We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay”
Review of Casa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 10 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We just loved both Toruguero and Casa Marbella! Stayed in room 7 on the 2nd floor. Clean and cosy. Friendly staff and nice location.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mersu56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 295 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2009

Had a great stay while at Casa Marbella. The staff were nice and frendly and the room was clean and airy. Loved the nature tour we saw lots of wildlife and got lodes of pics. you also get a nice Breakfast for free.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrocketBain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We loved our stay at Casa Marbella! Our room was spacious and well laid-out for 4 of us, with the kids each having their own bed. The full breakfast each morning was fantastic. The staff was very accommodating and helpful with scheduling our excursions and our transportation. We'd highly recommend Casa Marbella!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollybret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We booked Casa Marbella for 3 nights in Tortuguero after reading great reviews here and looking at their website & tour descriptions. We didn't want to book one of the packages that are built around one of the bigger lodges further from the village - these all depart from San Jose, are expensive and include 8 hours bus/boat trip each way (a "3 day/2 night" tour really only gives you about 1 1/2 days to see the area). We found it cheaper and easier to fly from San Jose, stay at Casa Marbella, and book the tours we really wanted to do, and we had a full 3 days to enjoy Tortuguero.
As other reviewers have said, the rooms are simple and the downstairs rooms can be quite warm, but they are spotlessly clean and the included breakfast was excellent. We talked to Isabella our first morning about tour options, and during our time we did the turtle tour and 2 guided boat trips through the waterways. Isabelle was a fantastic guide - she knows the area and wildlife so well, and on our boat trips we saw many things we wouldn't have had a chance of seeing on our own. If you are in Tortuguero between July - October, please don't miss the nighttime turtle tour, it is awe-inspiring to see a green sea turtle lay and bury her eggs. Isabelle recommended walking on the beach just before dark or very early in the morning, as the turtle hatchlings make their way to the sea during that time, and we were very lucky to see one on our last day, truly memorable.
Casa Marbella also has a canoe that guests are free to borrow, and a nice deck to relax. Overall, it's an excellent and well-priced base for Tortuguero.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Great little budget accomdation right in the village. If you are an independent taveler, and not on an expensive package tour, this is the place for you. The rooms are very basic, but this b&b offers excellent tours throughout the area, and includes a great BK and the best coffee we had in Costa Rica. Also has a great deck right on the river, great for an Imperial while watching the sun set. Make sure to organize a canal tour with Daryl, and a Jungle 'hill' tour with Ross (def one of my CR highlights).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaGordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
3.7 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,131 reviews
0.5 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
275 reviews
2.9 km away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
67 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 10 in Tortuguero
166 reviews
0.2 km away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 10 in Tortuguero
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range: €35 - €59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Marbella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing