We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
402
30
14
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
30
14
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool our honeymoon catch of the day costa rica every meal local ingredients walkie talkie san jose pura vida rent an atv total privacy private paradise tuna we ate breakfast an adventure steep hill rainy season
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2018

We started planning our next trip there while we were still there. Activities are pricey but for a short 5 day stay 2-3 activities are more than enough (at least for us) the rest of the time was spent enjoying the scenery and the town near by. I was absolutely obsessed with the patio on our villa because of how gorgeous it was along with the view. Excited that we were able to see plenty of wildlife just from the resort since we were basically in the middle of the jungle. I would highly suggest renting an ATV because the roads are horrible. Also driving up the mountain for the first time was absolutely terrifying since we got there at night and couldn't see anything. but overall 10/10 love the resort

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Myah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Always a great experience at Casa Chameleon. Delicious food, beautifully prepared with love a local ingredients.
Great service, incredible view, its always a pleasure! I highly recommend this place for anyone who wants a nice relaxing dining experience, with great food you won’t forget.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank 432nadjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Casa Chameleon in Mal Pais is unlike any resort you will find. The undivided attention you receive from all the staff cannot be beat. The food is exquisite, recreational activities are amazing and the villas will take your breathe away. Keylor, a bartender will make you the most incredible drinks (Try the passionfruit margarita or the homemade pina colada) and Chef Emilio has a gift of pairing the perfect spices, fruits, veggies and fish together. Clarissa at the Front Desk will assure that all of your needs are met. This is definitely a vacation you will not regret, in fact, you won't want to leave once you arrive.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amymarieevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

From check in to check out the entire staff at Casa Chameleon were dedicated to making sure you felt as comfortable as possible. Everyone was extremely friendly and welcoming, and even gave extremely helpful tips for hitting the town. This hotel is in Mal Pais which puts it at a 5-10min ATV ride into Santa Teresa, but being further away made the experience that much more memorable.The front desk was extremely helpful with arranging an ATV drop off as well as transportation to and from the hotel.

I had a private villa with an infinity pool overlooking the jungle and it was breathtaking! The sky lit up every morning for sunrise and the noises from the monkeys and birds was fascinating! The villa was very private even though it opened up to the jungle, and the kitchen was great every morning for coffee. Every single villa is different and there were only about 3 other couples staying in the entire resort that weekend. It was incredibly peaceful. The wildlife here is with you everywhere you go here, and even had a cat visit every single day!

The restaurant had excellent food and I was not disappointed with a single meal -
breakfast was definitely a favorite. You can sit downstairs in the main dining area or walk upstairs for a tree top jungle view. *Make sure you ask for the ceviche, and there is a secret spicy beet cocktail that is out of this world!

This hotel is a bit further away from the main attractions in Santa Teresa, but is absolutely best in class when it comes to comfort, luxury, and eco friendly. I can't wait to visit again!

Room tip: The Villas with the infinity pools are worth it!
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barefootninja_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Mal Pais is a kind of long road...right hand sie a few houses and left hand side most hotels...close to San Miguel Biological reserve...great place to hike and even to buy some catch of the day...fresh fish

Room tip: flat location most rooms about the same
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews