, highlighting important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience. Also it was great to read that you experiment of our wildlife that surrounds our resort.

We are glad that our staff contributed so much to your stay, as we believe that this is the key for a great and hospitable experience. I`ll pass along your kind words to our staff.

It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the not too distant future.

Pura Vida!
Jeffry Mesén
concierge@hotelsanbada.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Our family was hosted at the Hotel San Bada as part of my 9 year olds Make A Wish trip. The hotel was perfectly located next to the main beach and the national park. The staff was so exceptional and we spent hours in the fantastic pool. We also loved the rooftop sushi bar where the food and views were excellent. Thank you so much for making our stay so very special!!! Pura Vida!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Blair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanbada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Blair H

On behalf of Hotel San Bada team, I would like to thank you and your family for staying with us! Your amazing brief and positive review made us very happy!

It was great to read that you highlighted our location, the premium location of our property right next to the World Famous Manuel Antonio National Park, lets all our guests stand out from the rest to take advantage of their time and to enjoy their vacation to the maximum.

Also I am particularly glad that you highlighted the attentive service our friendly staff provided as we believe that this is the key for a great and hospitable experience. In addition, I feel happy to know that you enjoyed our rooftop Sushi Bar on the 6th floor.

Thank you again for your feedbacks and our entire Staff will be pleased to welcome you back here in not too distant future.

Pura Vida!
Jeffry Mesén
concierge@hotelsanbada.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Comfortable accomm right next to the entrance to the national park. Rooms were very comfortable (we were in a standard room), and the hotel had great views from the room top bar. Pool was nice too.
Also liked the fact the beach was within walking distance. Highly recommend for a short stay if you’re ticking off Manuel Antonio national park.
Definitely recommend getting a guide for the national park.
Food in the restaurant was pretty basic (breakfast buffet) but good it was included with the accomm.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LauraMaeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanbada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Laura

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Hotel San Bada. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and appreciate all of your feedback.

It was great to read that you highlighted our location, the premium location of our property right next to the World Famous Manuel Antonio National Park, lets all our guests stand out from the rest to take advantage of their time and to enjoy their vacation to the maximum. In additional, We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for your review, highlighting important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience.

It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the not too distant future.

Pura Vida!
Jeffry Mesén
concierge@hotelsanbada.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews