We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Villa Prats Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Prats Hotel
escondido
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was the first placed we stayed in Costa Rica. Looking back, it probably was the best value we experienced our entire trip. For $45 or so a night we had a comfortable bed, an extra twin for our stuff, a TV with cable (a lifesaver when we dared not emerge during the heat and humidity of mid-day), AC, mini-fridge and wifi. The pool was nice. Facilities were nice as well. They were working on renovations during our stay, but did not bother us. Walk-able to the entrance of Manuel Antonio and to the town's main drag. I recommend breakfast down the street at the Backbacker's lodge.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    34
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

I want to start by saying that you wouldn't stay at Villa Prats if you were after a 5 star holiday as there are much nicer hotels in the area however for the budget conscious travelers who is after all the amenities then this place was really good. My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights, we called up and they offered us a room for $40AUD a night which for the area is incredibly cheap, we were skeptical based on the price however the room was perfect for what we needed, it had a double and single bed, a couch TV with cable, free wi if and a fridge which was very impressive, the pool was small but we didn't really use it and the location is amazing, a 30 second walk to the entrance of Manuel Antonio and a 5 min stroll to the beach. Just some small low points if you are after reception service there was hardly anyone ever there as they live above the hotel but if you need the, you could find them, we did have to ask for towels a couple of times but that was about it. The place is also very secure with electronic key entry to enter the building.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Simple room, clean, friendly staff (doesnt always speak english). Small swimming pool if you want to get a cool swim after a long hot day. We even checked in at 12am and someone was waiting for us at so late at night, really appreciated it. Location cannot be better, you are exactly 30sec walk from the entrance of the park!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westminster, CA
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here two nights or our honeymoon trip. The services was over the top. The owner of the hotel greeted us and gave all the propers tips/directions what to do around the area. We forgot the rosary when we left, the owner emailed us and offer to send us when he's in USA. We short some souvenirs so we asked the owner if he could buy and we were going to pay him back. He even offered to send us the rosary & souvenirs without getting anything back in return.

I couldn't ask for anything more. Thanks for a great time and hospitality

Room Tip: Go to http://www.villapratscr.com/ to book a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

the best feature of this hotel is the near perfect location! nice place with a small pool. good AC. we had to move from room to room during our 3 nites. friendly staff. hard to find as it is located on a gravel laneway beside the end loop bus/taxi stand. clean and secure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Inn on the Park
Hotel Inn on the Park
#42 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Prats Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Prats Hotel

Property: Villa Prats Hotel
Address: 10 metros de entrada manuel ant. nat park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms come with air conditioning, private bath hot water cable TV, and refrigerator. Our mini studios have a full kitchen all rooms have a double bed and single some have a sofa bed and a beautiful pool. From September to March our restaurant is open. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Prats Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing