We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed at Pachamama for 7 days and can only recommend it. Der Franz der kanns! Franz was very helpful in every way, the house that we stayed in was very romantic. For everybody visiting Mal Pais, this is the perfect place to stay, whether you are looking for a quiet retreat or a place to meet good people.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

The intensity of my work requires regular escapes into the quiet jungles of Costa Rica. I have visited Costa Rica 8 times in the last seven years and stayed in many places throughout the country. I have found an area (Mal Pais) that I will return to again and again and accomedations there that I will also use every time I go there - Pacha Mama (mother earth). The eco compound has beautiful gardens, a limited amount of friendly guests and many levels of relaxation. I can go zip lining, horseback riding or surfing or escape to my hammock with a book. If I want excitement - its there. If I want to be alone - that's available also. Great for solo travelers, couples or families. Good for young or old. Google Mal Pais Angela and look at the 4 minutes film and enjoy the flavor of Mal Pais. Peter Trent, Philadelphia, USA

Room Tip: Check out the web site for descriptions and pictures of the facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

The whole area is filled with animals like howler monkeys, squirrels, parrots, white-face monkeys etc... You can do fishing, surfing, kite-surfing, shops, nice restaurents, walking on the beach, swim in the sea... Other activities are close like montezuma waterfalls, cabo blanco for hiking!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Migulaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stayed in Pachamama at the end of the low season traveling solo when it was fairly quiet in the town - Franz went out of his way to make me welcome and help orient me - a thoughtful and really chilled out host. I loved Mal Pais and Pachamama was the perfect accommodation for me - I stayed in a bungalow - simple, rustic and comfortable - authentic and full of soul - and good value. The jungle garden creates a beautifully harmonious setting - 3 nights weren't enough, Mal Pais is great - I didn't want to leave and plan to return, and if I do, I will head straight to Pachamama... Thanks Franz!

Room Tip: I saw all the room and they were all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giles t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I'll try to keep it short … everything has been written about this place in previous reviews anyway.

My stay in Pachamama was amazing! My friends stayed there a few years ago and highly recommended it. So i went, instantly felt like being home and got stuck there like many before. A few days quickly turned into a few weeks and i'm already planing on going back in winter for a longer stay.

The owner Franz is a great host, he gave me great insider tips and was generally very helpful. The garden is well taken care of by Amancio. There you'll find a lot of plants and animals, right on your doorstep. On a little hill in the rear there's an incredible vista, ideal for watching picture perfect sunsets with the coast in the distance.

I stayed in on of the bungalows, very clean, nice bed and a small kitchen. Everything you need really.

If you're into surfing, there's a nice point break close by, just about 5min by foot. Very good and cheap local food (casado … yammy!) can be found just across the road.

One of the highlights while staying in Malpais was the newest addition to the Pachamama staff: Treetree! What a champ, you can't have a better, cuter neighbor than him. Check out the picture below and you'll know what i'm talking about.

If you're looking for a cozy, laid-back place to spent a few days (or weeks / months), make sure to put Franz's place on top of your list!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biffelbiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
2.3 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
596 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
429 reviews
0.6 km away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 8 in Mal Pais
527 reviews
1.1 km away
Vista Naranja Ocean View House
2 km away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge

Address: From Cross Route 1 km, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Mal Pais
Price Range: €77 - €230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pachamama Houses and Bungalows is the perfect place for people who like sports, nature, sun and beach. Only 1 km away is Cabo Blanco, the first national park created in Costa Rica, in 1963.We have two bungalows, each with a double bed and shared terrace for $60 a night, monthly $1400. A third bungalow is on a second floor with a double bed and private terrace. All lodgings are fully equipped with hammock, kitchen, fridge, fan, private bathroom with hot water. The house for rent has air condition and is fully equipped. There are 2 bedrooms, a beautiful terrace with BBQ, outside shower, hammock for $140 per night, monthly $2800. We have wireless internet, security 24 hours, private parking and cleaning service. It is the best option, for relaxing and enjoying the nature. We have a lot of wildlife in our tropical garden: butterflies, exotic birds and monkeys hanging around in the trees, and our coati, a sort of raccoon, which always comes to pick up his breakfast from us. The bungalows and the house are about 50m from the beautiful and quiet beach of Mal Pais. Here surfers find perfect waves year round. Air temperature is 30-35 degrees and water 24-26. We offer surfboard rentals and surf lessons. I'm a passionate kite surfer and if there is coming up some wind I'm in the ocean with a 16 m2 Kite. The wind is 15-20 knots from January to May. It is possible to rent a small house for $80 a night as well. It is fully equipped in a very beautiful and quiet place only 200m from the beach. Perfect location for 2 people. Monthly $1500We can reserve a hotel and transfer in San Jose, or book you a rental car in San Jose or in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing