We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning house in the jungle.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa de Noni

Open plan for relaxing & fresh air
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan for relaxing & fresh air
Bedroom # 1 upstairs Dining area for 6-8 upstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
Open plan for relaxing & fresh air
Bedroom # 1 upstairs
Dining area for 6-8 upstairs
White face monkeys visit often
Birds eye view from our roof
Nights in Paradise
Bathroom 1 upstairs
Gourmet kitchen # 1
Upstairs
Open floor plan
Watch the monkeys from the deck
Set in the jungle, steps from the beach
Loft queen bed
Breakfast on the deck
Sunset in Mal Pais
Quad ride to Montezuma Waterfalls
Deep Sea Fishing!!
53 lb. Wahoo!! Awesome
Fully equipped kitchen
Try the Mal Pais Zip Line
Take an adventure into the jungle, or along our beautiful beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heidi M
Kenmore, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stunning house in the jungle.”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful home, once arrived even more beautiful than the pictures. Our favorite was relaxing on the big deck every morning and evening in the leather and wood rocking chairs while the teenagers lounged in the pool. We bbq'd a few nights, and played cards at the outside table. The teenagers lounged down stairs most of the time, making use of their own kitchen and hang out area which gave us parents a quiet serene main floor. The master bedroom was large with a comfortable king bed and plenty of space for our luggage and clothes. The girls took the large bedroom downstairs with more than enough room for all their stuff. The bathrooms were very nicely done. Both kitchens stocked with appliances. Every day around 3:30 the monkeys would migrate by, perfect view from the deck. The birds were beautiful, new ones I'd never seen before visiting on the deck rail in the mornings and chirping away. One of the best perks about this vacation home is the owner Noni and onsite concierge Ruth. From the first email to the owner I knew I was in good hands. She responded immediately and over the next three months answered every question I had promptly. (and I had a lot, as we had never been and I was traveling with 4 teenagers. I was very nervous!) She recommended the best way to travel to their home, and even set up a driver to come get us. Ruth is onsite and she was amazing! Before we left I booked a flight hop to get us back to San Jose (Highly recommended, it was a stunning 20min flight) and the agent sent the confirmation had our family name wrong. I asked Ruth for help and she called the airline and fixed it for me. She set up all our activities and recommended the best things to do. Our favorite was the atv ride up to Montezuma falls. I also loved snorkeling at secret beach. (I bought a snorkel set from costco and brought it with us.) Having her there made our trip so relaxing, knowing she could help us with anything. If you are thinking of going to Costa Rica, this is the place to go. The beautiful home and the support of the owner and concierge made this a bucket list trip to remember.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Heidi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an awesome review. I am so glad you had such a great experience in Costa Rica, and at our home. It's great that you had the opportunity to rest and relax, even with four teenagers in your group, well done.
Ruth made sure to let me know how awesome your family was, and how easy it was to work with you.
I hope we see you again in our Mal Pais community, you will always be welcome there.
Noni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise in Mal Pais”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It is easy for me to write that the highlight of my family's trip to Costa Rica was staying at the Casa de Noni in Mal Pais. This beautiful home, with an amazing pool, exceeded our expectations. The main floor has a great open kitchen, with gorgeous new appliances, large dining room table, living room, master bedroom and full bathroom. However, the best part for us was the floor to ceiling windows that opened onto a wrap-around deck, overlooking the pool.
The perfect weather meant that we spent a great deal of time on the deck. In fact it was from the deck that we saw the barrel of about 20 monkeys commute from north to south, in the branches of the trees beyond the pool, at 8 in the morning and then back home again at around 4pm. The home is on the edge of the jungle and the crazy road to Montezuma.
Oh yes, back to the pool. It was exquisite. Heated by the sun, it was warm always warn and inviting. The gradual entry was great for the kids. The best time for me was at the end of the night, when we turn off the lights and float around watching the stars above.
Mary's Restaurant is a pitching wedge from Casa de Noni. We had a great meal there. The actual tiny fishing village of Mal Pais is just around the corner.
If you are heading to Mal Pais, and want a luxurious and private place (and pool) to call home then I recommend you get in touch with Casa de Noni.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, Deck
Liked least: Roads in Mal Pais
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2016
Bruce,
thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am happy you enjoyed your holiday at Casa de Noni, and it sounds like you enjoyed the wildlife and culture around the area as well. I hope you are able to find your way back to the area again.
Noni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharlene...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in the Jungle!!!”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house was awesome!!!We enjoyed cooking breakfast in and grilling out. The pool was so nice, clean and refreshing. It was perfect after our daily adventures. We also spent every morning on the porch loving our coffee and monkey viewing. We had so much fun searching and taking pictures of monkeys and birds everywhere. Our concierge, Ruth, was wonderful! She lined up all our transportation, activities and even gave us the best massages we have ever had. This house was located close to the beach and fishing village and a few miles from town. We rented Toyota Prado thru Ruth and loved our car. We also did a ATV tour to Montezuma waterfall. We spent a day out fishing chartered crew thru fishing village. Loved all the outdoor restaurants and food was so fresh & delicious. As you are in the jungle remember to keep the doors shut so the insects and animals stay outside. Also, keep bedroom doors closed so A/C cools. I would highly recommend this house! We had a wonderful family adventure vacation!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind review. I am glad you had such a great time, and hope you can join us again. Our consierge said your group was great and treated our house with respect and left it spotless. You are truly five star guests.
Noni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing