We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel The Place(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Moana(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Vista de Olas(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Havana Lodge(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Oasis(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Jay Lodge(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$559
US$405
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vista Naranja Ocean View House(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
157
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta teresathe ownercosta ricalos caracoleslocal friendshandy mangrocery shoppingsuper hostfruit treesbig fridgemy favorite placefew minutes walkrent boardsperfect staygrounds are beautifulgreat surfevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Pachamamma is a lovely little compound a little ways down the road from Playa Carmen (20 minute walk or 5 minute drive). The property itself is beautiful, the rooms comfortable, and very relaxing. It's also excellent value for what you're paying.

However, the absolute highlights are Franz and Amancio. Franz is the owner, an Austrian transplant to Costa Rica who encompasses the spirit of what travel is all about - a guy who is open to new cultures and can help connect you to the right people and experiences. If you like surfing, he goes everyday and will rent you an array of sweet boards to try (I loved his custom fish!). He also set up a wonderful barbecue one night and we got to hang out with his local friends as well as the other travelers at Pachamama. Amancio is the resident handy man, quite a character and is a guy who'll give you a window into Tico culture if you take the time to get to know him.

Regardless, this is a place for a traveler who is looking for a host who offers a AirBNB kind of experience ( (although that doesn't do Franz justice, he's a very interesting and kind human in his own right, not just a good host), but through different avenues, i.e. tripadvisor, etc. If I go back, I will stay with Franz and co again!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arsalan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

We loved our time at Pachamama and can't wait to return. Hopefully this year. I spent hours unwinding on the hammock ouside my room enjoying the beautiful gardens that Armancio, the gardener, so livingly cares for. The place is private and peaceful nicely tucked away from the dusty road. The birds, monkeys and sunset in Playa Carmen were truly magical.
The owner of Pachamama, Franz, was generous with his time and care. Always available to ride you to pick up provisions, money or make arrangements for transportation. We lovingly called him our mother hen because he made sure we had all we needed and arranged all our adventures. I will return and i highly recommend Pachamama to anyone looking for a great time in Mal Pais.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

This was our first time in Costa Rica and we couldn't be happier with Pachamama. The location is very convenient, the property is well-managed and clean, and the bungalows have everything you need (wifi, towels, kitchen utensils, fridge, etc.). Set in a beautiful tropical garden, this place has an area perfect for breathtaking sunset views. The highlight of this experience for us was our host Franz. A very nice and friendly guy with a great sense of humor. He made our stay at Pachamama truly great, helping with planning activities and general advice! From the moment we made the booking, he had been very responsive to any of our needs and questions. Pura vida!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Our family of four stayed at Pachamama for a surf vacation, for a week. We stayed in the house, with the beautiful sleeping loft and outdoor dining area. It was a beautiful place, that was kept spotless everyday, thanks to Elizabeth. The grounds are beautiful thanks to Amancio. Franz himself made our stay. He was so helpful, with everything from horse riding, hiking, surfing to local knowledge. He took our kids surfing in the early mornings, and by the end, we truly felt like old familiar friends. The sunset at 'the top of the stairs' at his place, was breathtaking and although you have to drive to the surf beach, a 2 minute walk takes you to the ocean. We felt very safe, well cared for and at home at Franz's place. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ericakonrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The pachamama is located in a dusty surf town in the south of the Nicoya peninsula. In contrast to the rough and bumpy roads, the pachamama is well manicured and is very comfortable. The gardens are beautiful and there are tropical birds everywhere. We had a white throated Magpie land right on our porch! Further, there is a terrace atop a steep set of stairs at the rear of the property that allows guests to watch beautiful sunsets!
Perhaps the best part of the pachamama is the wonderful staff who are caring, attentive and give great recommendations and travel advice.
Hope to return to the pachamama in the future.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the second floor bungalow
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank milesgrunvald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews