We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
57
45
10
13
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
45
10
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews howler monkeys view from the balcony low tide the owner costa rica treehouse cabin hammocks congo americano trees forest sleeping ocean hill beaches waves
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2017

My husband and I stayed here, we loved the atmosphere the place is clean, and we had a truly amazing view of the beach! Not sure if all the cabins have the same view though... the staff was friendly and the breakfast was nice. Gallo pinto and eggs.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We were in the top cabin which was quite a hike but worth it when we got there. Our cabin was very functionable and the views were amazing. We would have liked it to have been equipped with a kettle for making tea and a small fridge as once you're settled for the night there is no way of making a hot drink.
We hired pushbikes for 3 days $60 from a local shop only to be told by David at Blue Jay that we could have hired them there for $4 per day. I would recommend hiring pushbikes, they're a bit rickety and not the easiest to peddle but riding them on the beach was a pleasure until you come to a soft section!

Room Tip: the cabins at the top are not for the unfit or lazy!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank buddyorbison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We love coming to the Blue Jay, and have found which cabin we enjoy the most. Our preference is for a tree top view because we like the view. It is spectacular! Be warned, the only way to the tree top cabin is by using stairs. There are 71 steps from the parking area to the tree top cabin of our preference. There are lower cabins that are just as nice, but without the steps. The breakfasts are delicious and we also enjoyed a red snapper dinner. (The dinner's reasonable cost was extra.) On this visit we saw - and heard - howler monkeys as well as white faced monkeys. They are not always in the neighborhood. It is an easy walk to a near restaurant or to the beach. I would suggest wearing water shoes at the beach as it can be rocky in areas. The owner and staff do their best to make sure you enjoy your visit. They are friendly, nice, and helpful. We will stay here again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Excellent place to rest. We stayed for a couple of nights and the Bungalows are amazing, very clean! Breakfast on time and delicious. The bungalows are away from the street. You can get to the beach in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We stayed at Blue Jay Lodge for a couple of nights in June and had a pleasant experience.

The bungalow we stayed in felt like being in a treehouse as it had a large deck sticking out into the forest. The walls were open- floor to ceiling netting and curtains for privacy; so this is not the place to come if you want air conditioning or are bothered by the sounds of insects and birds. I would describe this as a rustic experience.

There was a noisy ceiling fan as well as a standing fan, which helped as it did feel very humid and muggy during the night. The bathroom was basic and the hot water was plentiful. The installations seemed a little tired and dated as if Blue Jay Lodge had seen better times. The room had a number of geckos on the ceiling, which I am quite used to; however, everytime we returned to the room they left their calling cards on the sheets and pillows which was not very nice. Not sure the management can do anything about it, but it is a little gross.

The breakfast was good- Costa Rican style gallo pinto and eggs. The breakfast area was a bit airless- the lack of ceiling fans made it a bit uncomfortable when there was no breeze.

We liked the fact that it was a short walk to the beach- about two minutes across the road and down a track. This stretch of beach had few people around and at low tide amongst the rock pools we could find some nice swimming holes. Not so keen on the numerous dogs wandering around without owners.

Stayed: June 2016
2  Thank Stewart79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews