We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
308
225
46
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
225
46
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street side electric motor boat tour morning boat the river national park eggs and toast early morning nice deck costa rica upstairs room great place to stay superior room family room rubber boots la pavona visit tortuguero
Filter
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Had a great stay while at Casa Marbella. The staff were nice and frendly and the room was clean and airy. Loved the nature tour we saw lots of wildlife and got lodes of pics. you also get a nice Breakfast for free.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrocketBain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We loved our stay at Casa Marbella! Our room was spacious and well laid-out for 4 of us, with the kids each having their own bed. The full breakfast each morning was fantastic. The staff was very accommodating and helpful with scheduling our excursions and our transportation. We'd highly recommend Casa Marbella!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollybret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We booked Casa Marbella for 3 nights in Tortuguero after reading great reviews here and looking at their website & tour descriptions. We didn't want to book one of the packages that are built around one of the bigger lodges further from the village - these all depart from San Jose, are expensive and include 8 hours bus/boat trip each way (a "3 day/2 night" tour really only gives you about 1 1/2 days to see the area). We found it cheaper and easier to fly from San Jose, stay at Casa Marbella, and book the tours we really wanted to do, and we had a full 3 days to enjoy Tortuguero.
As other reviewers have said, the rooms are simple and the downstairs rooms can be quite warm, but they are spotlessly clean and the included breakfast was excellent. We talked to Isabella our first morning about tour options, and during our time we did the turtle tour and 2 guided boat trips through the waterways. Isabelle was a fantastic guide - she knows the area and wildlife so well, and on our boat trips we saw many things we wouldn't have had a chance of seeing on our own. If you are in Tortuguero between July - October, please don't miss the nighttime turtle tour, it is awe-inspiring to see a green sea turtle lay and bury her eggs. Isabelle recommended walking on the beach just before dark or very early in the morning, as the turtle hatchlings make their way to the sea during that time, and we were very lucky to see one on our last day, truly memorable.
Casa Marbella also has a canoe that guests are free to borrow, and a nice deck to relax. Overall, it's an excellent and well-priced base for Tortuguero.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Great little budget accomdation right in the village. If you are an independent taveler, and not on an expensive package tour, this is the place for you. The rooms are very basic, but this b&b offers excellent tours throughout the area, and includes a great BK and the best coffee we had in Costa Rica. Also has a great deck right on the river, great for an Imperial while watching the sun set. Make sure to organize a canal tour with Daryl, and a Jungle 'hill' tour with Ross (def one of my CR highlights).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaGordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed here just one night (July 18). I came across this B&B after a lot of searching on the web looking for a way to visit Tortuguero independently and not as a package tour. Daryl and Isabella run this place. I had spoken to Isabella on the phone even before booking the place. She was incredibly friendly and helpful on the phone. They gave us a lot of information on how to get there (this is not straightforward if you're an independent traveler).

The B&B is location is very nice just off the canal & in the Tortuguero village. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff. We did the turtle walk tour that night and were very lucky to see a turtle next. We also took the morning boat tour with Daryl. Daryl seems very knowledgeable. Unfortunately, it rained a lot and we couldn't see much.

Our room on the ground floor was a bit tight. It seems that they had build a small extension. It rained a lot that night and the roof of the den extension was noisy. Anyway, for the price, the convenience, and the company (Isabella / Daryl + other guests), it is a good place. Makes it feel like home.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews