We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
31
57
37
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
57
37
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews power outage place to sleep two nights swimming pool rooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We had not really planned to stay at Jaco, but it seemed a good stopping point on our trip. A quick search on my cell phone resulted a couple of hotels priced above $200 per night and the Amapola at $100. There are other hotels in the $100 price range or less, so we were somewhat disappointed in the Hotel Amapola. We did stay 2 nights, so our disappointment was not so great that we relocated after the first night. On the positive side the grounds were well kept and beautiful, the staff was friendly and the pool was nice even though I didn't come to the Pacific coast to swim in a pool.

There were no glaring negatives, but a number of minor issues. Towels require a $10 deposit. If you wish to use the room safe a key is supplied, but if you lose it the fee is $85. The air conditioning was set for 17 degrees which was reasonably comfortable, but I was unable to change it from that setting. The door to the patio tended to blow upon even when locked if there was a strong breeze. The shower was small and needed some repair but it was useable. One breakfast was the only meal we had in the restaurant and it was free with the room, but it was not very good.

The hotel is on the southern end of the business district and requires a bit of a walk to reach the beach or bars and cafes. Since we enjoy walking this was not a problem for us. Hotel Amapola was adequate for our stay, but I believe there are better hotels in the Jaco area within this price range.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonella d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel & Casino Amapola, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Sirs,
Thank you for take your time and write about the Hotel Amapola. All your considerations are positive and we appreciate that.
We are located in a very safe an easy zone of Jaco, without all the noise of the downtown.
We hope to see you again to offer you the best service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

The real good thing I can tell about this hotel is the food from their restaurant, no complains about it, actually very good food. But the hotel is away from the ocean, the facilities are not what I was expecting from a Barcelo hotel. Our room had issues with the air conditioned, the door didn't close, the curtains were in bad shape, etc. We had to ask for a room change. Wi fi worked well.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonella d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel & Casino Amapola, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your review. We are making the best we can to provide to the guests all they needs. It was very hard to have a well working wi fi, but finally we did it.
We have a very large and confortable swimming pool, the most of the people prefer that instead of the dangerous waves of the ocean.
And we are located very close to the downtown, where you can find shops of all kinds, and bars and restaurants.
Jaco is a small beach town, but you can find everything you need.
Hoping to see you soon please accept our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Not sure why they get 4 stars. The fact that you have to wear a bracelet (like the kind you get at bars or parties so that you can get back in) from the moment you check in should've been a sign, as should the fact that you get two towels when you check in and you can't leave until you either return them or pay $10 each. Doesn't mean the hotel sucks; it means they have trust issues from having so many dodgy people there. Place was over-run with teenagers enjoying the fact that they could legally drink at 18.

But the service was good for the most part. Great even. My room had no working AC when I arrived, and they sent a guy pretty quickly to fix it, then moved me to another room when he couldn't. They gave me ice packs for my friend who had bruised her ankle earlier that day. And the dinner and breakfast buffets were quite good.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lblancq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonella d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel & Casino Amapola, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Iblancq, thank you very much for your good review. The bracelet means that you are a regular guest of the hotel, and that is for your security, your and for the other guests too.
Sometimes there are problems, it can happen anywhere, the good thing is solve problems quickly.
We hope to see you soon to give you the best we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

After arriving to Jaco without a reservation at 10pm we were feeling a little weary about our surroundings and where we would rest our heads. The staff at Hotel Amapola was very friendly and welcoming.
Our first room had a kinda urine-esq smell and the air conditioning wasn't working so after complaining they promptly gave us a new room.
We woke up early and had a typical and yummy breakfast of gallo pinto and eggs. Great value for $100.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lgabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonella d, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel & Casino Amapola, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Dear Sirs, thank you very much for your review. We are making all we can for your happiness.
Hoping to see you soon Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016

This was a last-minute booking so we didn't have a lot of expectations. The hotel is really close to the beach and the main strip, but far enough away so you can enjoy some peace and quiet. The amenities are humble and the service is OK.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonella d, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel & Casino Amapola, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Dear Mr. Paul, thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you soon again. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews