We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“siempre el mejor Lodge de Mal País”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2017

as usual, great time to enjoy in a great place!!.... the beautiful Lodge of Pachamama, full of its nature harmony, awaits for you there, to be caught up in the peace of the jungle!! ......... can't wait to return there, enjoy the sunsets with the monkeys and go surfing every morning!!!!

Room Tip: hard choice between them, all special and pretty, depends just in how many people you're visitin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2017

Pachamamma is a lovely little compound a little ways down the road from Playa Carmen (20 minute walk or 5 minute drive). The property itself is beautiful, the rooms comfortable, and very relaxing. It's also excellent value for what you're paying.

However, the absolute highlights are Franz and Amancio. Franz is the owner, an Austrian transplant to Costa Rica who encompasses the spirit of what travel is all about - a guy who is open to new cultures and can help connect you to the right people and experiences. If you like surfing, he goes everyday and will rent you an array of sweet boards to try (I loved his custom fish!). He also set up a wonderful barbecue one night and we got to hang out with his local friends as well as the other travelers at Pachamama. Amancio is the resident handy man, quite a character and is a guy who'll give you a window into Tico culture if you take the time to get to know him.

Regardless, this is a place for a traveler who is looking for a host who offers a AirBNB kind of experience ( (although that doesn't do Franz justice, he's a very interesting and kind human in his own right, not just a good host), but through different avenues, i.e. tripadvisor, etc. If I go back, I will stay with Franz and co again!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arsalan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

We loved our time at Pachamama and can't wait to return. Hopefully this year. I spent hours unwinding on the hammock ouside my room enjoying the beautiful gardens that Armancio, the gardener, so livingly cares for. The place is private and peaceful nicely tucked away from the dusty road. The birds, monkeys and sunset in Playa Carmen were truly magical.
The owner of Pachamama, Franz, was generous with his time and care. Always available to ride you to pick up provisions, money or make arrangements for transportation. We lovingly called him our mother hen because he made sure we had all we needed and arranged all our adventures. I will return and i highly recommend Pachamama to anyone looking for a great time in Mal Pais.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

This was our first time in Costa Rica and we couldn't be happier with Pachamama. The location is very convenient, the property is well-managed and clean, and the bungalows have everything you need (wifi, towels, kitchen utensils, fridge, etc.). Set in a beautiful tropical garden, this place has an area perfect for breathtaking sunset views. The highlight of this experience for us was our host Franz. A very nice and friendly guy with a great sense of humor. He made our stay at Pachamama truly great, helping with planning activities and general advice! From the moment we made the booking, he had been very responsive to any of our needs and questions. Pura vida!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Our family of four stayed at Pachamama for a surf vacation, for a week. We stayed in the house, with the beautiful sleeping loft and outdoor dining area. It was a beautiful place, that was kept spotless everyday, thanks to Elizabeth. The grounds are beautiful thanks to Amancio. Franz himself made our stay. He was so helpful, with everything from horse riding, hiking, surfing to local knowledge. He took our kids surfing in the early mornings, and by the end, we truly felt like old familiar friends. The sunset at 'the top of the stairs' at his place, was breathtaking and although you have to drive to the surf beach, a 2 minute walk takes you to the ocean. We felt very safe, well cared for and at home at Franz's place. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ericakonrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
2.3 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
598 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
429 reviews
0.6 km away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 8 in Mal Pais
528 reviews
1.1 km away
Vista Naranja Ocean View House
2 km away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge

Address: From Cross Route 1 km, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Mal Pais
Price Range: €77 - €229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pachamama Houses and Bungalows is the perfect place for people who like sports, nature, sun and beach. Only 1 km away is Cabo Blanco, the first national park created in Costa Rica, in 1963.We have two bungalows, each with a double bed and shared terrace for $60 a night, monthly $1400. A third bungalow is on a second floor with a double bed and private terrace. All lodgings are fully equipped with hammock, kitchen, fridge, fan, private bathroom with hot water. The house for rent has air condition and is fully equipped. There are 2 bedrooms, a beautiful terrace with BBQ, outside shower, hammock for $140 per night, monthly $2800. We have wireless internet, security 24 hours, private parking and cleaning service. It is the best option, for relaxing and enjoying the nature. We have a lot of wildlife in our tropical garden: butterflies, exotic birds and monkeys hanging around in the trees, and our coati, a sort of raccoon, which always comes to pick up his breakfast from us. The bungalows and the house are about 50m from the beautiful and quiet beach of Mal Pais. Here surfers find perfect waves year round. Air temperature is 30-35 degrees and water 24-26. We offer surfboard rentals and surf lessons. I'm a passionate kite surfer and if there is coming up some wind I'm in the ocean with a 16 m2 Kite. The wind is 15-20 knots from January to May. It is possible to rent a small house for $80 a night as well. It is fully equipped in a very beautiful and quiet place only 200m from the beach. Perfect location for 2 people. Monthly $1500We can reserve a hotel and transfer in San Jose, or book you a rental car in San Jose or in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing