We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
308
225
46
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
225
46
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street side electric motor boat tour morning boat the river national park eggs and toast early morning nice deck costa rica upstairs room great place to stay superior room family room rubber boots la pavona visit tortuguero
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Rooms are basic but comfortable. Showers hot and towels come in some awesome creations and rooms are very clean.

A nice deck to watch the world go by on the river.

Wifi is very good.

Breakfast pancakes are amazing!

Staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: Room 4 is off the road with a view of the river.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank simplyme4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We had a family room with 4 beds and bathroom, somehow separated from the others. There were works going on, to add two more rooms, but they were not disturbing at all. Casa Marbella is right by the river, with a shady terrace overlooking it, with tables and chairs and where breakfast is served. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. They offer many kinds of excursions. We booked the early one on the river (before breakfast) and the one to the Tortuguero hill. Both wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We only spent 1 night in Tortuguero And Casa Marbella was ideal.

It's not fancy however the location is great, the bedroom is confortable and the views of the river are lovely.
It's easy to grab food in the evening and to see local life as you are in the heart of the village.

We did the turtles tour as well as the morning safari boat with them. Both Victor And Roberto were knowledgeable and look after us very well.

If I was to stay longer as we are traveling with kids I might have book a place with a pool as it was very hot and the kids wanted to get in the water and the ocean is not 100% ideal to swim in Tortuguero.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank EmilieinBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We had a great 2 nights in Tortuguero in casa Marbella, which has very cute rooms, clean, and functional. Even wifi is great ;)
Breakfast is included and one of the best we've had in Costa Rica on comparable types of hotels.
The good thing is also that it's inside tortuguero, avoids taking taxis for every activity. Just forget about lodge here, for 2 nights this one is more practical!
Now regarding the activities: we had a great experience and were very happy that we followed casa Marbella: Roberto was great, and with a very silent boat (electric, even better than paddling), he spotted a lot of birds, turtles, caïman for us (we would have seen only trees). We were only 4, this was sort of a private experience compared to most of the competition where we saw many 16 persons boats.
Then, at night, we also went with the house guide: Victor made us see a 200kilo green turtle lay eggs, and also another one going back to the sea after.. sacred moment. He was great with the explanations, and a real passion.
All in all a great stay, thanks again casa Marbella!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FabALaCasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The waterfront verandah is a highlight of Casa Marbella and my family loved sitting and watching the river, wildlife and boats. Our room was simple but had a great view. Daryl could not have been kinder- even phoning me the night before to warn me of a landslide blocking a road.We booked our river and turtle tour through the hotel and they were both fantastic - Roberto was a knowledgable guide and helped us spot sloths, caimans, toucans and much more. As a place, Tortuguero was the highlight of our Costa Rica trip.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruppeerola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews